Skip directly to content

Ten LAHS Seniors Named 'Commended Students' In 2015 National Merit Scholarship Program

on October 1, 2014 - 8:01am

Los Alamos High School Principal Dr. Deborah Belew-Nyquist presented Letters of Commendation recognizing LAHS Commended Students in the 2015 National Merit Scholarship Program to from front row left, Eleanor Devlin, Helen Lu, Aletta Marciano and James Sinnis Back row from left, Samuel Wolfe, Sudeep Dasari, Gerald Collom and Jacob Holesinger. Not pictured, Megan Kuzmack and Wesley Skidmore. Courtesy photo

LAPS News:

Dr. Deborah Belew-Nyquist, principal of Los Alamos High School, announced that 10 students in the senior class have been named Commended Students in the 2015 National Merit Scholarship Program. 

Letters of Commendation from the school and National Merit Scholarship Corporattion (NMSC), which conducts the program, were presented to Gerald Collom, Sudeep Dasari, Eleanor Devlin, Jacob Holesinger, Megan Kuzmack, Helen Lu, Aletta Marciano, James Sinnis, Wesley Skidmore and Samuel Wolfe.

“We are extremely proud of our students and their accomplishments,” Dr. Belew-Nyquist said. “It is a great testament to the dedication and efforts of these students, their parents and our staff in educating and preparing our students for the future.”

About 34,000 Commended Students throughout the nation are being recognized for their exceptional academic promise. Although they will not continue in the 2015  competition for National Merit Scholarship awards, Commended Students placed among the top five percent of more than 1.5 million students who entered the 2015 competition by taking the 2013 Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test (PSAT/NMSQTR).

“The young men and women being named Commended Students have demonstrated outstanding potential for academic success,” a spokesperson for NMSC said. “These students represent a valuable national resource; recognizing their accomplishments, as well as the key role their schools play in their academic development, is vital to the advancement of educational excellence in our nation. We hope that this recognition will help broaden their educational opportunities and encourage them as they continue their pursuit of academic success.”