Skip directly to content

Region 6 States Receive More Than $1.1 Million In FEMA

on October 21, 2014 - 3:16pm

FEMA News:

DENTON, Texas — Agencies in five Region 6 states – Arkansas, Louisiana, New Mexico, Oklahoma and Texas –have been awarded more than $1.1 million in non-disaster hazard mitigation funding from the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA).

These grants are part of FEMA’s Community Assistance Program – State Support Services Element (CAP-SSSE). The CAP-SSSE grants provide funding for technical assistance to communities in the National Flood Insurance Program (NFIP) and to evaluate community performance in implementing NFIP floodplain management activities.

The agencies that received the grants are:

  • The New Mexico Department of Homeland Security and Emergency Preparedness – $120,290;
  • The Arkansas Natural Resources Commission – $239,915;
  • The Louisiana Department of Transportation and Development – $232,000;
  • The Oklahoma Department of Emergency Management – $291,398; and
  • The Texas Water Development Board – $272,026.

A few of the fundable CAP-SSSE activities include entering floodplain management data into the Community Information System (CIS); strategic planning; ordinance assistance; community assistance visits and community assistance contacts; outreach, workshops and other training; mapping coordination assistance; and assistance to communities responding to disasters.

FEMA’s contribution for the CAP-SSSE grants represents a 75 percent federal cost share; FEMA awards funding for projects directly to the eligible applicant. For more information on CAP-SSSE, visit