Skip directly to content

Legislative Women Cross Party Lines To Form Caucus

on February 13, 2019 - 7:18am
The newly formed Women's Caucus is comprised of members from both sides of the aisle and both the House and Senate and includes Rep. Christine Chandler of Los Alamos, 5th from right. Courtesy photo
SANTA FE Tuesday, the New Mexico Legislative Women’s Caucus, comprised of women from both sides of the aisle, held a press conference to announce their bipartisan, bicameral leadership.
The Women’s Caucus elected Co-Chairs, Senator Antoinette Sedillo Lopez (D-Albuquerque) and Rep. Kelly K. Fajardo (R-Los Lunas), Co-Vice Chairs Rep. Gail Armstrong (R-Magdalena) and Rep. Dayan Hochman-Vigil (D-Albuquerque), Secretary Rep. Natalie Figueroa (D-Albuquerque), Treasurer Rep. Rebecca Dow (R-Truth or Consequences), and Parliamentarian Rep. Andrea Romero (D-Santa Fe).
“This caucus is a bipartisan effort to address the issues that affect our state, and to find solutions that will improve our communities,” Rep. Dayan Hochman-Vigil said. “We know that when women, children, and families succeed, our whole state succeeds. I am proud to be a Vice Chair of the Women’s Caucus and to work on smart solutions for our families.”
The NM Legislative Women’s Caucus is made up of 39 women from both the House and the Senate.