Skip directly to content

Heinrich Leads Group Of Senators Urging Congressional Leaders To Address National Parks' Maintenance Backlog

on March 25, 2016 - 8:28am
WASHINGTON, D.C.  U.S. Sen. Martin Heinrich, D-N.M., a member of the Senate Committee on Energy and Natural Resources and Ranking Member of the Subcommittee on National Parks, led a group of senators in urging congressional leaders to include sufficient funding for the fiscal year (FY) 2017 Interior, Environment, And Related Agencies appropriations bill in order to address the maintenance backlog facing our nation's National Parks.
"With a nearly $6 billion maintenance backlog attributable to the type of repair, rehabilitation and cyclic maintenance projects that receive funding through the Interior appropriations bill, it is imperative that the noteworthy increases provided last year be sustained or increased," the senators wrote in a letter last week. "It is crucial that national park facilities be kept safe and accessible so they may continue to welcome and educate the millions of American and international visitors who pass through their gates each year."
There is a nearly $6 billion non-transportation maintenance backlog at the National Park Service that has resulted from years of underfunding. Heinrich has been a leading voice for reducing the maintenance backlog, including those at Chaco Culture National Historical Park, Carlsbad Caverns National Park, and Bandelier National Monument.
The letter was signed by U.S. Senators Martin Heinrich (D-N.M.), Susan M. Collins (R-Maine), Ron Wyden (D-Ore.), Barbara Boxer (D-Calif.), Brian Schatz (D-Hawaii), Sherrod Brown (D-Ohio), Elizabeth Warren (D-Mass.), Ed Markey (D-Mass.), Dianne Feinstein (D-Calif.), Tammy Baldwin (D-Wis.), Angus S. King, Jr. (I-Maine), Al Franken (D-Minn.), Jeffrey A. Merkley (D-Ore.), Jeanne Shaheen (D-N.H.), Mazie K. Hirono (D-Hawaii), Debbie Stabenow (D-Mich.), Gary C. Peters (D-Mich.), Michael F. Bennet (D-Colo.), Charles Schumer (D-N.Y.), Jon Tester (D-Mont.), Mark Warner (D-Va.), Richard Blumenthal (D-Conn.), Kirsten Gillibrand (D-N.Y.), and Tim Kaine (D-Va.).
A copy of the letter is available here.