Clerk’s Office Completes Canvass Process To Certify And Finalize Los Alamos County 2022 Primary Election Results

Canvass attendees from left, Canvass Board Member James Rickman, Chief Deputy Clerk Adrianna Ortiz, Canvass Board Member Heath Davis, standing, Canvass Board Member Betty Ann Gunther and Canvass Board Member Cameron Counters. Photo by County Clerk Naomi Maestas


The Los Alamos County Clerk’s Office has completed the required canvass process to certify and finalize the results of the 2022 Primary Election, held Tuesday, June 7, 2022.

The Canvass Board met at 1 p.m. Monday, June 13, in the Municipal Building. The Canvass Board consisted of Cameron Counters (Democrat), Betty Ann Gunther (Democrat), Heath Davis (Libertarian), and James Rickman (Democrat). Not present was Board Member Jolyn McTeigue (Republican).

Also in attendance were County Clerk Naomi Maestas, Acting Elections Manager Victoria Martinez, and Chief Deputy Clerk Adrianna Ortiz. Member of the public Kimberly Thomas observed.

During the process, the Canvass Board verified the accuracy of the election results from the early and absentee locations, as well as the election day vote centers. The canvassed results proved to be a precise match between the machine tapes and the results posted on election day.

The Canvass Board also reviewed hand-tallied and write-in ballot information for accuracy. The Canvass Board then issued a certificate of canvass, which has been sent to the New Mexico Secretary of State and others as required by law. The results next go through another canvass at the state level and then a third review by an independent auditor.

The certificate of canvass and official election results are available on the County Clerk webpage.

“It was a pleasure serving with board members who are dedicated to ensuring the integrity of elections in Los Alamos County,” Rickman said When asked about the process, Rickman said. “Thanks to the fastidious efforts of the Los Alamos County Clerk and her staff, and all of the people who worked the polls, the board was able to efficiently delve into election details we felt were important to examine in greater detail, and to have all of our questions answered. At the end of this experience, I can confidently say to anyone out there that I have the highest confidence that Los Alamos County has once again conducted a free and fair election, a cornerstone to a thriving Democracy.” 

The final count of ballots cast in the 2022 Primary Election totaled 3,301, representing a turnout of 30 percent among the 11,035 eligible Los Alamos County registered voters. Of the total 3,301 votes, 1,744 were cast during early voting, 203 were cast by mail, and 1,354 were cast on election day.

New Mexico’s ability to register and vote the same day allowed 117 voters — 39 during Early Voting and 78 on Election Day — to participate and make their voices heard by either becoming a new voter or changing their party affiliation.

“While this election was not as robust as past elections, I would like to notice and appreciate the 3,301 voters who participated in this recent election in one fashion or another and made an effort to make their voices heard,” Clerk Maestas said.

Clerk Maestas would like to thank all the candidates for their dedication and commitment through this election process. A big thanks to the UNM-Los Alamos and Betty Ehart Senior Center — as well as the League of Women Voters of Los Alamos, partner in promoting voter registration and sharing key election information.

Clerk Maestas would like to extend a special “Thank You” to all the Election Poll Workers who spent many hours, from May 10 through the late hours election day serving voters in a friendly, professional and efficient manner.

“I would like to express my sincere gratitude to the election workers, who are true patriots for their bravery and dedication to the election process!” Clerk Maestas said. “We all are extremely fortunate for their service!” 

Clerk Maestas also would like to extend her sincerest appreciation to the numerous County Department staff who all contributed to the success of the election. A special thank you to all of the Clerk staff: Acting Elections Manager Victoria  Martinez; Chief Deputy Clerk Adrianna Ortiz; Senior Deputy Clerk Victoria Montoya; Deputy Clerks Anna Archuleta, Ubaldo Barela, McKenzie Vaupel and Allison Collins; and Student Clerk Katelyn Alarid. 

Clerk Maestas also would like to remind those residents who registered by mail, online or with the Motor Vehicle  Department after May 10 that they will begin to process registrations when books re-open July 12. Those who are not registered or have moved can obtain a voter registration application outside the County Clerk’s Office, at 1000 Central Ave., 2nd Floor, Suite 240. Voter registration services and forms also are available through the Motor Vehicle Department or online to eligible New Mexico citizens through the New Mexico Secretary of State website.

For more information, visit the Clerk’s website or contact the office at 505.662.8010 or by email at or

Follow the Los Alamos County Clerk’s Office on Facebook + Instagram + Twitter

LOS ALAMOS website support locally by OviNuppi Systems