Cañada del Buey Trail Improvements … A Gift to the Community

Gathered Monday evening on the Cañada del Buey Trail along Longwiew Drive near Rover Boulevard, from left, Tony Fox (WRMPIC), Paul Andrus (Housing and Special Projects manager) Steve Foltyn, (WRMPIC) Darby Martinez (administration support), Robert Repass, Ray Alcouffe, Dan Saxton, David Sherrill WRMPIC members), Charlie Kalogeros-Chattan (Community Services director), Katy Korkos (WRMPIC vice chair), Denny Erickson (WRMPIC chair), Steven R. Parks (WRMPIC) and Ann Laurent (CEDD director). Photo by Carol A. Clark/

Staff Report

Members of the White Rock Master Plan Implementation Committee (WRMPIC) and County staff took a brief break from their monthly meeting Monday evening to gather for a photo on the newly improved and paved Cañada del Buey Trail. The WRMPIC has provided input to Los Alamos County staff on implementation of this improvement project since its inception in 2007.

The WRMPIC championed the project to the Los Alamos County Council for improvements to the roughly 2,100 feet of trail, which now connects N.M. 4 to Overlook Park. The trail begins just south of N.M. 4 east of Sherwood Boulevard and ends just west of Rover Boulevard. The improved trail now has a 10-foot wide asphalt multi-use path along the north side of the Cañada del Buey from the existing N.M. 4 multi-use path to Bonnie View Drive. Between Bonnie View and Rover, along Longview Drive, the multi-use path is on the south side of the Cañada. The project also includes retaining wall systems with handrails, drainage improvements, landscaping and ADA compliant curb ramps.

Council awarded this project to Done Right Construction at its March 26 meeting. The project is nearly complete and a dedication ceremony in which the community is invited will be scheduled in the near future.

The WRMPIC serves as an advisory body to Los Alamos County for the purpose of achieving the economic revitalization of White Rock through implementation of the priciples, objectives and associated action as provided in the White Rock Master Plan/Economic Development Strategy. Additionally, the WRMPIC serves to ensure communication of project progress with the White Rock community, with the residents of the County, and with the County Council.

The board is appointed by Council and includes Chair Dennis Erickson, Vice Chair Katy Korkos and Dan Saxton, Tony Fox, Steve Foltyn, Gerard Kendall, Glen Lockart, Jason Lott, Laurie Hixson, Ray Alcouffe, Robert Repass, Stacey Gartz, Steven R. Parks and David Sherrill.

The board meets at 6 p.m. at the White Rock Town Hall on Longview Drive every second Monday of the month, unless otherwise noted, and the public is always invited to attend.

LOS ALAMOS website support locally by OviNuppi Systems