Author Festival Highlights New Mexico’s Finest Writers

Courtesy photo
AF News:
The 2016 Author Festival highlights Anne Hillerman, David Morrell, Joseph Badal, Rob Kresge, Steve Brewer, Steve Havill, Don Bullis, Paula Paul, Margaret Tessler, Patricia Smith Wood and 11 other esteemed writers. 

Twenty-one of New Mexico’s finest writers will gather 10 a.m. to 5 p.m., Oct. 1 at the Albuquerque Museum for an Inaugural Book Event. Authors will share their experiences, sell merchandise and sign their books for fans. Books will be for sale in the Museum Store. Café and galleries will be open. Live music will be performed 2-5 p.m. at the event.

While attending the 2016 Author Festival at the Albuquerque Museum, participants are encouraged to take advantage of the last chance to view two exhibits that close Sunday, Oct. 2:
  • Route 66: Radiance, Rust, and Revival on the Mother Road; and
  • Drawing Into Architecture: Sketches and Models by Antoine Predock.
The 2016 Author Festival is a collaboration to benefit participating artists and the educational programs at the Albuquerque Museum. All events are included with the price of admission. 
Author Shirley Raye Redmond. Courtesy photo
Shirley Raye Redmond is excited that Random House has made a nice offer on her next non-fiction children’s book, The Pirate and the President (about Jean Lafitte, James Madison and Andrew Jackson). This is her fifth Random House title. Watch for a Summer 2018 release. Visit her website here.

Mike Thompson. Courtesy photo
Mike Thompson has good reason to brag a bit. His new hardcover western from Five Star, “The Turbulent Trail”, now has 14 Five Star customer reviews. It has been out for several months. Good health and hearty laughter from Thompson. 
Chuck Greaves’ historical/true-crime novel of mobsters, madams and lawyers in Depression-era New York, already a Wall Street Journal “Best Books of 2015” selection, TOM & LUCKY AND GEORGE & COKEY FLO (Bloomsbury), has been named one of three finalists for the 2016 Harper Lee Prize for Legal Fiction.
The prize will be awarded September 2016 in Washington, D.C. in conjunction with the 16th Annual Library of Congress National Book Festival. The Harper Lee Prize is awarded annually to the American novel that, in the tradition of To Kill a Mockingbird, “best illuminates the role of lawyers in society and their power to effect change.” Past winners include John Grisham (two-time winner), Michael Connelly, Paul Goldstein and Deborah Johnson.