American Geophysical Union Announces Recipients Of 2018 Union Medals, Awards And Prizes

AGU News:
33 individuals are recognized this year for their dedication to science for the benefit of humanity and their achievements in Earth and space science.
The recipients represent many areas of Earth and space science and come from a variety of backgrounds including early career researchers, climate scientists, data scientists, and journalists. Their passion, vision, creativity, and leadership have helped to expand scientific understanding, pave the way to new research directions, and have made Earth and space science accessible, relevant, and inspiring to audiences across the scientific community and general public. The honorees will be recognized during the Honors Tribute at the 2018 AGU Fall Meeting, Dec. 12 in Washington, DC.
“This year’s awardees exemplify AGU’s ongoing commitment to recognizing and promoting the best scientific research, education, and communication in the Earth and space sciences,” Eric Davidson, AGU President said. “I offer my congratulations and thanks to this esteemed group of scientists, educators, and journalist who – through their devotion to scientific discovery and outreach – are helping to make the world a better place.”
William Bowie Medal
  • Daniel N. Baker, University of Colorado Boulder
James B. Macelwane Medal
  • Steven J. Davis, University of California, Irvine
  • Walter W. Immerzeel, Utrecht University
  • Isaac R. Santos, Southern Cross University
  • Drew L. Turner, The Aerospace Corporation, El Segundo, Calif.
  • Caroline Ummenhofer, Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution
John Adam Fleming Medal
  • Forrest S. Mozer, University of California, Berkeley
Walter H. Bucher Medal
  • Philip C. England, University of Oxford
Maurice Ewing Medal
  • Nicklas G. Pisias, Oregon State University
Robert E. Horton Medal
  • Dennis P. Lettenmaier, University of California, Los Angeles
Harry H. Hess Medal
  • Timothy L. Grove, Department of Earth, Atmospheric and Planetary Sciences, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Roger Revelle Medal
  • Isaac Held, NOAA Geophysical Fluid Dynamics Laboratory
Inge Lehmann Medal
  • Yoshio Fukao, Japan Agency for Marine-Earth Science and Technology (JAMSTEC)
Charles A. Whitten Medal
  • David T. Sandwell, University of California, San Diego
Joanne Simpson Medal for Mid-Career Scientists
  • Olivier Bachmann, ETH Zurich
  • Endawoke Yizengaw, Boston College
Ambassador Award
  • Esteban Jobbágy, Universidad Nacional de San Luis and CONICET
  • Rosaly M. C. Lopes, Jet Propulsion Laboratory, California Institute of Technology
  • Christopher M. Reddy, Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution
Edward A. Flinn III Award
  • Richard P. Hooper, Tufts University
William Kaula Award
  • Alberto Montanari, University of Bologna
Waldo E. Smith Award
  • M. Meghan Miller, UNAVCO
Charles S. Falkenberg Award
  • Rebecca Bergquist Neumann, University of Washington Seattle
Athelstan Spilhaus Award
  • C. Alex Young, NASA Goddard Space Flight Center
International Award
  • Giuliano Francesco Panza, Accademia dei Lincei and Accademia dei XL, Rome; and Olim University of Trieste
Excellence in Earth and Space Science Education Award
  • Mark A. Chandler, Center for Climate Systems Research
Africa Award for Research Excellence in Earth Science
  • Ahzegbobor Philips Aizebeokhai, Covenant University, Ota, Nigeria
Africa Award for Research Excellence in Space Science
  • Frédéric Ouattara, Université Norbert Zongo
Science for Solutions Award
  • Kyle Frankel Davis, Data Science Institute, Columbia University
Walter Sullivan Award for Excellence in Science Journalism–Features
  • Douglas Fox, High Country News
David Perlman Award for Excellence in Science Journalism–News
  • Shannon Hall, Freelance Science Journalist
Asahiko Taira International Scientific Ocean Drilling Research Prize
  • Brandon Dugan, Colorado School of Mines
Climate Communication Prize
  • Michael E. Mann, Pennsylvania State University
  • Eric A. Davidson, AGU President, and Mary Anne Holmes, Chair, Honors and Recognition Committee
Learn more about the AGU Honors program.
The American Geophysical Union is dedicated to advancing the Earth and space sciences for the benefit of humanity through its scholarly publications, conferences, and outreach programs. AGU is a not-for-profit, professional, scientific organization representing nearly 60,000 members in 139 countries. Join the conversation on Facebook, Twitter, YouTube, and AGU’s other social media channels.
LOS ALAMOS website support locally by OviNuppi Systems