American Geophysical Union Announces 2017 Fellows

The American Geophysical Union headquarters in Washington, D.C. Courtesy/AGU

AGU News:

WASHINGTON, D.C. — The American Geophysical Union (AGU) today announced its 2017 Fellows, an honor given to individual AGU members who have made exceptional scientific contributions and gained prominence in their respective fields of Earth and space sciences.

Since the AGU Fellows program was established in 1962, and according to the organization’s bylaws, no more than 0.01 percent of the total membership of AGU is recognized annually. This year’s class of Fellows are geographically diverse coming from 10 countries.

“AGU Fellows are recognized for their outstanding contributions to scholarship and discovery in the Earth and space sciences. Their work not only expands the realm of human knowledge, but also contributes to the scientific understanding needed for building a sustainable future,” AGU President Eric Davidson. “The diversity of disciplines and career backgrounds of this year’s Fellows is demonstrative of the breadth and depth of expertise of AGU’s global membership of more than 60,000. We are pleased to recognize and honor the newest class of Fellows for their significant and lasting contributions to the Earth and space sciences.”

This year’s class of Fellows will be recognized during the Honors Tribute at the 2017 AGU Fall Meeting Dec. 13 in New Orleans.

The 2017 class of 61 elected Fellows:

  • M. Joan Alexander, Northwest Research Associates
  • Jeffrey Alt, University of Michigan
  • David D. Breshears, University of Arizona
  • Bonnie J. Buratti, Jet Propulsion Laboratory, California Institute of Technology
  • Wei-Jun Cai, University of Delaware
  • Josep Canadell, Commonwealth Scientific and Industrial Research Organisation
  • Don P. Chambers, University of South Florida
  • Kelly Chance, Harvard-Smithsonian Center for Astrophysics
  • Marc Chaussidon, Institut de Physique du Globe de Paris
  • Alan D. Chave, Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution
  • Wang-Ping Chen, China University of Geosciences
  • Hai Cheng, Xi’an Jiaotong University
  • Peter G. DeCelles, University of Arizona
  • Gerald R. Dickens, Rice University
  • Paul A. Dirmeyer, George Mason University
  • Claudio Faccenna, Università Roma degli studi Tre
  • John C. Foster, MIT Haystack Observatory
  • Roger Francois, University of British Columbia
  • Arthur Frankel, Earthquake Science Center, U.S. Geological Survey
  • Helen Amanda Fricker, Scripps Institution of Oceanography
  • Jonathan Gregory, University of Reading
  • Stephen M. Griffies, Princeton University
  • Nancy B. Grimm, Arizona State University
  • George R. Helffrich, Tokyo Institute of Technology
  • Susan S. Hubbard, Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory
  • Erik R. Ivins, Jet Propulsion Laboratory, California Institute of Technology
  • Fortunat Joos, University of Bern
  • Samantha Benton Joye, University of Georgia
  • Yann H. Kerr, Centre d’Etudes Spatiales de la Biosphère, Centre National d’Études Spatiales 
  • Alan Knapp, Colorado State University
  • Matthew J. Kohn, Boise State University
  • Ronald Kwok, Jet Propulsion Laboratory, California Institute of Technology
  • Upmanu Lall, Columbia University
  • Murli H. Manghnani, University of Hawaiʻi at Mānoa
  • Barry H. Mauk, Johns Hopkins University Applied Physics Laboratory
  • Klaus Mezger, University of Bern
  • Alberto Montanari, University of Bologna
  • Louis Noel Moresi, University of Melbourne
  • Scott Lawrence Murchie, Johns Hopkins University Applied Physics Laboratory
  • Teruyuki Nakajima, Japan Aerospace Exploration Agency
  • Richard Norby, Oak Ridge National Laboratory
  • John M. C. Plane, University of Leeds
  • John C. Raymond, Smithsonian Astrophysical Observatory, Harvard University
  • Steven W. Roecker, Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute
  • Eelco Johan Rohling, Australian National University
  • Ares J. Rosakis, Graduate Aerospace Laboratories, California Institute of Technology
  • Yinon Rudich, Weizmann Institute of Science
  • Lynn M. Russell, University of California, San Diego
  • Daniel J. M. Schertzer, École des Ponts Paris Tech
  • Walter H. F. Smith, National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration
  • Robert J. Stern, University of Texas at Dallas
  • Paul J. Tackley, ETH Zurich
  • Margaret S. Torn, Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory and University of California, Berkeley
  • Gregory E. Tucker, University of Colorado Boulder
  • Susan Ustin, University of California, Davis
  • Richard M. Vogel, Tufts University
  • Patricia L. Wiberg, University of Virginia
  • Teng-fong Wong, Chinese University of Hong Kong
  • Roger V. Yelle, University of Arizona
  • Youxue Zhang, University of Michigan
  • Edward J. Zipser, University of Utah

Learn more about the AGU Fellows program.

Announcing the AGU College of Fellows

Today, as well, AGU formally launches an initiative to better engage our nearly 1,400 living Fellows. The new College of Fellows’ mission is to foster excellence, integrity and interdisciplinary collaboration in the Earth and space sciences, provide expert and strategic advice to the Union on global scientific issues, and support the professional development and engagement of scientists at all career stages and from all backgrounds. The program will engage AGU’s Fellows in the following four primary activities: a Town Hall session at the 2017 Fall Meeting, mentorship, a distinguished traveling lecture series, and participation in events and activities commemorating AGU’s Centennial in 2019.

The American Geophysical Union is dedicated to advancing the Earth and space sciences for the benefit of humanity through its scholarly publications, conferences, and outreach programs. AGU is a not-for-profit, professional, scientific organization representing nearly 60,000 members in 139 countries. Join the conversation on FacebookTwitter, YouTube, and AGU’s other social media channels.

LOS ALAMOS website support locally by OviNuppi Systems