2017 LAPS / UNM-LA Special Election: Results Official

Absentee Board Members from left, David Palmer Smitherman; Kama Michel, Wendy Skidmore, Ken Thomas, Linda Fox, Dorothy Carbone, Jan Michel, sitting Kim Thomas, Presiding Judge. Courtesy/LAC

From left, Senior Deputy Clerk Francella M. Montoya, Deputy Clerk Victoria L. Martinez, Deputy Clerk  Gloria Maestas, County Clerk Naomu Maestas and Chief Deputy Clerk Adrianna Ortiz election night at the Municipal Building. Photo by Carol A Clark/ladailypost.com


The Los Alamos County (LAC) Clerk’s Office completed the required canvass process to certify and finalize the 2017 Special Los Alamos Public Schools and University of New Mexico-Los Alamos All-Mail Election results.

The Canvass Board met at 2 p.m. Thursday in the Municipal Building. The board consisted of Dr. Kurt Steinhaus, Los Alamos Public Schools Superintendent; Dr. Cynthia Rooney, University of New Mexico-Los Alamos Chief Executive Officer; the Honorable Pat A. Casados, Los Alamos County Magistrate Judge and Naomi D. Maestas, County Clerk. Also in attendance were County Clerk staff and Lisa Wismer UNM-LA Business Operations Director.

During the canvass process, the board reviewed and verified the accuracy of the results of the all-mail election. The final count of ballots cast in the election totaled 6,458, representing a turnout of 45 percent among eligible Los Alamos County registered voters.

Today’s canvassing results also included the hand tally totals that the Absentee Board tallied on election night. There were a total of 56 ballots that were hand tallied as they were not able to be read through the voting machine.

The board has issued a certificate of canvass, which will be sent to the New Mexico Secretary of State and kept on file in the County Clerk’s Office, and official election results have been made available on the County Clerk webpage: www.losalamosnm.us/clerk.

Clerk Maestas would like to express appreciation for the dedicated staff who served voters in a friendly and efficient manner: Chief Deputy Clerk Adrianna Ortiz, Election Manager Gloria Maestas, Senior Deputy Clerk Francella M. Montoya, Deputy Clerk Victoria L. Martinez, and Student Clerk Jordan Duran. Clerk Maestas would also like to extend a special thank you to the Absentee Board members: Kim Thomas, Presiding Judge; Kama Michel, Election Judge; Linda Fox, Election Judge; Wendy Skidmore, Election Clerk; Ken Thomas, Election Clerk; Jan Michel, Election Clerk; David Palmer Smitherman, Election Clerk; and Dorothy Carbone, Election Clerk.

These community members worked diligently over a two day period in verifying and re-verifying to ensure that every vote was counted, and that the election results were accurate. Lastly, Clerk Maestas would like to thank the 45 percent of registered voters who cast their ballots and exercised their right to vote.

Clerk Maestas would like to remind everyone that Absentee Voting – In Person (Early Voting) and by Mail for the Feb. 7, 2017 School Board Election continues thru Friday, Feb. 3, 2017, in the County Clerk’s Office, Suite 240, on the 2nd Floor of the LAC Municipal Building at 1000 Central Avenue. Voting is available 8 a.m. and 5 p.m. Monday thru Friday, between Voters who prefer a ballot to be mailed, need to complete an absentee application, which can be obtained on the Clerk’s webpage, or by calling the Clerk’s Office and requesting an application to be mailed.

Voting on Election Day, Feb. 7, 2017, will take place at the Los Alamos Municipal Building in the B&C Room or at the White Rock Library in the Multi-Use Room.

For more information, visit the Clerk’s website at www.losalamosnm.us/clerk or contact the office at 505.662.8010 or by email at clerks@lacnm.us.