2015 Los Alamos History Award Presented To Nancy Bartlit And Hedy Dunn

Hedy Dunn, left, and Nancy Bartlit receive the Los Alamos History Award from Los Alamos Historical Society President Michael Wheeler. Courtesy/LAHS


Nancy Bartlit and Hedy Dunn have been named winners of the 2015 Los Alamos History Award.

The pair, who have been instrumental in preserving and promoting Los Alamos history for decades, received the awards during the Historical Society’s 2nd Annual Fall Gala and Experience Auction on Sept. 12.

“We couldn’t be more pleased that these two ladies, who have done so much for Los Alamos history over the years, are being honored together,” said Michael Wheeler, president of the Los Alamos Historical Society.

Bartlit served on the Historical Society’s board of directors for nine years, including four years as program chair and four years as president. She led the effort to develop the life-size sculptures of Gen. Leslie Groves and Dr. J. Robert Oppenheimer that are on Central Avenue next to Fuller Lodge. She also is co-author of the book “Silent Voices of World War II.”

Dunn began working at the Historical Society in 1978 and led the organization as Museum Director for 32 years, overseeing its growth and development. She continues to serve the Historical Society and the community as a volunteer for many organizations, including the Pajarito Environmental Education Center, Bandelier National Monument and the Santa Fe Opera.

Excerpted from their Los Alamos History Award nominations:

“Nancy is justifiably most proud of the sculptures, which have become an historical attraction for residents and visitors alike. Over a seven-year period from concept to dedication, Nancy championed this effort…. It is time that Nancy Bartlit’s many contributions to the historical preservation and knowledge of our community be recognized and honored.”

“Hedy’s manner with [those] from very diverse backgrounds, interests, and experiences, including civil servants and elected officials, her devotion to telling the stories of Los Alamos and its people, and her ability to develop others to follow her is directly responsible for the vibrant Historical Society of today.”

The Los Alamos History Award is an annual prize recognizing significant contributions to preserving the world-changing history of our community. Factors that weigh heavily in consideration for the award include depth and breadth of achievement over time, volunteer commitment, and a lasting impact. Both individuals and organizations are eligible. Awardees are selected through a rigorous, blind voting process by the Historical Society’s board of directors.

The Los Alamos History Award was first given in 2014. Helene Suydam and her late husband Jerry, as well as Clay and Dorothy Perkins, received the awards for giving the Historical Society historic homes on Bathtub Row.