Skip directly to content

Opinion

Letter To The Editor: The Tub Appreciates Buzz Bus

on November 11, 2016 - 7:30am
By CONNIE GOETTEE
BRBC Board Secretary
 
The board, staff and patrons of Bathtub Row Brewing Co-op would like to thank Atomic City Transit for providing the Halloween Buzz Bus during our Halloween celebration.  
 
This was a wonderful service to get members of the Los Alamos and White Rock communities to and from our party at Bathtub Row Brewing Co-op in Central Park Square.
 
We truly appreciate your efforts to keep our patrons safe and able to enjoy another pint another day.

American Federation Of Teachers New Mexico On New Mexico General Election Results

on November 9, 2016 - 11:28am

AFTNM News:

ALBUQUERQUE – American Federation of Teachers New Mexico President Stephanie Ly released the following statement:

Voters across New Mexico cast their ballots for candidates who campaigned for a strong system of public education in New Mexico, protections for working New Mexicans, and increased transparency in our government and at the ballot box, and the results are clear.

“After two years of Republican control of the New Mexico House of Representatives, voters rejected failed policies like mandatory retention, so-called Right to Work, and the privatization of our schools by

Letter To The Editor: McDonald - ‘New Councilors Have My Full Support’

on November 9, 2016 - 10:14am
By JARET MCDONALD
Republican candidate for Council

I just want to say how thankful I am for all the support and votes I did receive throughout this election.

Although it would have been great to win, I don't feel like I lost. As a citizen, I feel like I won by Pete (Sheehey), Chris (Chandler) and Antonio (Maggiore) getting elected. I know they are going to do a great job for Los Alamos County and they have my full support.

I am proud to be from a community where we had six great choices for council and we didn't have to choose the least worst.

Letter To The Editor: Brenner - ‘Los Alamos Wins!’

on November 9, 2016 - 9:48am
By PATRICK BRENNER
Republican Candidate for Council
 

It was an exciting night. The results are in. Los Alamos wins, again. Congratulations to Antonio (Maggiore), Pete (Sheehey), Chris (Chandler) and Los Alamos! We’ve got great leadership, again.

 

The one thing that I’m not happy about is that everyone puts so much emphasis on the national results. The real change happens on the local level. We had fantastic candidates to choose from. Los Alamos would have won regardless of the results.

 

I’m looking forward to continue fighting for small business.

Letter To The Editor: Vote ‘For’ Question 1 To Eliminate Dangerous Confusion

on November 7, 2016 - 6:12pm
By ROBERT GIBSON*
Los Alamos

John Horne’s recent letter cites various state statutes (laws) granting powers to county sheriffs. Unmentioned is the New Mexico Constitution, which is superior to those laws. Art. X, Sec 5C grants to Los Alamos County the power, through our County Charter, to establish our “form and organization … of government” and to “designate those officers which shall be elected.” The same section also allows us to designate “those officers and employees which shall perform the duties assigned by law to county officers.”

Under our current voter-approved Charter, Council

Letter To The Editor: The 1940’s Radio Hour --- A Great Veterans Day Weekend Activity

on November 7, 2016 - 5:48pm
By JIM NESMITH
Los Alamos

I was genuinely disturbed and disappointed by Bonnie Gordon’s review of the Los Alamos Little Theater’s production of the 1940’s Radio Hour on November 5, 2016. I attended the same opening performance and it was a wonderful experience, enjoyed by every single person in the house with the obvious exception of Bonnie. I agree with Bonnie that she was not the ideal person to review the play and go further in saying she should have recused herself.

Yes, the characters were stereotypes but so what?

Letter To The Editor: Vote AGAINST Option 1 And Keep Your Sheriff

on November 7, 2016 - 1:34pm
By JOHN N. HORNE
Los Alamos County Undersheriff
 
Los Alamos County Charter Section 304.3:

Deputies of the Sheriff, police department, and peace officers. The council shall establishes as a Department of the county, a police department to be charged with conserving the peace and enforcing the laws of the state and the ordinances of the county. The sheriff shall have those powers and duties assigned to the sheriff by state statutes including the powers of a peace officer, but the sheriff shall not duplicate or perform those duties in this charter or by ordinance or resolution assigned or

Newspapers Endorse Dist. 43 House Candidates

on November 7, 2016 - 12:51pm

Letter To The Editor: Vote To Keep Office Of Sheriff

on November 7, 2016 - 7:24am
By MATT WOLK
Los Alamos

To the people of Los Alamos:

This community is about to make a very important decision to keep or abolish the office of our County Sheriff. Sheriff Lucero is a devoted, experienced Law Enforcement officer, parent and Christian. He has served this community with honor and integrity in spite of numerous attacks from those who fear that office.

Many of you are not aware that Sheriff Lucero went before the New Mexico State Legislature on behalf of this community and the entire state to propose a more rigid sentence for sex offenders, mostly emphasizing pedophiles.

Letter To The Editor: County Clerk Candidate Amy Woods Is Caring, Capable And Qualified

on November 6, 2016 - 1:55pm
By B. L. Moseman
Los Alamos

Greetings.

I would like to take a moment to tell you a little about Amy Woods. I have known Amy for nearly 10 years and I’m proud to call her a friend.

Amy grew up in Los Alamos. Her family has lived here since 1953 andhas deep roots in this community. She currently works as a Realtor at Zia Realty Group.

Her mother, Carlotta McInteer, worked at LANL until she went to Law School in 1987 at the age of 60! As a long term resident of Los Alamos, Carlotta contributed heavily to the community in various roles.

Letter To The Editor: Perilous Confusion About Police

on November 6, 2016 - 8:55am
DAVID NORTH
Los Alamos

The Los Alamos Daily Post should be commended for the fair and thorough coverage of the LWV Forum incident involving Sheriff Lucero and John Horne. Unfortunately in so doing, a potential for perilous confusion was created.

Most often when someone needs help or suspects illegal activity, citizens will call 911. However, after reading your story more than one Los Alamos resident has learned that if you really want quick, decisive, overwhelming action – even if it’s just something that sort of bugs you – the most certain way to handle it is to call Jaret McDonald.

'The 1940's Radio Hour' Captures Spirit Of War Years

on November 5, 2016 - 6:32pm
B. J. steps in to perform Boogie Woogie Bugle Boy with Connie (Nora Cullinan), left, and Ginger (Joy Reynolds) in the Los Alamos Little Theatre's 'The 1940's Radio Hour'. Courtesy photo
 
Ginger (Joy Reynolds) sizzles while, from left, B. J. (Stuart Rupprecht), Neil (Patrick Webb), Clifton (John Cullinan) and the rest of the cast look on. Courtesy photo
 
The cast on stage performing to a full house during Friday's opening night of 'The 1940's Radio Hour' at the LALT. Photo by Carol A. Clark/ladailypost.com
 
Review By BONNIE J. GORDON
Los Alamos Daily Post

Let me say from the get-go,

Letter To The Editor: Forest Service, VCNP And NPS Are Not Neighbor Friendly

on November 5, 2016 - 5:32pm
By CATHY RENEE STANHOPE
Jemez

Over the past five years, I’ve been wanting to make the public aware of how the Forest Service, Valles Caldera National Preserve, and the National Park Service interact with individuals who border this Jemez treasured property, the old Baca Ranch. 

This property has been my backyard for 22 years, bordered on two sides.

Tags: 

Letter To The Editor: Dispelling Misinformed Arguments For Keeping Office Of The Sheriff

on November 5, 2016 - 4:35pm

By KRISTIN HENDERSON
Los Alamos County Councilor

There are a couple arguments going around in support of maintaining the elected Office of Sheriff that I would like to address. I am in favor of a FOR vote to eliminate it.

The first is that the Sheriff is your last stand against corruption. The fact is, the Sheriff here has NO authority to investigate corruption, or any crime. The concept of needing the office to protect you is both illegal and a complete red herring. 

Corruption can be investigated by the State Attorney General, the State Police, the FBI - there are any number of other

Letter To The Editor: My Endorsement Goes To Rep. Stephanie Garcia Richard

on November 5, 2016 - 12:02pm
By DAVID IZRAELEVITZ
Los Alamos County Councilor

A recent mailing by the Sharon Stover campaign highlights portions of a 2011 Monitor article where I am quoted complimenting her on her leadership abilities. Indeed, while Ms. Stover and I served on the County Council, I saw her work tirelessly as council chair on behalf of our county, and it was a pleasure and an honor to serve with her.  Every word that was quoted of me is accurate and heartfelt. Moreover, she displayed the political courage to cross party lines and vote to appoint me to Council.

Letter To The Editor: Your Vote Counts

on November 5, 2016 - 8:12am
By JODY BENSON
League of Women Voters

As we registered voters at the Farmer’s Market and LAHS, I was not shocked exactly, but more, disappointed that too many people stated that they never vote because (1) they hate the candidates, (2) they don’t know the candidates or the issues, or (3) it doesn’t matter. They did not register. Now they don’t have the option.

The first opinion is personal, and therefore inarguable. But (2) and (3) are destructively untrue.

First, if you’re not voting because you don’t know the candidates or the issues, you can learn.

Letter To The Editor: Thoughts About Council Candidates

on November 5, 2016 - 8:11am
By KRISTIN HENDERSON
Los Alamos County Council
 
For those who haven’t yet voted - there are three seats open on the Los Alamos County Council, and six people running.
 
I personally believe that Council has been making good progress in town for the last few years, and I would like to see that continue. Accordingly, I would really like to see the two incumbents get re-elected - Steve Girrens and Pete Sheehey.
 
Steve has always been an advocate for youth and families and is a big supporter of the County working with our Schools.

Letter To The Editor: Marco Lucero Responds To Question About Constitutional Sheriffs Organization

on November 5, 2016 - 8:09am
By Sheriff Marco Lucero
Los Alamos County

This is in response to the Letter to the Editor by Stephanie Nakhleh, published in the Oct. 30 edition of the Los Alamos Daily Post, (link). Ms. Nakhleh asks why I don't answer the question of whether I'm a member of the Constitutional Sheriffs Organization. I actually answered this question in my June 13, 2016 Letter to the Editor published in the Los Alamos Daily Post, (link). 

I am not nor have I ever been a member of this organization. Anyone can place your name online and say what they want to further their cause.

Letter To The Editor: Justifying My Vote For Stephanie Garcia Richard For Our Dist. 43 Representative

on November 4, 2016 - 7:14pm
 
BY JOEL M. WILLIAMS
Los Alamos
 
Above is a plot of how the New Mexico House of Representatives has changed over the past four elections. What it shows is the dramatic change from the "old-guard", democratic-controlled, House to a fairly even seating as a result of the voter revolt of 2010. Indeed, only one democrat that is seated today was elected in 2010. With a fairly even house, I foresee a flip-flop between the two parties for control. In such a case, a district's representation is best fostered by longevity (seniority).

We have two good candidates running for our 43rd District.

Letter To The Editor: Rep. Garcia Richard - A Proven Leader With Integrity, Courage, Strength Of Character

on November 4, 2016 - 6:34pm
GREG CUNNINGHAM
Los Alamos

 

I am writing in support of Dist. 43 Rep. Stephanie Garcia Richard, a proven leader with integrity, courage, conviction and strength of character. As a lifelong educator, her qualifications to determine what is needed for the education and well-being of our children is beyond compare.

 

While I respect her opponent’s contribution to our community, Sharon Stover appears to be an adamant supporter of the current Republican administration and the Public Education Department's flawed testing policy, punitive and error-riddled teacher evaluation system, and poor

Letter To The Editor: Vote For Sharon Stover And Steve Girrens

on November 4, 2016 - 9:46am
By JAMES CHROBOCINSKI
Los Alamos County Councilor

As a County Councilor and small business owner I have had the pleasure to work closely with Sharon Stover and Steve Girrens over the last couple years. To put it simply they are just “good folk” who care deeply about this community.  No one works harder than this husband and wife team to make this a wonderful community.

Sharon Stover was raised in this region and has spent her adult life volunteering and serving in many roles including non-profits, elected, and volunteer.

Chandler: I Am Committed To Working For The Community

on November 4, 2016 - 8:35am
By CHRIS CHANDLER
Democratic Candidate
Los Alamos County Council
 
The community faces many exciting opportunities to move us forward. We are also confronting a number of challenges that will impact the town for decades to come. I have a wealth of experience from which I can draw that will help the Council address these challenges as they arise.
 
I have previously served as a County Councilor as well as Council Chair and Vice Chair. My active volunteerism spans more than 20 years of living and working here.

Letter To The Editor: Pick Stover - She Really Knows Los Alamos

on November 3, 2016 - 7:21pm
By RICK REISS, Chair
Los Alamos County Council
 
I believe Sharon Stover is our best choice for State Representative. If years of involvement in our community and the northern New Mexico region is any measure, the best representative is Ms. Stover.  
 
Ms. Stover has been a part of the very fabric of our community and region for over 30 years.

Letter To The Editor: Clarifying Same Sex Marriage License Litigation Case

on November 3, 2016 - 7:04pm

By BECKY EHLER
Former County Attorney

I would like to clarify the cost and the position of the Los Alamos County Clerk during the same sex marriage license litigation case.

First, Los Alamos County did not expend any funds for representing the Clerk, Sharon Stover in the litigation. The entire Los Alamos County case was handled by the County’s in-house legal
staff. Likewise, Los Alamos County did not pay any of the cost of the Supreme Court case where the issue was decided for the entire state.

Second, the response to the temporary order did not indicate that Ms.

Letter To The Editor: Sharon Stover - Exceptional Experience For NM House Dist. 43

on November 3, 2016 - 6:53pm
By FRAN BERTING
Los Alamos

A person with a broad base of experience is a great asset in our New Mexico Legislature and you won't find anyone with broader and more varied experience than New Mexico House Dist. 43 candidate Sharon Stover.     

  • Business: helped her family run a successful community icon restaurant at an early age.
  • Family: as a homemaker, in collaboration with a high-level lab manager, has raised two outstanding young people, one a thriving practicing lawyer, the other an economics graduate working in retirement plan finance for a major company.
  • Youth mentoring: instrumental in

Pages


Advertisements