Skip directly to content

Opinion

Letter To The Editor: Significant Soil Contamination At Los Alamos Horse Stables

on March 15, 2017 - 5:40am
By OLGA CHERTKOV
Los Alamos

I have read the letter to the Los Alamos Daily Post from JoAnn Johnson, “North Mesa Stable Area Objections Are Much Ado About Nothing!”, and I see that she does not care at all about opinion of other citizens of Los Alamos, her ignorance looks like this:

... You should be happy to live next to my horse … She was there first … you have no choice … waste of time and resources … There will be no changes… .

Her argument that in the 1960’s the horse stables were considered free from contaminations holds no merit today, 50 years later.

Letter To The Editor: Insistence That Only Bias Motivates Media Does Not Assist In Search For 'True Facts'

on March 13, 2017 - 9:27am

BY TERRY GOLDMAN
Los Alamos
 
While I certainly agree Mr. Nebel (link) that the media take their own slant, in general, for their own purposes (sales), on issues they report, I find it curious that in his review of newspaper history he does not mention the New York Times, which was formed with the stated goal of being as accurate and complete as possible, in response to the so called yellow journalism of the time, to which he does refer.
 
Of course, one is free to disagree on how well this has been done, both initially and over time, but the insistence that only bias motivates the various media
Tags: 

Letter To The Editor: North Mesa Stable Area Objections Are Much Ado About Nothing!

on March 13, 2017 - 8:42am
By JoAnn Johnson
Longtime stable owner
Los Alamos

I believe that Olga Chertkov’s objections about the North Mesa Stable Area made March 9 to the Parks and Recreation Board are like reinventing the wheel.

My family had horses on North Mesa for 36 years. In the late 1960s and early 1970s, the same objections about flies, manure, overall appearance of the area and noise at rodeo time were made by Barranca Mesa residents whose houses are directly across the Canyon from the stables. And yes, the proposal was made to relocate the stables to Rendija Canyon.

Letter To The Editor: Slanted Press Is Nothing New

on March 13, 2017 - 7:51am
By RICHARD NEBEL
Los Alamos 

This is in response to letters from Ms. Dolejsi (link), Ms. Remillieux (link) and Mr. Visel (link) about “Freedom of the Press”.

One thing that Mr. Visel states in his letter is that “No one can trust CNN or the mainstream media anymore”. The part I take issue with is the “anymore” part of the statement. The press has always been slanted.

Many of the newspapers that were founded in the 19th Century were founded and owned by the political parties. For instance, the Chicago Tribune was founded by the Republican party.

Letter To The Editor: Background Checks Needed For All Gun Sales

on March 13, 2017 - 7:20am
By CATHY WEBER
Los Alamos
 

I am writing because I support  requiring background checks for all gun sales. As a mom and member of Moms Demand Action, I know gun safety is good for kids and families.

 

Right now, the New Mexico legislature is considering bills that would expand criminal background checks for gun sales to include purchases from unlicensed sellers over the Internet and at gun shows. The background check bill would close the dangerous unlicensed sale loophole and make it harder for criminals to buy guns from strangers in unlicensed sales at gun shows.

 

Weak gun laws

Letter To The Editor: If You Really Want A Background Check Bill Passed ... Tell ‘Moms’ And ‘Everytown’ To Sit Down, Shut Up, And Listen

on March 12, 2017 - 10:17am
By KHALIL J. SPENCER
Los Alamos
 
I wasn’t sure whether to laugh or cry when I read the latest pro “background check” letter (by Amber Espinosa-Trujillo) in what seems to be an orchestrated letter writing campaign by Everytown for Gun Safety/Moms Demand Action.

Indeed, it has probably been the tone-deafness and intransigence of that group (both “Everytown” and “Moms” are names for “Astroturf” organizations supported by New York City billionaire Michael Bloomberg) that have stood in the way of a background bill passing out of the legislature.

The out of state lobbyists and their supporters,

Letter To The Editor: Strip ’Em To Their Skivvies And Light One Off!

on March 12, 2017 - 9:19am
By Dr. T. DOUGLAS REILLY
Los Alamos
 

Back in the 1970's, Harold Agnew,* third director of Los Alamos Scientific Laboratory (LASL), presented a Director's Colloquium to explain his congressional testimony regarding a proposed Comprehensive Test Ban Treaty (CTBT). He feared the world's leaders would soon forget the destructive power of nuclear weapons, so he proposed the following:

“Every five or so years, gather the world’s leaders on an uninhabited island in the South Pacific, ‘strip ’em to their skivvies,’ and ‘Light one off!’ First they’d be blinded 10 or more seconds by the light, then

Letter To The Editor: Internet And Gun Show Sales

on March 12, 2017 - 8:54am

AFTNM On Senate Passage Of House Bill 2

on March 12, 2017 - 8:28am

Letter To The Editor: Response To ‘Freedom Of The Press’

on March 12, 2017 - 7:25am
By STEPHANIE REMILLIEUX
Los Alamos

First, I would like to thank the author of the letter to the editor: “Need for freedom of the Press” (link) for bringing that subject up, and let her know that I agree with her on most of her writing, if we try and dive deeper into the sewer that this whole situation has become.

Before getting to the heart of the topic, I would like to quickly address my skepticism on the fast transitioning from a local standpoint to a global generalization. The author’s personal experience with a local newspaper seems hardly transposable to how the mass media works.

Tags: 

Letter To The Editor: What's Next For The Sheriff?

on March 11, 2017 - 4:05pm

Letter To The Editor: Veto Override Of HB241 Hurts

on March 11, 2017 - 7:42am
By CHARLES BOWYER
NEW-NM Executive Director
 
Gov. Susana Martinez doesn't think teachers are human, too, since she vetoed HB 241 introduced by Republican legislators.
 
The veto is inhumane - hurting both students and educators. House Bill 241 recognizes that teachers might occasionally need to take sick leave.
 
Fortunately the majority in both the House (only three votes against) and Senate (unanimously in favor) do believe teachers are human, too.
 
Educators statewide urge the House and the Senate to override the Governor's veto, as called for by Sen. Brandt (R-Rio Rancho).

Letter To The Editor: About That ‘Freedom Of Press’

on March 8, 2017 - 7:32am
By ROBERT VISEL
Los Alamos

In reference to a recent letter to the editor in the Los Alamos Daily Post about “Freedom Of The Press” ... there are a few problems with this concept lately.

I’m all for the First Amendment and all it stands for unfortunately today's media outlets have proven time and time again that they are extremely biased in their reporting. This applies to all the major news networks, especially CNN, as well as the NY Times, Wall Street Journal, and the rest.

Letter To The Editor: About ‘Civility’ In Public Discourse

on March 6, 2017 - 7:53am
By RICHARD NEBEL
Los Alamos

This is in response to two columns by Father Glenn (link, link), two letters to the editor by Khalil Spencer (link, link), a column by Pastor Granillo (link), along with contributions from the prophet Isaiah, St. Luke, St. Paul, and everybody else who has recently written in to the Los Alamos Daily Post discussing “civility” in public discourse. 

Now, who could possibly be opposed to “civility” in public discourse? Well, it depends on how it is defined, who defines it, and most importantly, how it is implemented.

The simple fact of the matter is this: “civility”

Letter To The Editor: About International Women’s Day At Ashley Pond Wednesday

on March 5, 2017 - 9:51am
By DOUG REILLY
Los Alamos
 
International Women’s Day is celebrated much more around the world than here in the USA. When I as working at the IAEA in Vienna, my closest colleague was Russian. I learned that at the Russian Embassy this was the biggest celebration of the year. The men dressed in their best suits and the women in their best dresses. There was a feast for everyone and, of course, many toasts.
 
Another thing I learned in Russia, Kazakhstan, and other countries in the FSU is that at any gathering THE THIRD TOAST IS TO THE WOMEN, even if no women are present.

It would be

Letter To The Editor: About That Support For Background Checks...

on March 4, 2017 - 9:32pm
By GLENN MICHEL
Los Alamos
 
I'm sure Devon Lymon would have respected a background check law despite all the other laws he had broken up to that point. Yup, one more law would have made all the difference to poor Daniel Webster.

I can imagine Devon having a little mental conversation with himself when he obtained that gun, "Oh! wait a minute, I can't posses guns, I'm a felon!", and poof, another possible criminal activity is thwarted by yet another rock solid gun law. 
 
Yup, we ought to throw up five or six more unenforceable gun laws, they're working great.

Doctors are a lot more

Letter To The Editor: If You Are Going To Quote Numbers, You Need To Provide Credible References

on March 3, 2017 - 9:54am
By KHALIL SPENCER
Los Alamos

There were near mirror-image letters in the Los Alamos Daily Post (link) and Santa Fe New Mexican Thursday claiming that state level background checks are credited with reductions of 46 or 47 percent fewer women shot to death by their partners and 48 or 53 percent fewer law enforcement officers killed by handguns. The problem is, nowhere do the authors of these letters provide sources for this information.

I put the quotes from the letters into a web search and came up with an Everytown For Gun Safety source (there may be others), almost verbatim, with links to

Letter To The Editor: Background Checks For Gun Sales

on March 3, 2017 - 8:56am
By ANNE MANNING
Albuquerque

 

We have a gun violence problem in New Mexico - the number of deaths and injuries at the hands of people who shouldn’t have their hands on a gun is very distressing. With lives at stake, a background check to buy a gun is not too much to ask! House Bill 50 and Senate Bill 48 would require such checks for ALL gun sales in New Mexico, and as a member of Moms Demand Action for Gun Sense in America, I strongly support this bill.

 

I grew up in England and was actually a good shot with a .22 rifle.

Letter To The Editor: In Support Of Background Checks

on March 2, 2017 - 10:22am
By STEPHANIE NAKHLEH
Los Alamos
 
New Mexico has incredibly high rates of gun violence, including the highest rate of law enforcement shot and killed in the line of duty.
 
Not coincidentally, we have some of the country’s laxest gun laws—it’s easy for felons and domestic abusers to avoid background checks by buying guns on websites like armslist.com or at gun shows. States that close the background-check loophole see 53 percent fewer law enforcement officers shot and killed and 47 percent fewer women shot and killed by intimate partners.
 
Our legislator, Representative Stephanie

Letter To The Editor: Thank You Los Alamos Community For Extraordinary Kindness

on March 1, 2017 - 10:39am

By IDA S. PACHECO and Family

Thank you Los Alamos community for your kind and encouraging words, beautiful flowers, lovely cards, thoughts, prayers and Masses.

All that you shared to console our hearts in the loss of Raymond David Pacheco, have comforted and sustained us.

Thank you most sincerely for your generous support and sympathy.

Letter To The Editor: Need For Freedom Of The Press

on February 28, 2017 - 3:42pm
By KELLY DOLEJSI
Los Alamos
 
When I was a student at Western New Mexico University, I learned first-hand the power of the media to protect people who have no influence or authority of their own.

I had zero training — WNMU didn’t offer journalism classes — but at 22, I became editor-in-chief of the university’s newspaper. The university president had just received a 20-percent raise, so my two-person staff and I decided that would be our top-of-the-fold, front-page news.

Letter To The Editor: A Tribute To Pastor Granillo

on February 26, 2017 - 6:35am
By HOLLY BATES
Los Alamos
 
I was profoundly touched by Pastor Granillo's column, "The Love of Hate" (link), and I wanted to share this:
 
After a cruel, devastating blow during this past Christmas, I was overwhelming consumed with many of the emotions that the Pastor described in his column. As a life-long Christian, I was embarrassed and ashamed of what I had become. How could I allow this one, evil person to change me so profoundly?
 
My first reaction to this true evil was revenge, which made me even more angry.

Letter To The Editor: House Bill 50 ... Just To Clarify

on February 24, 2017 - 10:27pm
By KHALIL SPENCER
Los Alamos

I just want to clarify a couple things in response to Jody Benson's letter as well as thank her for her engagement on the topic (link).

I did not say that we should reject House Bill 50. What I said was the original and present wording was problematic. There is still plenty of time in this legislative session to find some common ground on this
bill and amend it so it has bipartisan and gun owner support.

To excerpt from my own essay (link), what I said was "...provisions in the bill put onerous constraints on temporary transfers and casual sales between law abiding

NMVC On Indiscriminate Immigrant Raids

on February 24, 2017 - 7:25am
NMVC News:
 
ALBUQUERQUE — James Jimenez, executive director of New Mexico Voices for Children, issued the following statement regarding the recent immigration raids in southern New Mexico:
 
“We are disturbed at the news of immigration raids in southern New Mexico and urge immigration officials to keep the best interests of all of our children and families at heart going forward.
 
“As a nation built on ingenuity, America can craft common-sense reforms to our immigration system that improve our economy and keep us safe while maintaining our American values of inclusion and equality of

Letter To The Editor: Straight Scoop On HB50

on February 23, 2017 - 8:07am
By JOHN N. HORNE
Los Alamos

Dist. 43 Rep. Stephanie Garcia Richard of Los Alamos is up to those old tired political tricks again. In order to bolster support for HB50, Ms. Garcia Richard jumped at the opportunity to have her picture taken with a shooting victim and then imply her bill will solve all the world’s ills regarding gun violence.

The fact of the matter is there is nothing in HB50 that would’ve had any bearing on the (Former U.S. Rep. Gabby) Giffords' shooting.

Pages


Advertisements