Skip directly to content

Opinion

Letter to the Editor: Vaccines - Do the Rights of the Many Outweigh the Rights of the Few?

on November 8, 2012 - 12:15pm
By Tina Schueler
Los Alamos

In response to recent concerns voiced about vaccine rights, this is a case of the rights of the many vs. the rights of the few. 

Vaccines only work to preserve the general population if “herd immunity” is achieved, when vaccines are administered to a high percentage (85 percent.)

With fewer parents vaccinating their children whether due to personal choice, safety concerns or greater awareness of the health risks to a susceptible child, this high percentage is not being met in some areas and outbreaks have occurred. 

Our medical community is rightly concerned

Tags: 

Letter to the Editor: Once Upon a Time...

on November 7, 2012 - 2:20pm

By TJ Taub

Once upon a time there was a tiny hamlet that basked in bounty and wanted for little if anything. 

There were plentiful jobs, excellent schools, solid housing, varied retail, all situated in a location both strategic (not too close, not too far) and extremely beautiful. 

Life was both good and predictably good for many, many years. 

But the winds of change blew over the land and, finally, over the little hamlet.

Tags: 

Letter to the Editor: Big Thanx to Mayor Cordova

on November 7, 2012 - 2:20pm
JJ Maier
Los Alamos

Every cause needs a negative force to fight and overcome ... so it is with saving “The Building” in Eagle Nest, N.M.

The Mayor has obliged by being the villain setting onerous hurdles for the Village to overcome.

Had he, instead, joined forces with his constituents to save the last remnant of Eagle Nest’s earliest history, the citizen effort to preserve it probably would not be so successful – everyone should send a big “Thanx!” to Mayor Richard Cordova!

Plan to attend the Eadle Nest Council Meeting Nov.

Tags: 

Letter to the Editor: Vaccines - My Body My Choice

on November 5, 2012 - 9:46am
By Tara Mara
Los Alamos

Respectfully, I must take issue with the tone of Dr. Tom’s Letter to the Editor regarding the group of parents who met with their representative to discuss infringement of personal liberties.

The CDCs Recommended Vaccine Schedule is exactly that, a recommendation and I personally take their opinion into consideration before I make decisions about MY CHILD’s health.

The issue here that Dr. Tom fails to acknowledge is that this is not a vaccine issue but a parental rights issue.

No one is questioning the legitimacy of the vaccination program en mass or their

Letter to the Editor: Concern Over Parental Rights, Not Vaccine Program

on November 5, 2012 - 9:04am
By Vivian Westfall
Los Alamos

This is in response to the letter to the editor by Dr. Tom Csanadi, "Vaccines-Elected Officials Should Not Feed Fear and Misinformation."

There are several of us who were concerned over the recent changes to the vaccine exemption forms through the Department of Health (DOH.)

The concern was not that exemptions must be filed if one does not follow the vaccine schedule rigidly, but rather a concern that there is specific religious information being gathered and some parents were being turned down.

The challenge we parents find ourselves in is not one of

Letter to the Editor: People Should Celebrate Success

on November 5, 2012 - 8:19am
By David Jones
Los Alamos

After many years in small business enterprises, I’m now trying to help entrepreneurs survive long enough to generate cash flow.

My passion for building homegrown businesses and creating jobs means that I want to know how political candidates plan to facilitate the success of growing businesses.

I personally know (Rep.) Jim Hall and have asked him many questions. I believe he has many good ideas and he is clearly committed to this area and it’s economic development.

(House Dist.

Letter to the Editor: Los Alamos Fire Department Earns High Praise

on November 4, 2012 - 6:22pm

By Jaret McDonald

Ladies and Gentlemen, I want to tell you a story about how great our Los Alamos Fire Department is.

They are the most professional and clearly the most awesome team of experienced people that tried to help save my friend David Sturm.

Each of us should go to sleep each night and pay homage to our brothers who wait for us to have an emergency.

Thanks to our friends ...all of them at the Los Alamos Fire Department. Each of them will have a home where ever I am at, God Bless you all.

Thank You! I love you all.

Chief Grider, you are an amazing leader.

Letter to the Editor: Vaccines - Elected Officials Should Not Feed Fear and Misinformation

on November 4, 2012 - 12:35pm
By Dr. Tom Csanadi, MD

As a health care professional who has dedicated my life to the health, well being and safety of children, I am deeply disturbed by a recent story published in the Los Alamos Daily Post and the comments made by (Rep.) Jim Hall concerning childhood vaccinations.

Hall said, “I’m concerned with this intensive business of hitting young children with these medicines in their formative years without fully understanding the consequences.”

As someone who has lived through the devastation of polio, measles, haemophilus, diphtheria, whooping cough and mumps it is stunning that he is

Letter to the Editor: We Can Do Better

on November 4, 2012 - 8:01am
Ellen Walton
Los Alamos

During this campaign season we have seen many arguments against the proposed Los Alamos County Charter amendments.

We have not, however, heard much about how they will improve our lives in Los Alamos, only about how they will make us more like Santa Fe and Albuquerque in how we govern ourselves.

We can read and find out that the ballot questions contain multiple parts which will make petitioning for referendum, recall, and initiative more difficult.

We cannot take some of the parts without taking all of them, even if we agree with some.

We must also understand

Khalsa Reviews Argo

on November 3, 2012 - 8:51am
Movie Review By Seva S.S.S. Khalsa
D.O.M., L.Ac.

Argo is a true story about the U.S. Embassy in Iran during the tumultuous turnover of regimes in 1979. 

One of the most delightful aspects of the movie is its newsreel flashbacks of demonstrators protesting outside the US Embassy and then switching to the actors who are protesting. Very good.

And I can’t help remembering, as it’s been two weeks since I’ve seen the movie, the wardrobe of the era perfectly portrayed in the movie ... plaid pants, turtlenecks and huge eye glasses (omg, did I wear that!!)

A byline to the Embassy’s takeover,

Tags: 

Letter to the Editor: Jim Hall is a Trusted Leader

on November 3, 2012 - 8:20am
By Terry C. Wallace
Los Alamos

Representative Jim Hall is a true public servant; he has a long record of service on community committees, county government and state government.

Jim is deeply committed to bettering the lives of the citizens of northern New Mexico, and he has lived in our community for more than 35 years.

The hallmark of Jim’s long record of service is common sense and bipartisanship – whether discussing education issues, small business or environmental stewardship, Jim is a trusted leader.

I endorse Representative Hall to continue representing District 43 in the New

Letter to the Editor: County Clerk Must be Neutral and Independent

on November 3, 2012 - 8:10am
Richard Dunn
White Rock

The Los Alamos County Clerk race has drawn very little attention. But it should.

In addition to keeping and providing records, the County Clerk is responsible for ensuring fair elections and fair initiative, referendum and recall petition processes. 

The County Clerk, an elected position, is responsible to the New Mexico Secretary of State, not to the County Council.

As such, the County Clerk must be fair and independent of the Council.

Sharon Stover, currently Chair of the County Council, showed a strong Council bias in leading a 2009 ruling (that took a

Letter to the Editor: Local Jobs, Businesses Must Come First

on November 3, 2012 - 8:09am
By Stephanie Garcia Richard
Democratic Candidate for State Representative, District 43

Jobs, jobs, jobs. They are the first words out of every candidate’s mouth this election season, and I am no different.

But how to grow them and keep them for the residents of the many rural communities surrounding high tech centers like Los Alamos is the key question.

Even the residents of Los Alamos wait anxiously for word on whether lab jobs will be cut in a flood of partisan bickering in Washington.

We must diversify our economy so there are alternatives for everyone.

There is no quick, easy

Letter to the Editor: Reject Los Alamos Charter Amendments

on November 3, 2012 - 8:05am
By Robert A. Pelak
Los Alamos

Like Albuquerque and Santa Fe, the structure of the government of Los Alamos is defined by a charter that was adopted by its citizens.

Also, like Albuquerque and Santa Fe, this charter allows its citizen to directly participate in their government by means of petitions for initiatives (proposing new ordinances), referenda (rejection of newly passed ordinances) and recall (removing elected officials) as well as amendment of the charter.

If a petition gathers enough signatures within the allotted time period, then the subject of the petition is put to a vote of

Letter to the Editor: I Voted to Pass Torch to New Generation

on November 3, 2012 - 8:03am
By Carl Newton
White Rock


How sad that elections for New Mexico House seats have been tarnished by fictionalizing candidate positions and funded by donors that have no cultural connections with our residents.

I am further saddened when my chosen candidate, Stephanie Garcia Richard, is belittled by her opponent.

Don’t be misled into believing that Stephanie lacks the relevant accomplishments.

As a bilingual third grade teacher, subject to externally applied accountability rules, she is focused on developing “the living messengers to a time we will not see.”

Stephanie is able to be a

Letter to the Editor: Rhetoric Makes Charter Changes Sound Draconian

on November 3, 2012 - 8:02am
By Fran Berting
Los Alamos County Councilor

The rhetoric regarding the Charter ballot questions on initiative, referendum and recall is making the changes sound positively draconian!

Let's look at what the most widely challenged changes actually do.

For Initiatives

1) No change in the percentage of voters needed (so not noted in the ballot question) but a change in the basis for the number of signatures required for initiatives from 15 percent of voters in the last general election to 15 percent of the number of voters in the arithmetic mean of the past two general elections.

Letter to the Editor: Crossing the Aisle for Kristin Henderson

on November 2, 2012 - 8:23am
By Dr. Michelle and David Carr
Los Alamos

We are conservative Republicans but we are crossing the aisle next Tuesday to vote for Kristin Henderson for County Council.

Her effort on the Trinity Site Committee and a well-run campaign demonstrate her work ethic.

She understands the needs of families with children and is committed to improving the already great quality of life in Los Alamos.

Because she is a realtor, Kristin has a good understanding of the local housing and real estate market, which is the main limiting factor to business expansion in our town.

Kristin is also an

Letter to the Editor: Attack Ads

on October 29, 2012 - 8:21am
By Khalil J Spencer
Los Alamos

If Citizens United is not overturned or modified, the County is going to have to send us larger recycling and garbage bins at election season to handle the third-party PAC attack ads in our mailboxes.
 
Not to mention, most of us will unplug our phones. Come to think of it, much of this literature smells too badly to be put in our recycling bins.
 
Perhaps, therefore, the solution to Citizens United is these PACs need to be taxed heavily to support our solid waste disposal systems.

In local races, we have to see each other on the street the next morning.

Letter to the Editor: What Are We Voting On Anyway?

on October 29, 2012 - 6:16am
By Joel M. Williams
Los Alamos

One would gather that the voters are voting on a bunch of amendments to the charter so that the revision is final and ratified by us.

Apparently, NOT SO. We have just gotten a new administrator whose input would be valuable, but there seems to be an effort to drive the CRC's revision through with all haste.

So, why are we now in the throes of MORE amendments by the council while we are voting?

Sounds like the CRC and the council are piecemealing it to us and certainly do NOT have a firm grasp on the total situation/package.

Letter to the Editor: Don’t Let 'C.A.V.E. People' Torpedo Future

on October 28, 2012 - 9:47am
By William T. Sellers
Los Alamos

Sometimes one simply has to step outside the immediate “box” of one’s perspective to see the bigger picture of what’s really at stake.  

In his seminal work, Civilisation, the great British historian Kenneth Clark details the vignette of a decaying ancient city perched high above a river valley for protection, one that had long outlived its earlier dynamism, and now was suddenly confronted with the immediate danger of a barbarian horde camped out in the valley below.  

As the indolent citizenry pondered their impending fate with some trepidation, the

Column: Two Reasons Governor Supports Jim Hall

on October 27, 2012 - 10:15am
Two Reasons Gov. Susana Martinez Supports Jim Hall:
Attracting Business and Reforming Education
 
By Mandy Marksteiner

Last Sunday Susana Martinez travelled to Los Alamos to support Jim Hall to be re-elected to the New Mexico House of Representatives.

In her speech she described how Hall worked to reform taxes so that construction and manufacturing companies could recover from the economic recession, and how he supported a “no social promotion bill,” and made sure that the initiative was fully funded.

Reforming the business tax system to allow businesses to thrive in New Mexico

“We’re

Letter to the Editor: Charter Vote is Turning Point in Los Alamos History

on October 27, 2012 - 10:01am
By Ellen Walton
Los Alamos

Protecting citizen home rule in Los Alamos begins with the voter. You have before you four ballot questions for Los Alamos County charter amendments, and a very serious decision to make about your home rule government. 

A vote of “yes” to these amendments will move us towards an impenetrable central government; a vote “no” will preserve the rights that were fiercely fought for by citizens who considered the original charter of 1967. 

That charter was defeated, mostly because the petitioning requirements for referendum, recall, and initiative were considered

Letter to the Editor: Intent Was to Correct Any Short Comings

on October 26, 2012 - 6:56am

By Mike Wheeler

Several years ago I and my fellow councilors passed a non-partisen motion to appoint a citizen committee to review the county charter since several petitions had been brought by citizens but were found to be illegal.

Our intent was to correct any short comings that may impede citizen input to the council. Our appointed committee included several citizens who brought the problem petitions to the council.

Now three years later, Los Alamos can vote on needed amendments that clarify and simplify the county charter.

The proposed amendments should help citizens who wish to

Asterman's Movie Reviews for The Master and Argo

on October 25, 2012 - 10:40am
The Deal Down Movie Review
By Rick Asterman: I am not affiliated with the Reel Deal Theater, or any other financial entity. My mission is to provide concise, honest reviews of movies playing at the Los Alamos Reel Deal Theater, plus parental advisement on the films content and advise on which interested parties you should or shouldn’t take with you to the movie.

Letter to the Editor: Furious at Icons on Ballots

on October 25, 2012 - 10:12am

By JJ Maier

I just returned home from voting early here in my home town of Los Alamos, New Mexico.

I was furious to discover that the ballot had “icons” in front of the presidential candidates – not their party icons, but icons selected by the New Mexico Secretary of State:

1. Obama had a distorted eagle

2. Romney had the American Flag

When I called our local County Clerk, they said the local government has no control over how the ballot looks or what is on it and that this ballot format is being used by all precincts throughout the state.

This seems way over the top in attempting

Pages


Advertisements