Skip directly to content

Opinion

Letter to the Editor: County Commended for Indoor Arena

on November 4, 2013 - 7:57am

By Christina and Darril Stafford

We would like to thank the Los Alamos County for the use of the indoor arena.

Our daughter Hannah rides with the Therapeutic Riding group. This last Wednesday, Oct. 30, it was raining, sleeting and very windy. She does not like that kind of weather at all, yet she was still able to ride Dylan (Lisa Reader’s horse) for her lesson.

Thank you for this wonderful arena, it was perfect for this purpose.

Hannah Stafford riding Dylan, owned by Lisa Reader, inside the County's indoor arena Wednesday. Courtesy photo
Tags: 

Letter to the Editor: So Pleased With Ashley Pond Renovations!

on October 31, 2013 - 11:09am
By DIMAS M. CHAVEZ
Potomac, Md

I moved to Los Alamos as a young boy in August 1943. At that time Ashley Pond was just a simple pond with some green colored canoes that had been supplied by the Military to navigate the small area of water. 

I was present at this pond when the first Los Alamos fatal accident happened when a young boy fell out of a canoe, got tangled in deep weeds and drowned. 

Ashley Pond was always the center of town, next to the military hospital.

When I read in the Los Alamos Daily Post, a section I frequently view to keep abreast of what is happening in Los Alamos,

Letter to the Editor: Thank You For Wowing Our Patrons!

on October 27, 2013 - 8:04am
By the Staff at the Fuller Lodge Art Center
 
We wanted to shout out a great big thank you from the rooftops for the amazing performers at Harambre Hip Hop Crew and Dance Arts Los Alamos but it occurred to us that more people would probably read and pass on our thanks through the Los Alamos Daily Post! 
 
As part of our Trickster show in September, both groups came out and wowed our patrons with practically an entire day of break dancing and statues coming to life. Both groups were out of this world, and we tried to capture them in all their talent, but unfortunately were unable to

Letter to the Editor: Los Alamos, You Are The Best Community!

on October 22, 2013 - 8:45am
By Lisa Reader and family
Los Alamos
 
We would like to extend my heartfelt thanks to the many, many people and organizations who have reached out to us in the aftermath of our barn fire and the loss of our beloved mare Sparkling Moonshine.
 
Our family has received more hugs and casseroles and physical labor assistance and financial generosity than we can begin to count, and we just want to let everyone know how much we appreciate your kindness. Los Alamos County's Police and Fire Departments rapid response helped save the other horses, and keep the fire from spreading.
Tags: 

Letter to the Editor: Happy 40th Birthday, 1973 Oil Crisis

on October 20, 2013 - 8:41am
By RICHARD DUNN
Los Alamos

On Oct. 17, 1973, OPEC launched a full oil embargo against the U.S. For months we were faced with gasoline shortages and price spikes across the U.S.
55 mph limits were imposed, CAFE mileage standards were established, carpools were formed.

The USA became a net importer of oil and, shortly thereafter, became a debtor nation. The "Japanese invasion" blossomed with little Honda Civics. Locally, a small group of citizens started Los Alamos Bus to commute to the Lab. I joined four other high school teachers and administrators in a carpool.

Letter to the Editor: Los Alamos Firefighters Commended for Skill and Dedication

on October 16, 2013 - 7:33am
By JoAnn Johnson
Los Alamos
 
I would like to express my appreciation and admiration of our Los Alamos Fire Department.
 
The fact that our firefighters were able to contain the recent fire at the North Mesa Stables to one barn and not allow it to spread throughout the entire stable area is incredible.
 
Coming soon after that fire, the firefighters' rescue of the girl who fell into White Rock Canyon is another example of their skill and dedication. This community is very fortunate to have such exceptional firefighters protecting our families and our property.
 

Solo Traveler: Tourist vs. Traveler

on October 16, 2013 - 7:23am
Solo Traveler: Tourist vs. Traveler
Column by SHERRY HARDAGE

"The traveler sees what he sees; the tourist sees what he has come to see."  – Gilbert K. Chesterton

I ran across this quote some time ago. It reminded me of a discussion I had with an old (we dated back in high school) boyfriend. He said he loved to travel, and he traveled only with Grand Circle and National Geographic tours, both of which are excellent companies. He described how many places he’d been and how much information he had acquired in very short periods of time.

His description sounded like he spent a lot of money

Letter to the Editor: Trophy Home Owners Should Be Encouraged to Become New Mexicans

on October 16, 2013 - 7:18am
Trophy Home Owners Should Be Encouraged to Become New Mexicans
By BILL SELLERS
Los Alamos

As a Jaynes Corp. ex-architect, I’m an avid reader of the three or four, full-length pictorial monthly and quarterly real estate magazines (free) on the “mansions of Santa Fe.” 

Packed with top-of-the-line architectural photography, they detail one multi-million dollar Southwestern trophy home after another; lots and lots of ‘em. Several Bechtel-executive wives, I know personally, are involved in this industry, either as salespeople, or in some support function. 

Not a single one of the owners,

Tags: 

Letter to the Editor: Shutdown Puts Public Lands at Risk

on October 16, 2013 - 7:00am

Shutdown Puts Public Lands at Risk
By DOMINICK LAWTON
Environment New Mexico

As the seasons turn to fall, many of us here in New Mexico typically head to Bandelier National Monument before the cold rolls in. However, as a result of the government shutdown, our national parks, wildlife refuges, and national forests all across New Mexico are closed to any and all visitors.

Bandelier National Monument typically sees a flood of visitors in October who come to experience the beauty of its cliff dwellings or spend a last night under the stars.

Special Board Meeting to Formalize Guidance Given on Teacher Concerns

on October 13, 2013 - 8:35am

LAPS News:

Special Board Meeting at 5 p.m. Tuesday, Oct. 15 has moved to the Speech Theater at Los Alamos High School.

  • Pledge of Allegiance
  • Call to Order
  • Roll Call
  • Approval of Agenda
  • Public Comment
  • Presentation and Recommendation of the Superintendent and information for the  Board

Board President Jim Hall called this special meeting of the Board to formalize the guidance given to administration at the Oct. 8 Board Meeting.

Hall will present the following motion for discussion and possible action. “I move that the administration work with teaching staff to give priority to the following actions:

Letter to the Editor: A Reasonable and Measured Approach

on October 12, 2013 - 11:50am

A Reasonable and Measured Approach
By Dr. GENE SCHMIDT, Superintendent
Los Alamos Public Schools

Education in New Mexico and throughout the nation is undergoing significant change.

Letter to the Editor: When Will Enough Be Enough?

on October 11, 2013 - 9:50am
By MIKE BAKER
Instructional Assistant, Mountain Elementary
Spouse of a teacher

Teachers like other professionals don’t normally speak out about the unbearable conditions they work under and how over worked they are. Yes, they speak about this with small groups of co-workers as they set out to accomplish their tasks. Now is the time you must speak out, and exercise your 1st amendment right to FREE SPEECH guaranteed to us by the Constitution of the United States. If you don’t speak out conditions will not change and change it must.

Letter to the Editor: ‘Good’ People Need to Become Engaged

on October 11, 2013 - 8:47am
TJ TAUB
Los Alamos

I’ve come to the very sad understanding that “news”, via almost every medium, is not what the 4th estate was charged to do in a democracy. NBC News Director Chuck Todd said it’s not his job to inform viewers when lies are told about an issue. If that’s the case, scarily, he’s a reporter/entertainer, not a journalist. 

Journalists bring facts to light and challenge what appear to be distortions and inaccuracies. Simply passing along “he said/she said” or ‘this side/that side’ without evaluation, is NOT JOURNALISM – it’s simply recording/echoing and it fails its critical

Tags: 

Letter to the Editor: Congress Needs to Act on Clean Continuing Resolution to Fund Government

on October 9, 2013 - 8:22am

By Ben Ray Luján
Member of Congress


I want to thank Mr. Redman for his letter concerning the need to take action to end the government shutdown. I could not agree more that Congress needs to act on a clean continuing resolution to fund the government. It is long past time that the House of Representatives votes on such a measure.

Letter to the Editor: Thank You Note to Community

on October 9, 2013 - 8:12am
By BARBARA BLAIR
Los Alamos Heart Council

The 28th annual Los Alamos Heart Council Health Fair, held at Griffith Gymnasium Saturday, Sept. 28, was a tremendous success! We had close to 1,900 attendees. 

There were 63 exhibitors representing a wide range of health-related organizations from Los Alamos and surrounding communities. A total of 884 flu shots were given and 263 blood draws were done. Along with many other health screenings, 180 bike helmets were given out to Los Alamos and northern New Mexico children. 

The Health Fair is only possible with the support of many organizations, a

Tags: 

Letter to the Editor: Haiti Medical Mission Donations Needed

on October 9, 2013 - 8:08am
By CATHERINE FRY, RPh
Los Alamos

Dear Los Alamos Community,

In July of 2013, I participated in my first medical mission. I went to Cyvadier, Haiti as a pharmacist with Friends of the Children of Haiti ( www.fotcoh.org). 

For 10 days, we treated the illnesses of the Haitians from the surrounding areas. Each patient paid $1 US to be seen by a provider and receive medication for their acute or chronic illness. Some families also received a water filter, which is manufactured on the property by Haitians, so they could drink and bathe in clean water.  

This November I am returning to the

Tags: 

Letter to the Editor: Government Shutdown is Affecting Education

on October 4, 2013 - 10:56am
By LOWELL CHRISTENSEN
Los Alamos

I’m very concerned about the effect of the government shutdown on education. Some of us look back on school and remember our favorite teacher, but today’s youth will look back with fond memories of their favorite bureaucrats, who tragically today are not at work; they’re out on their boats.

For example, I recently asked young Rupert Johnson down the street, “Who has had the biggest impact on your education?” Without hesitation he thought of Mylford Peabody, acting-assistant-under-secretary-director of the Office-of-Thinking-Up-Stuff.

Letter to the Editor: Voice Opposition to Shutdown

on October 3, 2013 - 8:39am
By Rep. Stephanie Garcia Richard
Los Alamos
 
Whether or not you agree with the Affordable Care Act, the viability and sustainability of Los Alamos and LANL depend on a continuing resolution to be passed and a budget approved.
 
This issue is beyond partisan politics and threatens thousands of families in Los Alamos and the surrounding area. I am speaking with our federal delegation and urging them to continue to press their fellow members until Congress restarts the federal government. 
 
Los Alamos and our entire region depend on a predictable federal budget process, whether it be

Letter to the Editor: The Common Man

on October 3, 2013 - 7:17am
By LYNNE COMPTON
Los Alamos
 

 

The Common Man

When our government starts to fail

The Common Man gets to post its bail

He trucks food across country so we can eat

Gives shelter to soldiers to rest their feet

Makes sure that the children rest safe in their beds

Puts roofs for the elderly over their heads

Wouldn't it be a blessing if the ones we elect

Would give us back just a little respect

To see hoe we struggle from morning to night

Trying so hard to live our lives right

But it won't happen until the Common Man says enough

And the man he elects starts  to live rough

And

Tags: 

Letter to the Editor: Never Imagined Myself As An Extremist

on October 2, 2013 - 8:54am
By NANCY T. BELL
Los Alamos
 
In answer to Senator Udall I am disappointed that you would call me, someone you represent, an extremist. I have conversations frequently with folks with whom I disagree. I never talk to them in a disparaging way and they are always cordial to me. We respect each other's opinion.
 
Just to give you a little of my background, I am a Republican (though I'm not too thrilled with their conduct either.) I am 71 years old. I think federal government affairs should be conducted according to the Constitution.

Yang: I Like Brevity … Till I Need More

on September 30, 2013 - 8:19am
I Like Brevity … Till I Need More
By ELENA YANG

Pithy comments can be enlightening, useful, and often embed great wisdom. However, sometimes, their brevity leaves much to ponder over. Or, maybe that’s the purpose of pithy words; it provokes us to think more. 

While I cherish Robert Townsend’s “Up The Organization,” full of piercing observations of organizational nonsense and wise advise to counter it, I often want to parse some sentences for details on the how’s. It is difficult to address how’s in a pithy manner.

Letter to the Editor: Praise For Atomic City!

on September 26, 2013 - 8:58am
By DANA KLINE 
Los Alamos

We have the best bus system! This morning, I missed my connection to the middle school at 7 a.m., but the bus driver, Mick, arranged for the Dial-A-Ride to get me to work.  

I wasn’t even one minute late! You guys ROCK! I’ve been riding this bus system since its inception, and I have experienced only professionalism, responsibility and safety for all these years.

I’ve ridden public transportation in many big cities, and I hope we all know how fortunate we are to have such a wonderful system! Go Atomic City Transit!

  

Tags: 

Letter to the Editor: House Break-ins in Quemazon

on September 25, 2013 - 9:32am
BY DAVID RADEMACHER
Los Alamos

Doesn't Los Alamos County enforce Breaking & Entering Laws or does one have to post "No Trespassing" and "No Breaking & Entering"  signs to have a modicum of residential security? 

I know it must be frustrating for the police when the multiple felony, armed burglars only get probation. But is this the community that we want? Just asking.

 

Tags: 

Letter to the Editor: Shame on Michelle Lujan Grisham

on September 22, 2013 - 7:54am
By DAREN SAVAGE
Los Alamos

Shame on Rep. Michelle Lujan Grisham, D-N.M., a former resident of Los Alamos who joined all but two of the House Oversight and Government Reform Committee members in walking out before the parents of two of the victims killed in the Benghazi attacks testified.

Patricia Smith, the mother of Sean Smith and Charles Woods, the father of Ty Woods, spoke after the committee questioned the heads of the Benghazi Accountability Review Board (ARB) and the Independent Panel of Best Practices.

I urge all supporters of families of those who were killed in Benghazi to voice

Tags: 

Letter to the Editor: For Those of You Angry (pro or con) at this Whole Sordid UNM-LA Affair

on September 20, 2013 - 9:32am
By BILL SELLERS
Los Alamos

The origin of, and its guaranteed tax-seeking continuance, lays in the bad asset management policies of the Los Alamos County Council. 

UNM-LA is one of many assets. Others are pure “rent-seeking”, i.e. the airport: $50-60 million in commercial value, held for less than 75 individuals & their airplanes; the golf course: $60-75 million acreage value + a new $6 million taxpayer-funded “restaurant-community center”, held for a rapidly diminished golfcourse user-census, when we badly need decent starter home sites for younger residents, etc., etc.

IMHO, the key is

Tags: 

Pages


Advertisements