Skip directly to content

Opinion

Letter to the Editor: Saving the Organ Mountains

on December 28, 2013 - 9:58am
By HOLLY CAULDER
Tijeras, N.M.

I have been to many national parks in the United States and have seen the wildlife and beautiful landscapes they offer. If it weren’t for these places many plant and animal species would be endangered. For instance, the existence of Yellowstone National Park saves wolves, which then protects the circle of life in the park by keeping down elk and deer, which threaten aspen
trees.

The Organ Mountains-Desert Peaks in Las Cruces need to be protected as a national monument. Sen.

Tags: 

Letter to the Editor: Thanks to Crafters Who Helped Black Forest Survivors

on December 23, 2013 - 10:42am
Volunteers at Crosses for Losses receive hand crafter scarves, hats, gloves and mittens from northern New Mexico crafters. Courtesy photo
 
By TINA DERR
Los Alamos

On Dec. 16, I delivered around 583 hand knit and crocheted items created by residents of northern New Mexico to Crosses 4 Losses, the organization set up to aid survivors of the Black Forest Fire, which burned a large area near Colorado Springs this summer.

The items were a result of a drive I set up at local craft stores and other sites and through personal contacts.  

The day was beautiful and Amanda, her husband and son,

Tags: 

Letter to the Editor: The True Story of Rudolph

on December 23, 2013 - 8:46am
 
By Sue Dummer
Los Alamos
 
The True Story of Rudolph
Author unknown

A man named Bob May, depressed and brokenhearted, stared out his draughty apartment window into the chilling December night. His 4-year-old daughter Barbara sat on his lap quietly sobbing. Bob's wife, Evelyn, was dying of cancer. 

Little Barbara couldn't understand why her mommy could never come home. Barbara looked up into her dad's eyes and asked, "Why isn't Mommy just like everybody else's Mommy?" 

Bob's jaw tightened and his eyes welled with tears. Her question brought waves of grief, but also of anger.

Tags: 

Letter to the Editor: Time to Legalize Bigamy

on December 21, 2013 - 7:20am
By COREY NEW
Los Alamos

It's time to let bigamy be legal in the United States. Who are we to judge if three people want to get married? Or four, or five?

It's time for these bigamy bigots to get out of the way with their out-of-date moral standards, which are oppressing a free loving people who want the same rights as gay couples.

Tags: 

Letter to the Editor: Response to Josh Dolin Letter

on December 20, 2013 - 7:54pm
By JOHN GUSTAFSON
Los Alamos

Josh:

Thank you for your letter in the Los Alamos Daily Post, first for calling attention to this stellar moment when the state Supreme Court cemented a Lecommitment to equality and second for sharing your personal reasons for celebrating the moment.

Your letter created another moment that made me proud of my fellow New Mexicans.

Good on you!

Tags: 

Letter to the Editor: Thank You From Aspen Teachers

on December 20, 2013 - 10:53am

By Aspen Elementary School Teachers

We would like to thank Self Help, Inc., and all those who donated to the Teacher Gift Bags: Thelma Hahn, the Emily L. Bradley Memorial fund, Xi Nu Sorority, and Ruby K's Bagel Cafe. 

Every year brings challenges and opportunities. This year has been especially demanding with the full implementation of Common Core State Standards and the new teacher evaluation system. 

We also grieve with families with every tragedy that occurs. These are “our kids.” At Aspen, we have also (happily) had construction challenges.

It is very gratifying to feel appreciated

Letter to the Editor: Legion Riders Thank Wreaths Across America Event Contributors

on December 20, 2013 - 7:42am
SCOTT WILKINSON
Vice-President Chapter 19 American Legion Riders
Los Alamos WAA Chairperson

The Los Alamos American Legion Riders Chapter 19, of American Legion, Frank G. Franier, Post #90 would like to thank the Los Alamos community for making the inaugural Wreaths Across America ceremony at Guaje Pines Cemetery possible and a success.

In addition to the community in general, we would like to specifically thank the following for their assistance and support:

  • Individuals, families, and organizations who sponsored wreaths;
  • All who attended and participated in the ceremony;
  • Roxie Macarenas,
Tags: 

Letter to the Editor: Thanks to Everyone Who Made LAFC Holiday Fête a Success

on December 18, 2013 - 10:29am

Dancing to the Craig Martin Experience at the LAFC Holiday Fête. Photo by Bonnie J. Gordon/ladailypost.com

By LAFC Board of Directors

Los Alamos Family Council would like to thank all those who support the LAFC programs by attending the Holiday Fête on Saturday night. 

The Craig Martin Experience provided listening as well as dancing pleasure. The buffet tables were full of wonderful food prepared by Peggy Rustin with desserts from Ruby K’s, the Los Alamos Co+op Market and others. 

We want to thank the individuals and companies who provided items for the silent auction – many were

Tags: 

Letter to the Editor: Police and Firefighter Appreciation Dinner Means So Much

on December 16, 2013 - 9:39am

By DET. DANIEL ROBERTS
Los Alamos Police Department

Los Alamos is a great community. To be able to serve as a police officer or firefighter in Los Alamos, for me, is very rewarding. 

This past Saturday, my wife and I attended the annual appreciation dinner held in honor of the Los Alamos Police and Fire Departments. This event is hosted by members of the community every year as a way to show support and appreciation toward public servants.

The event, as always, was very well organized and had great food. There were treats and presents given to family members to show the Christmas Spirit.

Letter to the Editor: 'On the Backs of Our Teachers': Sophisticated Victimology

on December 16, 2013 - 6:55am
“On the Backs of Our Teachers”: Sophisticated Victimology
By WILLIAM T. SELLERS

I read this latest piece of sophisticated victimology, “Education 101: On the Backs of Our Teachers”, least of all because it seemed data-driven, until it wasn’t. But to its credit, a few innocuous, throw-away lines were included that hinted at a larger situation with regards to Los Alamos County. 

The seminal fact, that unlike other states, New Mexico refuses to allow local budget supplementation, was obscured.

Tags: 

Letter to the Editor: On Affordable Housing

on December 12, 2013 - 11:10am
By DAVID W. THOMSON
Los Alamos

Once again the topic of affordable housing in Los Alamos is in the air, evincing what to me is a basic ignorance of economics. The COST of housing is based on the cost of its economic inputs; that is, land, labor, materials, and capital. The PRICE of housing is established in an auction market between a willing buyer and a willing seller. As the run-up and collapse of the recent housing bubble illustrate, the two are only loosely linked.

A developer analyzes the local market and attempts to find the right combination of land, labor, materials, and capital to
Tags: 

Letter to the Editor: Coyote Forces Campus into Shelter-In-Place Mode

on December 10, 2013 - 10:02am

Tom Hill
Community Rep.
Pinon Advisory Team

Thanks for the picture of the limping coyote in White Rock. He and a more able bodied buddy, have been hanging out in the mornings for some time in the area. They seem pretty unfazed by humans when I've encountered them outside my home on the way to work.

These two guys have also been a nuisance at Pinon Elementary School. Several times the campus has been placed in the Shelter-In-Place mode because of their presence on the playground.

Efforts to have them displaced have met a lot of bureaucratic blind alleys. It's a real problem. 

As cute as

Kiwanis Club Thanks Those Who Helped with Breakfast With Santa

on December 10, 2013 - 7:51am
ANN HAYES AND CHERYL PONGRATZ
Los Alamos Kiwanis Breakfast Chairpersons

The Kiwanis Club of Los Alamos wishes to thank all those who helped to make last Saturday’s Breakfast with Santa successful.  

Special thanks go to Del Norte Credit Union for their continued support of our event. We are also appreciative of the many attendees who came to see Santa and to donate food to LA Cares and money for the Foster Children program at Christmas.

Thank you for reminding us that the Christmas spirit is alive and well in Los Alamos.

Tags: 

Letter to the Editor: Hiking Problems at VCNP Emphasize Need for NPS Management

on December 10, 2013 - 7:46am

BY TOM RIBE
Executive Director, Caldera Action
www.caldera-action.org


Recent events at the Valles Caldera National Preserve (VCNP) emphasize the urgency of having the National Park Service manage the VCNP as soon as possible. Senate Bill 285 is pending in Congress to bring NPS management to this national treasure as a Preserve. The longer the bill languishes in the low accomplishment Congress, the worse the situation at the Caldera becomes.

Caldera Action, a nonprofit organization focused on access and protection for the Valles Caldera National Preserve, was disappointed to learn that the

Tags: 

Letter to the Editor: About Depression and Suicide

on December 9, 2013 - 8:48pm
By Robin Norman (Lucido)
Los Alamos

In the aftermath of yet another adolescent suicide, I felt compelled to respond to some of the commentary I have heard throughout the community of Los Alamos regarding suicide, depression, and mental health.

It was 8 months ago that I lost my little brother to depression and suicide. The horror, sadness, and shock I have experienced over the past several months was amplified when I heard that another young person had died and another family shattered by the horrific illness that is depression.

Major depressive disorder is a complex and sinister disease

Tags: 

Letter to the Editor: As This Week Begins...

on December 9, 2013 - 12:30pm

By GEORGE MARSDEN
Assistant Director Los Alamos Teen Center

As we begin this week please keep in mind those who have been working so closely with the youth and families impacted by Tyler's death. We as a community need to take care of our caretakers. There is no way you can compensate someone enough for the heart rending task of comforting a teen who has just lost their best friend.

If you know one of the counselors, teachers, school administrators or volunteers who has been hands on with the teens take a moment to thank them.

Tags: 

Letter to the Editor: What Does an Arrest Mean?

on December 9, 2013 - 7:11am
WILLIAM WALLACE
Los Alamos

In a letter to the editor in the Los Alamos Daily Post on Nov. 16, 2013 Amanda Barry made the point that the practice of publicly shaming people accused of a crime is, “…an outdated, unjust and unfair practice…”

The Los Alamos Daily Post’s weekly Police Blotter includes a small disclaimer, “Neither arrests nor charges indicate a conviction, and neither means that a person is guilty of the charges filed against them.”

The individual featured in the Los Alamos Daily Post on Dec.6, 2013 under the headline, “Los Alamos Police Help Maryland Detectives Apprehend Man

Tags: 

Letter to the Editor: Public Access on the Valles Preserve

on December 9, 2013 - 7:07am

By DOROTHY HOARD
Los Alamos


Concerning public access policies and attitudes of staff and most board members of the Valles Caldera National Preserve, Greg Kendall’s Dec. 7 analysis is right on. The “Temporarily Closed” sign in your photo actually dates from 2001. 

The signs are installed almost within sight of each other on the entire 50-mile fence surrounding the preserve. The government spent $101 million dollars of public assets to purchase the land and $3 million to $7 million per year for management.

Tags: 

Letter to the Editor: Thank You for Supporting FOTCOH Clinic

on December 9, 2013 - 7:02am
People line up to visit the FOTCOH Clinic. Courtesy photo
 
A medical worker checks a baby at the FOTCOH clinic. Courtesy photo
 
CATHERINE FRY
Los Alamos

Thank you for supporting  myself, Tina Derr and our November team at the Friends of the Children of Haiti (FOTCOH) Clinic with your prayers. Thank you also for your support of donations of band aids, selenium sulfide shampoo, baby wipes, small disposable diapers, sanitary napkins, hand sanitizer and monetary donations towards the purchase of soap locally in Haiti. 

Our clinic served more than 2,100 medical patients, more than 270

Tags: 

Letter to the Editor: Snow Removal Issue

on December 8, 2013 - 9:21am

By DEBBI MILLER
Los Alamos


I read the letter from the county reminding people to shovel their sidewalks. What about reminding the county that many of us do shovel, only to have the county come blasting down the streets and throwing snow (twice as much and about five times as heavy) back on the sidewalk?

We try very hard to keep the sidewalks clear. We live on a curvy hill, and the plows come down fast and furious and make the situation worse for those of us who do shovel ... even when we wait until it has stopped snowing, as the county suggests. 

I would like to remind the county to be aware

Tags: 

Letter to the Editor: Tyler Van Anne: some thoughts

on December 6, 2013 - 10:56am
Tyler Van Anne: some thoughts
By MIKE ADAMS
Los Alamos

Wednesday was just one of those days. You know, the kind that happen and you wonder, "Why?!" or "WTF?" It started out as sort of a bummer. I woke up late, had part of a cup of coffee, which is terrible, because I always need a whole cup or more. Then I went to work without breakfast, so I had a combination of chex-mix, and salted nuts, which got me through till lunch. But the work was piled high, so I worked through lunch, left a little late and raced home for an appointment. It was then that I found out the bad news.

Tags: 

Letter to the Editor: Let's Quit Using Plastic Bags

on December 6, 2013 - 7:53am
By FRAN STOVAL
Los Alamos

I joined a group named the Female Brainpower Initiative (FBI) that meets on the second Tuesday of each month, from 10:30 a.m.-12:30 p.m. at the Betty Ehart Senior Center in Los Alamos. Our goal is to bring women together to brain-storm ideas of improvements we would like to see. The issues can be person or world changing.

I had just watched a documentary on TV called "Bag it" by Jeb Berrier. Jeb has made a pledge to stop using plastic bags at the grocery store. I took this idea to the group and after brainstorming; we came up with many ways to address this. 

Tags: 

Letter to the Editor: Utilities: More to the Story

on December 3, 2013 - 8:42am
By KEN MILDER
Los Alamos
Former County Councilor

Members of the Charter Review Committee (CRC) are giving seemingly compelling arguments for modifying Article V of the County Charter. There is, however, another side to the story. The changes proposed by the CRC are not "benign recommendations" but are rather extensive, often confusing, modifications that strike at the heart of the original intent of the Charter: Operate the Department of Public Utilities (DPU) as a business absent of political self interests.

The actions of the Board of Public Utilities (BPU) are being painted as

Letter to the Editor: Pepper Spray Repels Coyotes

on December 2, 2013 - 10:52am
By DEBBIE MORLEY
Los Alamos

Keep yourselves and pets safe. Pepper spray works against coyotes! Get ready to spray, hold your own breath, close your eyes and turn your head away. Give a good blast to the attackers eyes or face if possible.

This works on most wild animals, except snakes or birds. (Your own pet will recover from the spray, but it does hurt for a while. But it beats being bitten or dragged off.)

Maybe we need to sew armor plating into dog sweaters??

Letter to the Editor: Coyotes Attacked Our Pets

on December 2, 2013 - 7:06am
By TINA DERR
Los Alamos

My friend and I walked my three dogs on the road to the Bayo Canyon sewer plant that starts at the bottom of the Hill road Sunday. We turned around before the steep drop in the canyon to avoid the coyote that I have seen there in the past.

However, at least three coyotes had different plans, following us back toward the truck they attacked two of my dogs. Fortunately for my Jack Russell, she had on a knitted jacket and the coyote did not get a solid grip on her or she would be gone. Lacy has superficial wounds.

My friend and I chased and threw rocks and eventually

Pages


Advertisements