Skip directly to content

Opinion

The March For Life And The Anti-Trump Women’s March: A Study In Contrasts

on January 29, 2017 - 11:33am
Scene from Friday's 44th annual March for Life in Washington, D.C. Courtesy/townhall.com
 
By MICHAEL BROWN
Townhall Columnist
 
I’m writing this article on the eve of the 44th annual March for Life, but I can tell you in advance how it will differ dramatically from the recent Women’s March, organized in protest of the inauguration of President Trump.

First, the media coverage of the events will be totally different.

Whereas the Women’s March was in the mainstream media’s spotlight, the March for Life will be a mere footnote for most mainstream outlets, regardless of how many people

Chapman: Thoughts On Cicero’s 'On Duties' With Reflections On The Events Of The Past 12 Months

on January 29, 2017 - 7:59am
By RALPH E. CHAPMAN
Los Alamos
Original parts ©Ralph E. Chapman 2017
 
“Lately it occurs to me what a long, strange trip it's been.”  From the song “Truckin” by The Grateful Dead, 1970; written by Jerome J. Garcia, Philip Lesh, Robert C. Hunter, Robert Hall Weir
 
That quote from The Grateful Dead is very relevant to today, probably as much, or even more so, than the time when it was written. It was also a time of great turmoil.
 
As I’ve stated a few times here on the Los Alamos Daily Post, I keep my political views close and seldom, if ever, speak publicly about them.

Doomsday Clock Slips Toward The Brink – An Analysis

on January 28, 2017 - 11:26pm
By ROGER SNODGRASS
Los Alamos Daily Post

A vital tradition with global significance transpired this week, when a new time was posted for the Doomsday Clock under the guidance of the Bulletin of the Atomic Scientists, a magazine of science and public affairs founded by Manhattan Project scientists in 1945.

The timekeeping ritual began in

Letter To The Editor: Apologies To LA Drivers

on January 28, 2017 - 8:17am
By TERRY GOLDMAN
Los Alamos

To the driver of the car that I pulled out in front of without accelerating hard and who honked: This being New Mexico,  I should have known that you were going straight through  the intersection despite your signaling a right turn into the street that I was leaving,  -- New Mexico drivers have little concept of what a turn signal is for, and I should not have expected yours flashing to mean anything helpful.

To the driver of the car following me too closely on Diamond:  I did not slam on the brakes to force you to zoom around me on my right.

Letter To The Editor: Why I Am Voting For Stephen Boerigter – District 2 School Board (Chamisa)

on January 27, 2017 - 2:29pm
By a Concerned Citizen
Los Alamos

For the last four years, Matt Williams has served as the School Board member for District 2 (Chamisa District). During this time, Matt has gone the extra mile and been an advocate for the schools. I am grateful for the service he has given.

At this point, District 2 has two candidates to fill his shoes: Stephen Boerigter and Darryl Sugar. While I do not know either candidate on a personal level, I know enough to make a clear choice.

Mr. Boerigter has been on the UNM-LA Advisory Board for many years and is well respected by those who know him.

Letter To The Editor: Higher Education

on January 27, 2017 - 1:32pm
By DAVID SUTTON, candidate
UNM-LA Advisory Board Member
 
It’s very simple. To me, there is no greater achievement for our young people than to pursue higher education.
 
Higher education helps those wanting to improve their lives and their situations, which is the surest path toward establishing a good career and stability. Northern New Mexico students, from Los Alamos, the surrounding Pueblos and the Valley, need and deserve a local, affordable school that can help them achieve their educational and economic goals.
 
I have been on the University of New Mexico-Los Alamos Advisory

Letter To The Editor: A Nod To Jim Hall

on January 26, 2017 - 4:36pm
By BILL WADT
Los Alamos

Voters in the Piñon district have a choice that one wishes every voter would always have, namely, two excellent candidates. I have had the pleasure to work with Jim Hall and Ellen Ben-Naim. They are both dedicated public servants who care deeply about our students, teachers, and schools.

If I were eligible to vote, I’d give my nod to Jim Hall.

Boerigter: Why I’m Running For LAPS Board

on January 26, 2017 - 3:55pm

By STEPHEN BOERIGTER
Los Alamos

I am excited about to the opportunity to serve my community on the Los Alamos Public School Board for District 2. Our schools in Los Alamos are a strong attractor for new Laboratory employees, retirees and others who come to Los Alamos. We value education in Los Alamos and we want to continue strengthening our schools.

I believe that I’m well-qualified to serve on the LAPS Board. I have a long history of Board leadership for non-profit institutions and other organizations.

Letter To The Editor: Thank You Thank You Thank You

on January 26, 2017 - 8:19am
By JAMES ROBINSON
Candidate, UNM-LA Advisory Board
Position 5

I would like to thank the citizens of Los Alamos for coming out in fantastic numbers to pledge their support for education.

The votes they casted in this election are not just a voice of support, but a dollar investment in the institutions that make a better community.

It seems just like yesterday that I accepted the invitation to help UNM-LA with the Mil Levy campaign by serving as chairman of Education Drives Discovery.

Letter To The Editor: SR4 Safety Issues

on January 25, 2017 - 10:19am
By Los Alamos Taxpayer
 
I read the column written by Mr. Harry Burgess for last Thursday’s Los Alamos Daily Post about the Safety issues of State Road 4. 
 
This is the only neglected road within a 40-mile radius of Los Alamos. Everyone, including Los Alamos County officials, ignore it although the primary users of this road are residents of White Rock (LA County taxpayers) and Laboratory personnel whose employer pays a ton of taxes to Los Alamos County. 
 
I agree with the observations made by Mr. Burgess.

Letter To The Editor: Mil Levy Congrats

on January 25, 2017 - 9:28am
By SHEILA K. SCHIFERL, candidate
UNM-LA Advisory Board Position 5

Thanks to the press - notably the Los Alamos Daily Post, for getting the word out on the mil levy. 

This made a decisive difference between now and the last time.

 

Letter To The Editor: Still Feeling Hurt And Resentful ...

on January 24, 2017 - 8:46am
DIANE L. SMITH
Los Alamos

I am always amazed and humbled by the outpouring from the community when someone needs help or loses a loved one. Donations and flowers abound!

Two years ago, my grandson died. He was not born yet, but he was full term. This was the most traumatic and devastating experience of mine, my daughter’s and my son in law’s life.

Apparently, since this child was not born yet, people thought this should be swept under the rug like a dirty little secret. Because of this perception, I did not receive anything from the people around me whom I thought cared about me.

To this

Tags: 

Letter To The Editor: Thank You Jackie Goodfellow

on January 23, 2017 - 11:06am
Mountain Elementary School students Sophia Pakin and Sean Lo. Courtesy photo
 
By JENNIFER GUY
Los Alamos
 
The students and teachers at Mountain Elementary School would like to express their sincere gratitude to the family and friends of Jackie Goodfellow.
 
Jackie was the librarian at Mountain Elementary School for many years. When Jackie recently passed away, her family and friends made a very generous donation to the Mountain Elementary School library as a way to honor Jackie and pass on her love for reading.  
 
The library was able to purchase 93 new books for the students to

Letter To The Editor: Wildlife Issue

on January 22, 2017 - 12:14pm
By KAREN J. SIMES
Las Cruces
 
I grew up in Los Alamos. The Wildlife was there before we were. We are encroaching on their space. Just saying.

Letter To The Editor: Inaugurations And Power ... Let Us All Take This Day To Be Thankful For Our Nation And Government

on January 20, 2017 - 8:29pm

By JAMES ROBINSON
Chairman, Republican Party of Los Alamos

Today, Jan. 20, we all got to witness the transition of power without an apparent heir, a war, murder or violence.

Emotions have run very high since the start of this presidential contest, and they will continue to be high, but that is the nature of our republic.

What we witnessed today was one leader with IMMENSE power graciously hand over that power to a citizen who spent over a year challenging his authority and platform.

Letter To The Editor: Unanswered Questions

on January 19, 2017 - 8:16pm

BY GERRY WIGGINS
Los Alamos

I appreciate the recent posts by school board member and candidate Mr. Jim Hall. It was a pleasure to read about his march for civil rights and management skills. However, I feel that Mr. Hall has left some very important questions unanswered.

I feel that schools are the heart of our community. An organization made up of teachers, children, parents, staff members, volunteers, all of us; all of us, with our diverse backgrounds, skill sets, abilities, working together to bestow the best upon the next generation. 

Unfortunately, I have found myself questioning the

Letter To The Editor: New Internet Service

on January 17, 2017 - 12:34pm
By ANDREW FRASER
Los Alamos
 
I write to recommend the AirFiber service introduced by LANET at the end of November last year.
 
In mid December we signed up for a premium plan that provides 100 megabits per second up and down and two static IP addresses. LANET owner Allan Saenz personally supervised the installation. My request for static IP addresses was not standard, but Allan responded promptly to my sequence of requests for help in getting it to work.

Here are some of capabilities we have now:
  • With the higher data rate, we can stream different movies to several rooms in our house

Letter To The Editor: Education Mil Levies Merit Support

on January 17, 2017 - 8:50am
By ROBERT GIBSON
Los Alamos

Tax proposals deserve very critical scrutiny. A tax should be for a legitimate valuable public purpose and should truly be for that purpose. There should be reasonable expectation the funds will be used well. And there should be no other reasonable alternative to further burdening citizens. Few tax proposals meet all those criteria.

The present proposals for a continued mil levy (property tax) to support LA Public Schools reconstruction bonds and an increase for operations at UNM-LA are rare instances that do satisfy those standards.

This community is based on

Letter To The Editor: UNM-LA Mil Levy - An Investment Now And For The Future

on January 17, 2017 - 7:45am
By Dr. Sheila Schiferl
Los Alamos

We moved here in 1977, and I took FORTRAN at the UNM branch. Later, our college poetry class included the town library director, a dean of instruction, several lab scientists and tech writers, and some retired community members. It also included a few "traditional" teenage college students, each with a spark that the rest of us tried to help grow.

What an amazing idea. Here is a school that has been integrating itself into the community, and vice versa, for decades. In the late 1990’s, X-Division encouraged its scientists to teach classes at UNM-LA.

Letter To The Editor: One Los Alamos Launches Diversity Week Drawing Contest

on January 16, 2017 - 8:09pm

By ONE LOS ALAMOS

Dear LAPS Teachers and Students,

Jan. 10, 2017, the Los Alamos Council declared the week of Jan. 15-21 Diversity Week. This event was sponsored by One Los Alamos, a group of people interested in promoting thoughtful, civil dialogue around our diversity of backgrounds, beliefs and identities in order to champion shared values and interests that can strengthen our community.

To kick-off the first year of celebrating Diversity Week, One Los Alamos is launching a drawing contest for all Los Alamos students grades K-12. We are having three age categories (grades K-4, 5-8, and

Peanuts Gang Grows Up Hard In First Rate Production Of 'Dog Sees God' At LALT's Performing Arts Center

on January 14, 2017 - 3:38pm

The friends party hard in 'Dog Sees God'. Photo by Larry Gibbons

CB (Stuart Rupprecht) ponders the death of his beloved Beagle. Photo by Larry Gibbons

 

Review by BONNIE J. GORDON
Los Alamos Daily Post

Los Alamos Little Theatre's "Dog Sees God: Confessions of a Teenage Blockhead" opened Friday at the Performing Arts Center. The play, written by Bert V. Royal presents the Peanuts gang from the comic strip during their teenage years. Sex, drugs and rock and roll have hit them hard and they aren’t ready. CB (guess who?) is at the center of the story.

Royal’s reimagining of these familiar

Letter To The Editor: Los Alamos Public Schools – Four Generations And Counting...

on January 13, 2017 - 7:11am

Ben-Naim: Why I’m Running For School Board

on January 13, 2017 - 7:04am
Ellen Ben-Naim, school board candidate for the Pinon District. Courtesy photo
 

By ELLEN BEN-NAIM
School Board Candidate, Pinon District

For the past 16 years, my family has benefited from our public schools and as a lifelong educator – I understand just how hard we must work in these tough financial times to keep our schools thriving.

We are fortunate to be represented by a teacher in the New Mexico State House, but it is time for our board to reflect our community’s commitment to education.

This December, I officially filed to run for the Los Alamos Public Schools Board in the Pinon

Letter To The Editor: I Have Never Been So Disappointed In Los Alamos

on January 12, 2017 - 5:02pm
By PAIGE RAMSEY
Los Alamos

I have never been so disappointed in Los Alamos as I am now. Dog Sees God is not a play about promoting bullying. This play brings insight into what high schoolers and even adults have to deal with when it comes to bullying.

It is a sad story of a boy who is coming to terms with who he is and how brutal high school can be.

As a cast member I am frustrated with mental health professionals in this town who are acting like we are “giving teenagers ideas”. The hard truth is that this type of bullying, drug use, rebellion, eating disorders, etc.

Hall: UNM-LA Is A True Treasure In Our Community

on January 12, 2017 - 7:30am
By MICHELLE HALL
UNM-LA Advisory Board

When the last time you paid 50 cents for a loaf of bread? For most of us, it was around 1980, the same year that our community voted for a 1 mil levy to launch our local college, UNM-LA. Today that same loaf of bread costs somewhere between $2-$5 depending on how fancy you get, but most people keep buying bread, because warm, fresh bread is nourishing of the body and fulfilling of our mind’s pleasure sensors.

Pages


Advertisements