Skip directly to content

Opinion

Letter To The Editor: A Fact Is A Fact And An ‘Alternative Fact’ Is At Least A Misrepresentation...

on March 21, 2017 - 1:22pm
By DENNIS LITTLE
Los Alamos
 
Mr. Visel, (letter)
 
Should I then assume that you gave no credibility to WikiLeaks with regard to all the supposed leaks of the DNC hacked emails? After all, they won't acknowledge who the "leaker" was although the director of the FBI has now stated the Russians used them to leak the information.
 
So far as whether the Main Stream Media is biased, you can believe as you so choose, but how is it that you think not only the US media but the INTERNATIONAL media is also biased?
Tags: 

Letter To The Editor: Anonymous Letters Lack Credibility

on March 21, 2017 - 11:22am
By ROBERT VISEL
Los Alamos

With respect to ““That” Concerned Citizen Again’s” letter that has “Exceptions” to my letter about Biased Media you have lost all credibility with your submission by not having the courage to have your real name posted alongside your letter (instead you use an alias) and so your words are meaningless.

Even though you are wrong on so many levels due to your own personal bias, your letter, as well as others that do the same, does not deserve a response because you are hiding behind this alias.

The Daily Post should change their Letter Writing policies to require

Tags: 

Letter To The Editor: Hold Press Accountable To Report Only Unbiased Truth

on March 20, 2017 - 9:08pm
By GREG WHITE
Los Alamos
 
What Freedom of the Press means and what people believe it means are two different things, and unfortunately for us the Founding Fathers were victims of a press run amok just as we are today.
 
Let’s start with what people believe it means and what it should mean which are the same. A press where news is real. Meaning the events actually happened.
Tags: 

Letter To The Editor: Variety Of Media Available At Local Libraries

on March 20, 2017 - 7:07am
By TIM LANGWORTHY
Los Alamos
 
As an individual, I applaud Richard Nebel and Terry Goldman for sharing their views concerning the media. I have always felt immense gratitude for the First Amendment’s provisions prohibiting Congress from making any law “abridging the freedom of speech, or of the press.”
 
Putting on my hat as a member of the County Library Board, I commend to our community the wide variety of media publications available online and in person at Mesa Public Library and the beautiful new White Rock Branch Library. 
 
Publications range from “The New York Times” to “The
Tags: 

Letter To The Editor: Quoting Tweets And So Much More...

on March 20, 2017 - 6:27am
By “That” Concerned Citizen Again
Los Alamos

Mr. Visel, I am glad that we agree on the importance of the First Amendment for this country. However, I take exceptions to some statements in your letter (link).

It is telling that you complain about biased reporting of exactly the same “mainstream” media, as our president. You could as well just have posted Mr. Trump's tweets. If this is your reliable source of news, than we already disagree here. His tweets for years have been proven (by facts) as rarely being truthful or respectful … but we have the First Amendment, so I guess this is ok.

Let us

Letter To The Editor: Leave Nonprofits Alone ... Bill 412 Is Double Taxation!

on March 18, 2017 - 8:13am
Lou Santoro
President
The Family YMCA Board of Directors

House Bill 412 calls for closing many exemption loopholes to address the budget crisis that our state faces. No doubt, there are many aspects of the Tax Reform Bill that need just that—reform. However, HB 412 also calls for eliminating the sales tax exemption for nonprofits—all nonprofits large, small, 501c3, churches etc., thus subjecting nonprofits to sales and gross receipts tax.

Under HB 412, nonprofits would need to collect and pay GRT on all contracts (local, state, federal), grants from foundations and United Way, fees from

Letter To The Editor: Re: Proposal For Workable Firearms Transfer Background Check Law

on March 17, 2017 - 8:44am
By BENJAMIN BACA
Los Alamos
 
In Mr. Spencer's letter to the editor, "Proposal for Workable Firearms Transfer Background Check Law," he suggests the following.  

"3. Therefore, the State of New Mexico should create the mechanism whereby any private party selling or transferring a gun can voluntarily obtain a free, instant background check through the State (perhaps the Dept.

Letter To The Editor: Gun Violence

on March 17, 2017 - 8:24am
By BARBARA MOHON
Santa Fe
 
We have a gun violence problem in New Mexico, and sensible gun policy could be a solution.
 
America's gun homicide rate is more than 25 times the average of other developed countries. An average of seven children and teens are killed with guns in the U.S. every day! The statistics are verifiable and numerous. In an effort to reduce gun violence in our community, I am a member of Moms Demand Action for Gun Sense in America.
 
The New Mexico legislature is currently considering legislation to require expanded background checks for gun sales in our state.

Letter To The Editor: Support Legislation To Require Background Checks For All Gun Sales

on March 17, 2017 - 7:56am
By NINA SAMMONS
Santa Fe
 
As a voter in Sen. Liz Stefanics’ district, I encourage my fellow residents to call our legislators to support legislation to require background checks for all gun sales.
 
The law requires sales from gun shows or the internet to include a background check on the buyer ensuring that guns don’t end up in the hands of criminals or those with a dangerous mental illness. Polling has shown that this policy is supported by 87 percent of New Mexicans and 84% of New Mexican gun owners.
 
Please contact your legislators and let them know you support background checks on

Freedom Of The Press ... Sunshine Week Editorial

on March 16, 2017 - 6:35am
By CHRIS WOOD, President
New Mexico Press Association

Recognizing that a representative government is dependent upon an informed electorate, the intent of the legislature in enacting the Inspection of Public Records Act is to ensure, and it is declared to be the public policy of this state, that all persons are entitled to the greatest possible information regarding the affairs of government and the official acts of public officers and employees.

Letter To The Editor: How Ironic ...

on March 15, 2017 - 4:52pm
By ANDREW DELOREY
Los Alamos
 
How ironic that the Los Alamos GOP chairman should write, “No matter what political party a citizen chooses to associate with, it should be their first and most precious duty to protect the republic.” (link)

We have a GOP president that likely has many undisclosed conflicts of interest regarding his domestic and international business relationships. He has assaulted the first amendment by threatening and excluding the media. The media is diverse and every president has adversaries; that is by design. He has assaulted the first amendment by discriminating based on

Letter To The Editor: Horse Stable Flap ... Far Too Often Newcomers Feel Need To Change Us

on March 15, 2017 - 4:35pm
By MICHAEL RAGSDALE
A 60-year Los Alamos resident

Once again, the battle of the stables emerges to the forefront of the news. Why does this remind me of the individual who finds a good deal on a piece of property that happens to be located next to an airport. Only after moving onto the property do they discover that there is a plethora of airplanes flying over the house, whereupon they attempt to have the airport closed because of the noise.

A lack of planning on one person's part does not constitute an emergency for everyone else! It would seem that Ms.

Tags: 

Letter To The Editor: Concerns With County Financial Disclosure Forms And Public Access Procedures

on March 15, 2017 - 9:35am
By EDWARD BIRNBAUM
Los Alamos

The Feb. 3 issue of the Los Alamos Daily Post had a story (link), which caught my eye regarding the violation of the Code of Ethics in Hobbs as reported by State Auditor Tim Keller. Apparently, Hobbs public officials were not filing the required financial disclosures and perhaps more importantly, were not recusing themselves from voting on official business issues when their personal financial interests were involved.

Members of the County Council and the Board of Public Utilities here in Los Alamos are responsible for making decisions involving many millions of

Letter To The Editor: Proposal For Workable Firearms Transfer Background Check Law

on March 15, 2017 - 9:06am

By KHALIL SPENCER
Los Alamos

A couple of us have thought of a background check proposal that might accomplish most or all of what we really want but with far less acrimony. So here is an idea if this is to be revisited again and assuming for the moment that the present bills are not resurrected. I’ve stolen some ideas from a colleague (with thanks) but modified them with my own additions, so any rotten fruit should be thrown at me alone. Here would be the basis of the law.

1. It is of material and social benefit to society to verify that a person unknown to you is not a prohibited person

Letter To The Editor: Response To North Mesa Stables Complaint

on March 15, 2017 - 8:43am
By LAUREN GRIFFITH
Los Alamos

I have to completely agree with Joann Johnson (letter) about the objections made by Olga Chertkov (letter) regarding the North Mesa Stable area. I cannot help but think this is the ranting of someone who bought a house near the stables and now regrets it because they don’t like the smell.

The fact that Chertkov has demanded the stables be moved or closed down shows this person has one interest, and that is themselves. If Chertkov truly believed it was detrimental to the environment, why suggest it be moved as one of the options?

Tags: 

Letter To The Editor: Significant Soil Contamination At Los Alamos Horse Stables

on March 15, 2017 - 5:40am
By OLGA CHERTKOV
Los Alamos

I have read the letter to the Los Alamos Daily Post from JoAnn Johnson, “North Mesa Stable Area Objections Are Much Ado About Nothing!”, and I see that she does not care at all about opinion of other citizens of Los Alamos, her ignorance looks like this:

... You should be happy to live next to my horse … She was there first … you have no choice … waste of time and resources … There will be no changes… .

Her argument that in the 1960’s the horse stables were considered free from contaminations holds no merit today, 50 years later.

Letter To The Editor: Insistence That Only Bias Motivates Media Does Not Assist In Search For 'True Facts'

on March 13, 2017 - 9:27am

BY TERRY GOLDMAN
Los Alamos
 
While I certainly agree Mr. Nebel (link) that the media take their own slant, in general, for their own purposes (sales), on issues they report, I find it curious that in his review of newspaper history he does not mention the New York Times, which was formed with the stated goal of being as accurate and complete as possible, in response to the so called yellow journalism of the time, to which he does refer.
 
Of course, one is free to disagree on how well this has been done, both initially and over time, but the insistence that only bias motivates the various media
Tags: 

Letter To The Editor: North Mesa Stable Area Objections Are Much Ado About Nothing!

on March 13, 2017 - 8:42am
By JoAnn Johnson
Longtime stable owner
Los Alamos

I believe that Olga Chertkov’s objections about the North Mesa Stable Area made March 9 to the Parks and Recreation Board are like reinventing the wheel.

My family had horses on North Mesa for 36 years. In the late 1960s and early 1970s, the same objections about flies, manure, overall appearance of the area and noise at rodeo time were made by Barranca Mesa residents whose houses are directly across the Canyon from the stables. And yes, the proposal was made to relocate the stables to Rendija Canyon.

Letter To The Editor: Slanted Press Is Nothing New

on March 13, 2017 - 7:51am
By RICHARD NEBEL
Los Alamos 

This is in response to letters from Ms. Dolejsi (link), Ms. Remillieux (link) and Mr. Visel (link) about “Freedom of the Press”.

One thing that Mr. Visel states in his letter is that “No one can trust CNN or the mainstream media anymore”. The part I take issue with is the “anymore” part of the statement. The press has always been slanted.

Many of the newspapers that were founded in the 19th Century were founded and owned by the political parties. For instance, the Chicago Tribune was founded by the Republican party.

Letter To The Editor: Background Checks Needed For All Gun Sales

on March 13, 2017 - 7:20am
By CATHY WEBER
Los Alamos
 

I am writing because I support  requiring background checks for all gun sales. As a mom and member of Moms Demand Action, I know gun safety is good for kids and families.

 

Right now, the New Mexico legislature is considering bills that would expand criminal background checks for gun sales to include purchases from unlicensed sellers over the Internet and at gun shows. The background check bill would close the dangerous unlicensed sale loophole and make it harder for criminals to buy guns from strangers in unlicensed sales at gun shows.

 

Weak gun laws

Letter To The Editor: If You Really Want A Background Check Bill Passed ... Tell ‘Moms’ And ‘Everytown’ To Sit Down, Shut Up, And Listen

on March 12, 2017 - 10:17am
By KHALIL J. SPENCER
Los Alamos
 
I wasn’t sure whether to laugh or cry when I read the latest pro “background check” letter (by Amber Espinosa-Trujillo) in what seems to be an orchestrated letter writing campaign by Everytown for Gun Safety/Moms Demand Action.

Indeed, it has probably been the tone-deafness and intransigence of that group (both “Everytown” and “Moms” are names for “Astroturf” organizations supported by New York City billionaire Michael Bloomberg) that have stood in the way of a background bill passing out of the legislature.

The out of state lobbyists and their supporters,

Letter To The Editor: Strip ’Em To Their Skivvies And Light One Off!

on March 12, 2017 - 9:19am
By Dr. T. DOUGLAS REILLY
Los Alamos
 

Back in the 1970's, Harold Agnew,* third director of Los Alamos Scientific Laboratory (LASL), presented a Director's Colloquium to explain his congressional testimony regarding a proposed Comprehensive Test Ban Treaty (CTBT). He feared the world's leaders would soon forget the destructive power of nuclear weapons, so he proposed the following:

“Every five or so years, gather the world’s leaders on an uninhabited island in the South Pacific, ‘strip ’em to their skivvies,’ and ‘Light one off!’ First they’d be blinded 10 or more seconds by the light, then

Letter To The Editor: Internet And Gun Show Sales

on March 12, 2017 - 8:54am

AFTNM On Senate Passage Of House Bill 2

on March 12, 2017 - 8:28am

Letter To The Editor: Response To ‘Freedom Of The Press’

on March 12, 2017 - 7:25am
By STEPHANIE REMILLIEUX
Los Alamos

First, I would like to thank the author of the letter to the editor: “Need for freedom of the Press” (link) for bringing that subject up, and let her know that I agree with her on most of her writing, if we try and dive deeper into the sewer that this whole situation has become.

Before getting to the heart of the topic, I would like to quickly address my skepticism on the fast transitioning from a local standpoint to a global generalization. The author’s personal experience with a local newspaper seems hardly transposable to how the mass media works.

Tags: 

Pages


Advertisements