Skip directly to content

Opinion

Letter To The Editor: Syria

on April 12, 2017 - 7:35am
By DOUG REILLY
Los Alamos
 
The recent chemical attack (ID'ed as Sarin gas) is horrific, to be sure, whoever has done it. WAR IS HORRIFIC! When we respond to killing by killing more people, we only guarantee there will be further killing.
 
President Assad, in my opinion, has done exactly what the USA would do if faced with another civil war, i.e. fight the rebels.
 
In addition, the USA’s actions have been responsible for prolonging the dying and suffering of the Syrian people, and the millions of refugees from Syria and other states in the middle east.

Letter To The Editor: Respect, Justice And Compassion Is The American Way

on April 12, 2017 - 6:50am
By KATE GARDUNO-KING
Los Alamos

Treating all people with respect, justice and compassion seems like something we can all agree on, doesn’t it? I was surprised to find this statement being treated as controversial as I watched the April 4 County Council meeting.

Councilor Pete Sheehey proposed a resolution stating that “we support and observe the fundamental American value that all people, including immigrants and refugees, should be treated with respect, justice and compassion.” This sounds simple enough.

Letter To The Editor: Exercising Eminent Domain

on April 11, 2017 - 10:23am
By GERALD ANTOS
Los Alamos
 
Are you kidding me? Using eminent domain for a roundabout that the people of Los Alamos do not want or need is by far and away one of stupidest things our County Government will ever do!
 
I guess it's ok for a bunch of our spendthrift county councilors to do what they damn well please in spite of the total inconvenience it will cause the people of Los Alamos.
 
I personally believe that our council should put this kind of inconvenience up to a public vote that requires a 75 percent approval of citizenry of Los Alamos before they throw money at a problem

Letter To The Editor: Show Me A Legal Immigrant Who Has Not Been Vetted

on April 11, 2017 - 8:17am
By That Concerned Citizen
Los Alamos

Reply to Martha Jones (link) and Dave Jones (link), thank you to both of you for some historical background on US immigration laws. That was definitely interesting for me as an immigrant that learned US history later in life. Some rules are puzzling for me in the context of modern history and that they have been applied in the past, does not make them right. It should rather be a lesson for a better future.

I do not feel knowledgeable enough to talk about the discussions in the Los Alamos County Council meeting but want to point out that bigger cities

Letter To The Editor: Don't Call Police For Pizza

on April 10, 2017 - 4:54pm
By GLENN MICHEL
Los Alamos

I too attended the Los Alamos County Council meeting Tuesday. I too heard Councilor Tony Maggiore state that the council has previously strayed beyond their purview. I am of two minds about this. 

On the one hand it might be better for the county if drafting ineffective and irrelevant resolutions, and then pontificating about them for hours was ALL the county council did. On the other hand perhaps the county would actually benefit if the county council stuck to county business. One can argue either side of this.

People, the county council is not a platform for

Letter To The Editor: Council Meeting Thoughts

on April 10, 2017 - 2:26pm
By DAVE JONES
Los Alamos
 
I attended the Los Alamos County Council meeting Tuesday night to support President Trump’s temporary immigration ban and to oppose the proposed resolution relating to immigration.
 
Here are a few of my takeaway thoughts from that meeting:
 
Councilor Antonio Maggiore stated that, because the Council went beyond their purview many times and have gotten away with it, they could continue doing so. That’s not my opinion. What that tells me is that we need to watch the Council more closely and prevent them from going beyond their purview in the first place.
 

Letter To The Editor: There Will Be A Time For Compassion But For Now Immigrants Must Be Vetted

on April 10, 2017 - 8:31am

By MARTHA JONES
Los Alamos

After reading the proposed resolution constructed by Los Alamos County Councilor Pete Sheehey, and agreed upon by Council Chair David Izraelevitz, I too am voicing my opinion.

The history of immigration in our country has had different issues to take into consideration over the past two centuries. Our government has had to implement various policies and procedures about immigration to fit our needs. From the very early days in 1875 restrictions and policies barred convicts and prostitutes from entering.

Letter To The Editor: Budget Time, Los Alamos ... Let's Not Go Down A Rabbit Hole

on April 10, 2017 - 7:56am
By GEORGE CHANDLER
Los Alamos

Budget time, Los Alamos! Once more down the rabbit hole. 

Our Sheriff is the wabbit, leading us on. Even though the voters last fall simply chose to keep the office as it was then (register sex offenders, wear the Hat), he now approaches the council announcing that the result was a mandate to expand the office so he can provide unspecified “services” to the tune of $348,118 (link).

Now we see the end game: TOYS! A $65,000 ¾ ton truck with a gooseneck hitch for transporting HORSES – to scenes!

Letter To The Editor: Governor's Glowing Picture Of Education At Odds With Data

on April 9, 2017 - 4:27pm
By J. TAUB
Los Alamos

What a glowing picture of education in New Mexico as presented by Governor Martinez in her April 2 announcement of changes to the teacher evaluation system - what many teachers feel is a tiny step in the right direction to simply superficial. 

Reading on through her missive, what should I believe - the Governor’s rosy picture of public education in New Mexico, or various education review evaluations that appear annually? For instance, the one reported on by Kim Burgess, Jan. 4, 2017, Albuquerque Journal Staff Writer, Study: NM ranks 49th in quality of education

Letter To The Editor: Consider This Solution...

on April 9, 2017 - 6:46am
By PATRICK BRENNER
Los Alamos

The proposed amendment to eliminate the Office of Sheriff failed. Rather than continue breeding contempt between the Council, the Sheriff and the Police Department, I invite you to consider an alternative solution.

Rather than amending the County Charter to remove the Sheriff or remove the Chief of Police, why not amend the wording involving duplication of duties? Redefine the duties as shared responsibilities. Everything that the Police do, the Sheriff is equally responsible for. Everything the Sheriff does, the Police are equally responsible for.

Sen. Sanchez On Veto Of Bill To Raise Minimum Wage

on April 7, 2017 - 9:51am
Sen. Clemente Sanchez
 
By Sen. CLEMENTE SANCHEZ
Cibola, Socorro, McKinley and Valencia
 

In the late hours of the night, Gov. Susana Martinez vetoed Sen. Clemente Sanchez’s Senate Bill 386, which would have raised the state’s minimum wage to $9 per hour. Throughout the legislative process, the bill received broad support from labor unions and business groups alike with representatives from AFSCME Council 18 and the Albuquerque Chamber of Commerce standing in support.

“This session the business and labor communities came together to support a modest raise for families who too often

Letter To The Editor: Sheriff Seeks To Build Empire

on April 7, 2017 - 9:15am
By CORNELL WRIGHT
Los Alamos
 
Sheriff Marco Lucero proposes to increase his office's budget to $348,118, up from a 2017 budget of $85,411. That's an increase of four times.
 
This is empire building, plain and simple. I wonder if Los Alamos County residents would have voted to retain the Sheriff's office if they knew this increase would be the outcome.

Letter To The Editor: Zero = A Lot? PAC Math

on April 6, 2017 - 9:39am
By DAVID NORTH
Los Aamos
 
If "a lot of these projects are going to be self-sufficient" as claimed by a board member of the PAC pushing the rec bond, why do consultants to the County say all five will lose money?

That "self-sufficient" quote appeared in a March 23 front-page Los Alamos Daily Post article. Anticipated annual costs include $546,210 for the rec center, $298,376 for the leisure pool, $37,432 for the splashpad, and $60,695 for the baseball fields. That's a tidy $942,713 total.

The losses will have to be covered by the County every year for as long as the facilities exist.

Letter To The Editor: Grateful To Smith’s Employees

on April 6, 2017 - 9:03am
By Grateful Los Alamos Resident
 
I'd like to thank the person or persons at Smith’s who have kept the mobility carts for handicapped use fully charged and ready for use in the last six months or so.
 
In the past, most, if not all, of these carts were not available for use because of fully discharged batteries. No one would plug them in. Sometimes all 12 carts were not usable and I had to go back home without shopping and try again the next day.
 
So thanks again to every Smith’s employee who has been helping all of us who need the carts for shopping.

Letter To The Editor: Immigrant Is Not A Bad Word

on April 6, 2017 - 7:51am
By That Concerned Citizen
Los Alamos
 
Dear Mr. Savage,
 
I am glad to see that you acknowledge the constitution and call human beings born in the US “citizens” (link).
 
In the present political climate in this country (including the present administration and immigration enforcement), there are areas where it is viewed differently. Way too often the news reports White Straight Americans (predominantly among those who voted for Mr. Trump) equate people who do not look “acceptable” to them to terrorists or illegal immigrants and are aggressive against them.

Letter To The Editor: Glad You're Sorry, But...

on April 4, 2017 - 11:45am
By TERRY GOLDMAN
Los Alamos
 
While I'm glad to see that Daren Savage is sorry, (link) (Sorry, that is the correct legal term for people who enter the United States without legal immigration documents), he still is making a common error: Nothing is definitely illegal until a judge (or jury) says so in a court of law.
 
Even 'undocumented' is an incorrect term, as those involved may well have some documents. Or they may qualify for refugee status. The only factually (independent of politically) correct term is 'unauthorized'.

Op-Ed: When Native Students Succeed, NM Thrives

on April 4, 2017 - 10:56am
By Rep. Stephanie Garcia Richard, D-Los Alamos
Chairwoman of the House Education Committee
and
Rep. Derrick J. Lente, D-Sandia Pueblo

 

When Native American students succeed, the state of New Mexico thrives. This principle was the driving force behind House Bill 484. House Bill 484 would have provided a mechanism for New Mexico’s Native American students to obtain the culturally relevant support they need to achieve academic success, helping to close the achievement gap and instilling the importance of education after high school.

 

But last week, Gov.

Letter To The Editor: So Let's Stop Hyperventilating

on April 4, 2017 - 6:49am
By KHALIL SPENCER
Los Alamos

I was out of town for a week but managed to read Pete Sheehey's proposed resolution (link) while sitting in a Washington, D.C. area hotel and thought it was interesting but not anything to set off anyone's blood pressure.

Therefore, I am a little amazed at the hyperbole in Mr. Antos (link) and Ms.Shin's (link) letters. Nothing in the resolution says anything about being a “sanctuary city” but it does reaffirm our commitment to treat everyone here with respect, justice, and compassion. So what exactly is wrong with that?

As far as Lisa Shin's comment regarding

Letter To The Editor: A Country Of Immigrants? Not So Quick!

on April 3, 2017 - 4:37pm
By DAREN SAVAGE
Los Alamos
 
I agree with Dr. Shin's letter (link) and Gerald Antos' letter (link) regarding offering sanctuary to illegal aliens (Sorry, that is the correct legal term for people who enter the United States without legal immigration documents) receiving illegal county benefits or protection.

I would also like to add that the United States is NOT a country of immigrants.
 
If your parents emigrated from another country, and having obtained their legal immigration documents, they would be immigrants. If you were born in the U.S., you are a citizen.
 
Most of the people
Tags: 

Letter To The Editor: Thank You Los Alamos!

on April 3, 2017 - 4:04pm
By FAMINE TO FEAST
Los Alamos
 
A special thank you to the Los Alamos community from Famine to Feast for your kind and giving ways.
 
We recently posted a story in the Los Alamos Daily Post about our partnering with another agency for an event in Espanola (http://www.ladailypost.com/content/famine-feast- partners-california- npo-compassion-through-action).
 
Needless to say Los Alamos out performed themselves with the donations that we collected. Multiple businesses and individuals donated making this event a huge success.

Letter To The Editor: Sanctuary City ... Los Alamos?

on April 3, 2017 - 11:29am
By GERALD M. ANTOS
Los Alamos
 
I absolutely agree with Dr. Shin (link) and would also like to add that this is a country of immigrants but ... sneaking into a country doesn’t make you an immigrant, just as breaking into a house doesn’t make you a homeowner. There is a really huge difference between legal and illegal.

Our constitution only covers the legal.

Go ahead and try and sneak into Mexico and try and receive their benefits like all the illegals are doing here in America. You'd find yourself behind bars so fast your head would spin!
 
Our County Government should keep their hands off of

Letter To The Editor: Pay Equity Makes ‘Cents’

on April 3, 2017 - 9:36am
By JUDY PRONO
Public Policy Chair
AAUW-Los Alamos 

Equity pay makes “cents” … that’s an understatement. In fact, for women in the workplace, pay equity would increase lifetime earnings by as much as $2 million for those with graduate degrees and by more than $1 million for those with undergraduate degrees.

That would mean more money to pay off student loans, put food on the table, and save for retirement. And pay equity isn’t just a women’s issue—it’s a family issue.

Letter To The Editor: Is Los Alamos A Sanctuary City?

on April 3, 2017 - 8:03am
By LISA SHIN
Los Alamos

Wikipedia defines a sanctuary city as one that permits residence by illegal immigrants to help them avoid deportation. Municipal policies include prohibiting law enforcement and city employees from questioning people about their immigration status. Mayors of sanctuary cities would certainly proclaim that “we are a nation of immigrants and refugees. It is our moral obligation to treat all people as we would be treated, with justice and compassion.”

Los Alamos County Councilor Pete Sheehey has assured us that his proposed resolution is “not about sanctuary cities or

Letter To The Editor: Thanks For Daffodil Drive Success!

on March 30, 2017 - 8:44am
By ROSEMARY COYNE, MSN, RN
Executive Director
Los Alamos Visiting Nursing Service

 

My name is Rosemary Coyne, MSN, RN. I am the executive director of the Los Alamos Visiting Nursing Service (LAVNS) Home Health and Hospice. I would like to take this opportunity to thank all of the people who made our 22nd Annual LAVNS Daffodil Drive such a success again this year. The funds we raise every year are used to help our hospice patients in need.

 

I have been here in Los Alamos just over a year, so this was my second opportunity to see the amazing work done by so many people.

Letter To The Editor: Response To Splash Pad Debate

on March 29, 2017 - 10:14am
By LAUREN GRIFFITH
Los Alamos
 
I wanted to respond with a different perspective to the Splash Pad project proposal than that of the letter recently sent in by Martha Jones (link).
  • While I do agree that as a taxpayer in town, it would be nice to have a say in how money is spent, I have to disagree with her assertions that this is a bad idea for the following reasons:
  • Cost - the grand total for this project is $720,000 with a $36,000 per year maintenance cost ($3,000 per month). When compared with the other projects the County is looking at, this is extremely low.
  • Ms.

Pages


Advertisements