Skip directly to content

Opinion

Letter To The Editor: A Better Way For LA Responds To 2017 Recreation Bond Election Results

on May 30, 2017 - 5:23pm

By A Better Way For LA
Lisa Shin, President
Lisa Brenner, Vice-President 
Patrick Brenner, Treasurer
 

The results of the Rec Bond vote speak to a community, which is both eager to invest in itself and concerned about its economic future. We understand the disappointment of the advocates for the Rec Bond. We applaud and commend their many hours spent on this project. We are grateful for their vibrant participation in the democratic process.

Now, we must work together to achieve a fiscally responsible and mutually beneficial end goal.

Letter To The Editor: No Language Mandating Expansion Of Sheriff’s Office In 2016 Election Question

on May 30, 2017 - 6:45am
By GEORGE CHANDLER
Los Alamos

County Councilor (Pete) Sheehey has prepared a resolution purporting to “settle the debate” about the Los Alamos County Sheriff. He writes that we must respond to the decision last year by voters to keep the vestigial Sheriff’s Office in our charter, by carving out law enforcement duties for the sheriff’s office, hiring and certifying deputies and staff, handing over the jail, and buying a pickup to pull the sheriff’s horse trailer to meetings of the Sheriff’s Association.

Oh, there is a slight oversight in the letter promoting his resolution: he apparently

Letter To The Editor: Memorial Day ... Let's Remember

on May 26, 2017 - 7:01am
By GREG WHITE
Los Alamos
 
This Memorial Day, like all past ones, I hope against all hope that people will do the right thing and spend the day in solemn remembrance and prayer for the millions of men and women (and for their families) who gave their lives for your freedom.
 
I'm not saying spend the day crying. Go to the beach. Have a cookout.
Tags: 

Letter To The Editor: Thank You Los Alamos ... I Will See You Around!

on May 26, 2017 - 5:04am
By JAMES ROBINSON
Los Alamos

Wow! What a couple days Los Alamos has experienced.

I want to first begin by thanking my fellow officers on the Republican Party of Los Alamos Executive Board. As stated in my resignation email, their hard work and diligence was uncanny and lead to great success.

James Chrobocinski was always willing to provide us with whatever we needed. Kelly Benner not only planned our events by herself, but also kept us all in line. Lisa Shin brought a new energy into the party from national campaign.

Letter To The Editor: Saddened We've Lost Two Valuable And Involved Members Of Our Community...

on May 25, 2017 - 4:17pm
By ROBYN SCHULTZ, Chair
Democratic Party of Los Alamos County
 
I was saddened to read that James Robinson and James Chrobocinski have stepped down from local Republican Party leadership. Saddened, because it appears that they were attacked for their efforts to improve Los Alamos.
 
While both men hold different views than I do on many issues, I recognize them as valuable and involved members of our community. I have long been impressed with James Robinson’s graciousness when he has run for office or applied for board positions.

Sheehey: Let’s Settle The Debate About The Role Of The Sheriff In Los Alamos

on May 24, 2017 - 7:33pm
By PETE SHEEHEY
Los Alamos County Councilor

There has been a long-standing debate about the role of the Sheriff in Los Alamos. The present Sheriff, Marco Lucero, was elected in 2010 and re-elected in 2014, stressing the importance of the Sheriff’s role in Los Alamos. County Councils, not including myself, have worked to minimize that role, drastically cutting his budget and ultimately calling an election last November to eliminate the office. After a contentious campaign, our citizens voted to keep an elected Sheriff.  

It’s time to settle this debate.

Letter To The Editor: Rec Bond Plea To County Council - Can't We Compromise?

on May 24, 2017 - 11:58am
By LAUREN GRIFFITH
Los Alamos

Following the recent recreation bond election outcome, I wondered if there is a possible compromise that we could look at. 

From discussions with and reading opinions by ‘no’ voters, it sounds like there were two main issues with the bond (I realize there were others, but these seemed to be the biggest):

a) it was ‘all or nothing’ and many of them might have been happy with some of the projects, but not all of them; and

b) it was going to increase property taxes, resulting in debt for us and future generations. 

I have to say, I wholeheartedly agree with the

Letter To The Editor: Walk/Drive Your YES Vote On Rec Bond To County Clerk's Office By 7 p.m. Today

on May 23, 2017 - 8:35am
By RAO GARIMELLA
Los Alamos

Today is the last day to vote on the Rec Bond. It's too late to mail it in but you can hand carry it to the County Clerk's Office.

There has been a healthy, vigorous debate on the issue but in the end I urge you to keep in mind the saying that “PERFECT IS THE ENEMY OF GOOD!” 

So I encourage you to vote YES or we will all be waiting for another decade before the community has the energy to organize such a campaign again.

Letter To The Editor: Let's Support The Amenities That Make Our Community Better For Everyone!

on May 22, 2017 - 6:51pm
By Andrea and Greg Cunningham
Los Alamos

As Recreation Bond ballots are due tomorrow, we want to remind everyone to get their ballots in and encourage you to vote “Yes” on the bond.

Those opposed to the bond seem to have two main arguments against it:

  • Need: they state there is not a need for the projects that are proposed; and
  • Cost: our taxes and the cost are too high.

We feel that both arguments are incorrect as we look to the future of our community.

Letter To The Editor: Walk Your Rec Ballot In Today Or Tomorrow ... And Please Vote Yes!

on May 22, 2017 - 11:42am
By KRISTIN HENDERSON, J.D.
Los Alamos

You can still vote on the Rec Bond if you walk your ballot in today or tomorrow. I am voting yes and i hope you do, too.

In a small town like ours, a Bond question can be won - or lost - by just one vote, or a small handful of votes. Your vote will make a difference.
 
You can turn your ballot in, in person at this point, at the Municipal Building at 10th & Central, on the 2nd floor, in the County Clerk’s Office. It has to be in the Clerk’s Office before 7 p.m. tomorrow, Tuesday.
 
While it’s true that property taxes would go up by about $18/

Letter To The Editor: Spelling & History

on May 22, 2017 - 7:22am
By GREG WHITE
Los Alamos
 
My apologize to Nancy Shick (link) for my poor spelling. Spelling never was a strong point of mine. Thank the Good Lord for spell check, which unfortunately failed me in that letter as it didn't distinguish between Britain the Country and Briton a citizen of Britain.
 
As for history, please look at "archives.gov" and Google "the Canada Act", "Louisiana Purchase", "Continental Congress" and educate yourself. No apology from you is expected or needed.

Letter To The Editor: Another Reason To Love LA

on May 21, 2017 - 5:58am
By JARET and JEN MCDONALD
Los Alamos

Thank you, Thank you, and Thank you to Los Alamos National Security for providing the LANL Employee Giving Campaign.

We received just shy by a couple of bucks to pay for an Android app for Famine to Feast.

To the individuals who individually donated ... you are amazing! If you didn't hear it before, THANKS!!!! You really are helping other people with your donations.

An Android app is on the way and will be available for download by Friday, May 26. www.faminetofeastnow.org.

The Unsung Hero

on May 20, 2017 - 9:17am
Unsung heroes can be found everywhere. Courtesy photo
 
By AMBER GRADY-FULLER
JudyGail's Place

The news is swarming with horrible stories about tragedies. We hear too often about shootings at community colleges or vehicles driving into crowds of people. These stories are heartbreaking. Those who witness these events also are impacted in profound ways. It is life altering to witness innocent lives suddenly changed by a senseless evil act.

While these tragedies are overwhelming, many stories of heroism also rise to the surface.

Letter To The Editor: Clarification Of Rec Bond Funding Options

on May 19, 2017 - 9:17am
By Edward Birnbaum
Los Alamos
 
I attended Tuesday’s “Lunch With A Leader” at Mesa Public Library in which the proponents and opponents of the $20 million Recreation Bond (deadline to vote: Tuesday, May 23) presented their arguments for and against and answered questions. My thanks to Karyl Ann Armbruster and the League of Women Voters for arranging this opportunity to hear from both sides.

Both sides seemed to agree that the improvements and new recreational facilities proposed would benefit many children and adults in the community.

Letter To The Editor: Rec Bond ... Facts Not Factions

on May 19, 2017 - 9:00am
By TOM TIERNEY
Los Alamos

I found it an interesting curiosity that Tony Fox and Darren Meadows accused me of Falsehoods without providing any factual counter-arguments. (link)

In my prior letter, I voiced my concern that the County’s proposed Recreation Center would probably result in small business failures because the County would be competing unfairly with existing small businesses. My expressed concerns were rooted in the City of Santa Fe data that shows numerous business closures occurred when the Genoveva Chavez Community Center was created.

My observations are based on the

Letter To The Editor: Thank You For Coverage

on May 18, 2017 - 4:13pm
By BRYAN BENNETT
Los Alamos

I just want to say, “Thank you” to George Morse of the Los Alamos Daily Post for the excellent article (link) on the LA Girls Track & Field team and their exciting second place finish at the State Meet.

Job well done, both to an amazing team and to Mr. Morse.

Letter To The Editor: Thank You Los Alamos County Council

on May 18, 2017 - 3:53pm
By JAMES ROBINSON
Los Alamos

On Tuesday, I got the privilege to once again participate in the selection of a new member for the Board of Public Utilities.

Although I was not selected I wanted to personally thank Chair Izraelevitz, Vice-Chair O'Leary, Councilor Chrobocinski, Councilor Sheehey, Councilor Reiss, Councilor Chandler, and Councilor Maggiore for their kind words and tough questions.

I especially like to thank Vice Chair O'Leary and Councilor Chrobocinski for voicing their support for my nomination during the first round of voting.

Letter To The Editor: Using One’s Vote On Rec Bond As Revenge For Unrelated Issue Is Not Rational

on May 17, 2017 - 3:24pm
By JANINE TULENKO
Los Alamos

 

I too found Patrick Brenner's email to County Councilors regarding the Rec Bond issue to be quite disturbing. I seldom feel the need to respond, and I do not know Patrick Brenner, but his verbal attack on County Councilors, etc. truly seemed like the rantings of a genuinely unstable individual. I am so relieved that he was not elected to County Council when he ran.
 
During my nearly 20 years in Los Alamos I have voted for County Councilors on both sides of the political aisle - so this comment is in no way a partisan issue, nor a reflection of my opinion

Letter To The Editor: Patrick Brenner's Toxic Email

on May 17, 2017 - 10:16am
By KHALIL SPENCER
Los Alamos
 
Wow. I read former Los Alamos County Council candidate Patrick Brenner's email to all seven councilors and immediately figured out why he never made it from council candidate to elected councilor.
 
Indeed, as Joyce Anderson stated, Mr. Brenner's hostile rhetoric is definitely NOT a better way for LA!

Khal “a less toxic rabble rouser in LA” Spencer.

Letter To The Editor: CIP And Bonding Process Flawed

on May 17, 2017 - 8:23am
By JIM REDMAN
Los Alamos
 
The way Councils spend the taxpayer's Capital Improvement Fund is flawed and the current bond process lays bare just about everything that is wrong with the CIP process.

Suggesting to softball players, golfers and others that unless they support the bond issue they won't get improvements is misleading. Associated with the bond is $13 million of CIP money, so money available for recreation.
 
Nominally we're supposed to consider that some sort of matching funds for the bond although it's all taxpayer money.

Letter To The Editor: In Appreciation Of The Post

on May 17, 2017 - 8:02am
By ROB BARAN
Los Alamos
 
I wanted to take a break from the lively debate to thank the editor of the Los Alamos Daily Post for posting all of these varied opinions in their unabridged, passionate entirety!

This is the first town I have ever seen where the Press is open and accessible, and so heavily relied on. I am glad to see such a healthy, vibrant, and civic forum.

You've been putting these opinion pieces up at your own cost, but it has been an invaluable service. Regardless of how the vote turns out, thank you for making ALL (pro and con) of our voices heard!

 

Letter To The Editor: Patrick Brenner Rant Clearly NOT A Better Way For LA

on May 16, 2017 - 6:35am
By JOYCE ANDERSON
Los Alamos
 
Over the last few weeks we've seen a healthy volley of letters to the editor in favor of, and opposed to the Rec Bond. For the most part the letters have been well thought out, well spoken and constructive in their approach to the issue. I think this is representative of Los Alamos as a whole. We discuss, we debate, but in the end, we're still nice to our neighbors that have a different opinion. It's what makes this community so great.
 
This is why the letter published Monday evening in the Los Alamos Daily Post from former Los Alamos County Council

Former County Council Candidate Berates Councilors

on May 15, 2017 - 7:51pm

Former County Council Candidate Patrick Brenner

POLITICAL News:

Former Los Alamos County Council Candidate Patrick Brenner sent a strongly worded email today to all seven sitting councilors. The Los Alamos Daily Post received a copy of the email and spoke with Brenner by telephone in an effort to understand what spurred him to send such an email. Following a lengthy conversation in which it remains unclear why he sent the email, Brenner requested that he be quoted in regard to the email as saying, “I stand by every word I said.”

Brenner's email to Councilors:

From: Patrick Brenner <

Letter To The Editor: Still Saying No To Rec Bond

on May 15, 2017 - 11:47am
By TOM HARRIS
Los Alamos
 
Many have weighed in with their opinions on the Recreation Bond Proposal since I published my last letter April 21. 
 
Until recently, most LA Daily Post letters on this topic have been authored by those strongly favoring the proposal. Only recently have we started to see contributions from those of us that oppose the bond proposal.
 
As alluded to in my earlier letter, it appears that those backing the recreational pool proposal which was soundly defeated several years ago have adopted a new strategy to achieve their goals.  
 
Specifically, a

Letter To The Editor: I Am Not Dead ... Who To Call?

on May 15, 2017 - 7:58am
By JIM GRIFFIN
Los Alamos
 
Around the first of the year those of us retired from LANL for some time received a communication asking us to prove we were alive. I filled out the paperwork, had it notorized at LANB and mailed it to the required address. I checked one of my bank statements and I received my pension and thought no more of it.
 
Today I checked my latest bank statement and no pension deposit. I presume I am dead.
 
If anyone can supply me with a phone number, address or information about whomever wanted us to prove we were part of the undead I would be very grateful.

Pages


Advertisements