Skip directly to content

Opinion

Letter To The Editor: Consider Voting For Rec Bond ... Small Tax Well Worth Enhancement To Quality Of Life

on May 7, 2017 - 9:49am
By Monica Van de Water
Los Alamos

Please read, and please have an open mind. Our family always says, “options are always better than no options”!

Even if you don’t care, or don’t like it, consider "VOTING YES” to the upcoming rec bond. There are many families in Los Alamos that do want these recreational facilities. We should support that desire and the excitement that it is generating.

When the seniors needed money for improving the senior center, many of us voted “YES”. How does that benefit me? I’m not a senior.

Letter To The Editor: Just Say No On Rec Bond

on May 7, 2017 - 6:01am
By KEI DAVIS
Los Alamos
 

Carolynn Roberts has said it best so far, IMO.

Does this tax hike apply to commercial properties as well? If so, then rents will go up, local businesses will have to charge more for their goods and services, thus driving more business away, so they'll have to charge even more, the all-too-common death spiral to going bankrupt/out of business in “wealthy” Los Alamos.

Just say “NO” to wanton fiscal irresponsibility.

Letter To The Editor: Come On Los Alamos ... Vote YES On Rec Bond!

on May 6, 2017 - 2:40pm
By HOPE JARAMILLO
Los Alamos
 
I have lived in Los Alamos almost my whole life. I went to elementary school, middle school and graduated from LAHS and am raising my children here.
 
Over the 35 years I have lived in this beautiful community, I have seen over and over proposed improvements to Los Alamos get rejected. Why is it so hard for our community to change? Look how long it took for the County Municipal Building to get approved.

Letter To The Editor: Idea For Retired LANL Scientists

on May 6, 2017 - 1:59pm
By RICHARD NEBEL, Ph. D
Los Alamos
 
This is in response to the recent “retired scientists” letter in the Post (link). First of all, let me disclose that I do have some skin in this game.
 
Our company is funded by the ARPA-E, which is the one part of the DOE that the Trump administration wants to eliminate completely. And obviously, I don’t agree with that.
 
My primary issue with the “retired scientists” letter is that I think they have misdiagnosed the problem. The problem isn’t that people are opposed to science.

Letter To The Editor: Voting Against Rec Bond

on May 5, 2017 - 3:57pm

By CAROLYNN ROBERTS
Los Alamos

I agree that Los Alamos, and especially White Rock, need recreational updating/upgrading and, as a property owner, I am willing to foot some of that bill but this $20,000,000 Recreation General Obligation Bond fills me with apprehension and I just can’t vote for it. This is my opinion, and you know what they say about opinions…

RISK

Los Alamos county property owners are taking on all of the risk; a risk that is not in our realm of control.

Letter To The Editor: It’s Not JUST A Golf Course...

on May 5, 2017 - 9:02am
By MARGOT LIBERTY, President
Los Alamos Golf Association

You might be surprised to learn that the Los Alamos Golf Course is not JUST a golf course. It’s more than that, it’s much more than that. A golf course is a gathering place. It’s a place where family, friends, co-workers, and acquaintances come together to socialize and enjoy the beauty that surrounds this wonderful town. It’s also a place where every year hundreds of adorable children come to find that one magical Easter egg among friends.

Letter To The Editor: Let’s Keep Los Alamos Tops In Recreation As Well As Science

on May 5, 2017 - 7:37am
By BETTY ANN GUNTHER
Los Alamos

Now that the Rec Bond is facing organized opposition (link) from people with money, it is more important than ever for those of us who want additional recreation venues in Los Alamos to vote to support the Rec Bond in the upcoming election.

People have wondered why Los Alamos has a declining population and what to do about it, and I suggest that having sufficient recreational facilities is an important way to stop this decline.

Los Alamos citizens have wondered why, as one of the wealthiest counties in the nation, we can't have a nice facility like Genoveva

Rosencrantz & Gildenstern Come Alive At LALT

on May 4, 2017 - 4:09pm
Guildenstern (Trisha Werner), left, and Rosencranz (Don Monteith) ponder the meaning  of life and death in ‘Rosencranz & Guildenstern are Dead.’ Photo by Larry Gibbons
 

By BONNIE J. GORDON
Los Alamos Daily Post

The Los Alamos Little Theatre’s rendition of the absurdist classic “Rosencrantz & Guildenstern Are Dead” opened April 28.

Director John Cullinon asks in the program notes if R&G is the funniest tragedy ever written, or perhaps the saddest comedy.That pretty much sums it up.

The 1966 play about two minor characters in Shakespeare’s “Hamlet” made Stoppard an overnight sensation.

Retired LANL Scientists: Attacks On Science, EPA Are Foolhardy, Dangerous

on May 4, 2017 - 10:11am

By retired LANL scientists: Chris Barnes, Ph.D.; Fairley Barnes, Ph.D.; James Bradbury, Ph.D.; James Cost, Ph.D.; Margaret Cox, Ph.D.; Larry Deaven, Ph.D.; Terry Foxx; Mikkel Johnson, Ph.D. and Laboratory Fellow; Charles F. (Chick) Keller, Ph.D.; Arvid S. Lundy; F.J. (Jeff) Martin; Caroline (Cas) Mason, Ph.D.; Rodney (Rod) Mason, Ph.D.; Donald A. Neeper, Ph.D.; Cheryl Rofer; Marvin VanDilla, Ph.D.; David Watkins, Ph.D. and Mike Williams, Ph.D.

On April 22, New Mexicans across the state stood up for scientific integrity in the face of attacks on the role of science in our daily lives.

That

Letter To The Editor: To Bond Or Not To Bond

on May 4, 2017 - 9:13am
By EDWARD BIRNBAUM
Los Alamos

I attended almost all of the public meetings that addressed the projects whose funding is a part of the $20 million bond issue now up for a vote. It was pretty obvious from attending these meetings that each project has a significant cadre of dedicated and passionate supporters.

Letter To The Editor: Just Say No To Rec Bond

on May 4, 2017 - 8:11am
By BILL GENTILE
Los Alamos
 
When looking at the controversial Los Alamos Proposed Recreational Bond Project, I believe it is important to focus on the two big-ticket items in the proposal: the recreational center and the multi-generational pool.
 
These two projects account for 81 percent of the construction costs and 94 percent of the projected annual operations/maintenance budget.
 
The recreational center has two major parts; the gym and the ice rink.

Recreation Bond Election: Questions & Answers

on May 3, 2017 - 2:52pm
Courtesy image
 
By Los Alamos Future PAC Executive Board:
James Chrobocinski, Tony Fox, Darren Meadows, Susan O’Leary

Over the past 18 months, we’ve worked with hundreds of people in our town to inform the decision making process that resulted in the upcoming bond election. We love Los Alamos and want to see it improve in ways that matter to the people who live here.

Letter To The Editor: Investing In Our Children And Paying It Forward For Future Generations

on May 3, 2017 - 2:51pm
By JENNY and DAVID MCCUMBER
Los Alamos

We received our ballots in yesterday’s mail and voted FOR the county recreation bond.

Los Alamos has been a great place to raise our sons. The Aquatic Center in particular significantly benefits our family.

We want to continue to invest in our children and current Los Alamos students and also pay it forward for future generations of children in our community.

Thank you Los Alamos.

Letter To The Editor: In Support Of The Rec Bond

on May 3, 2017 - 2:04pm
By JOYCE ANDERSON
Los Alamos
 
I am writing in support of the Rec Bond election, which starts today, (May 2). I encourage all Los Alamos voters to send their ballots in.
 
My husband and I have chosen to make Los Alamos our home and to raise our family here. We support the bond as an investment in the future of Los Alamos. So much of the time the mournful refrain of Los Alamos is that we need to clean things up and make Los Alamos attractive to new residents and tourists.
 
Instead of going off the Hill to spend our recreational dollars, we'd like to spend them in Los Alamos.

Letter To The Editor: Thank You County Council For Recognizing Donate Life Month

on May 3, 2017 - 1:01pm
By CATHY WALTERS
Los Alamos
 
I would like to thank the County Council for proclaiming April as DONATE LIFE MONTH in the county, following the proclamation of Governor Martinez in New Mexico. This month is set aside to highlight the dire need for more available organs, tissues, and corneas for transplants, to encourage all citizens, regardless of age or medical history to register as organ donors, and to honor all deceased donors, living donors, and their families.
 
Thanks also to the Los Alamos Daily Post for their articles, which brought about more awareness.

Letter To The Editor: What Might Not Be Realized About Rec Bond

on May 3, 2017 - 12:08pm
By JESSICA CHIPERA
Los Alamos
 
I wish someone else had brought up these important notes on the recreation bond because I try not to get political. But I also think it's irresponsible for me to leave these remarks unsaid.
 
It is disappointing to see Los Alamos county suggest a general obligation bond to pay for income-producing facilities. This essentially means that people in Los Alamos will be paying for the amenities twice if they vote yes. I don’t know about you, but I tend to only pay for purchases once.
 
The way this bond appears to be set up, the increase in property tax is

Letter To The Editor: All Or Nothing Bond Package

on May 2, 2017 - 8:52pm
By RICHARD NEBEL
Los Alamos 
 
There have been several letters to the editor who wonder why the rec bond is an all or nothing proposition. I suspect that the answer is that no one of these items could pass by itself in a bond referendum. 
 
If you want more recreational opportunities, then you are going to have to support more recreational opportunities for your neighbors as well.
 
There also seems to be a sentiment that if we vote this down, then the county will come back with something more "reasonable". I think that is extremely unlikely.

Letter To The Editor: Keep It Local Support Rec Bond

on May 2, 2017 - 4:02pm
BONNIE JAMES
Los Alamos

We often talk about ‘keeping it loca’l in Los Alamos and the importance of supporting our wonderful local businesses. It’s hard to “Keep it Local” when we have limited recreational facilities, especially for families. I want to “Keep it Local” and that’s why I am voting Yes for the upcoming recreation bond.

When my family wants something fun to do, unfortunately, we often have to leave Los Alamos County.

Letter To The Editor: Why all or nothing?

on May 2, 2017 - 2:36pm
By DIANN MILLS
Los Alamos
 
Why all or nothing?
 
One of the problems with the Rec Bond is that it is all or nothing. People who want to invest in our community don't necessarily think we need ALL of these improvements/additions at the same time. Seems like letting us vote on one or two would give us a chance to live with the new or upgraded facilities and the additional increase in maintenance and other costs associated with them.
 
We could at least see where we stand at that point and decide if adding more facilities in a few years makes sense.

Letter To The Editor: Stop Hemorrhaging Money

on May 2, 2017 - 2:14pm
By GLENN MICHEL
Los Alamos

Everybody agrees with one thing or another on the new County Rec Bill. Lots of us think the golf course water infrastructure for example is in desperate straits and should be funded. I think more tennis courts is nuts, and an indoor year round ice skating rink is over the top - but that's just me. Maybe we ought to offer an a La Carte ballot and just fund some of this.

But we are not offering a la carte, so we are all looking at one ballot and saying "Is there something in this menu that makes me willing to vote FOR the twenty million dollar bond?" Golly there is

Robinson: Why Should I support The Rec Bond?

on May 2, 2017 - 9:58am
By JAMES ROBINSON
Los Alamos

Today, the ballots for the Recreation bond will be mailed out, and Los Alamos will be tasked with deciding whether or not it wants to invest in its future or stay in the past.

With their vote, money can be invested in modern infrastructure that could stimulate demand in our town beyond our national laboratory for the first time in decades, or keep things the same.

Our wonderful golf course was the gift of the United States government almost 70 years ago, and have a irrigation system to match.

Letter To The Editor: Investing In Our Community

on May 2, 2017 - 9:14am
By TERRY FOXX
Los Alamos

I am not a golfer. I don’t play baseball, and I don’t ice skate. I won’t use the White Rock Splash Pad. I don’t have children at home anymore. But I do use the Larry Walkup Therapy Pool. So why would I vote yes for the Rec Bond? Because I believe that to have the type of community that is attractive, we must invest in it. Beyond that children are the future and providing places for them to learn, exercise, and enjoy is a life-long gift. And adults are healthier and happier if they have physical outlets that bring them joy and pleasure.

I said I use the Therapy

Letter To The Editor: Why I Am Voting No On Rec Bond

on May 2, 2017 - 8:31am
By ROB BARAN
Los Alamos

I have been heavily debating my vote on the 2017 Recreation Bond for some time, but I have decided that I will vote “No”. After reading several opinion letters in the Post, it is clear to me that the funds generated by this Bond could be used elsewhere. My rationale:

  • There are plenty of options for recreation that already exist in town, catering to many demographics of the residents that live here.  Investing in recreational facilities, while continuing to turn a blind eye to potentially economic stimulating efforts is simply ‘head in the sand’ politics.  Why not put

Letter To The Editor: Of Roads And Rec Bonds

on May 2, 2017 - 7:15am
By STEPHANIE NAKHLEH
Los Alamos

When I read the objections to the 2017 Recreation Bond, I am sympathetic. I also drive down Trinity and despair at the crumbling curbs. I also drive down into Rendija Canyon and worry about losing a filling. I also look at Mari-Mac, which resembles a war zone more by the day, and I think, how can we be such a wealthy county and have infrastructure like this? I get it. The thing is, none of those irksome things has to do with county government, and none of them will be resolved by refusing to vote for the Rec Bond.

Trinity Drive is a state road.

Letter To The Editor: Let’s Split The Pot

on May 2, 2017 - 5:19am
By GERALD M. ANTOS
Los Alamos
 
Having grown up here in Los Alamos, I hold the local golf course as my second home and if there is anything that it needs (real need and not a want) it is a revamped watering system.
 
And I would vote yes for doing that but since it is coupled with a bunch of non needs (also known as greeds), I'm going to have to vote NO on the bond issue.
 
Now if our wonderful county leadership would have split the pot and made each alleged need or want a separate issue to be voted on separately then the whole pot would not have to die on the vine!

Pages


Advertisements