Skip directly to content

Opinion

Letter To The Editor: Office Of The Sheriff

on April 19, 2017 - 4:25pm
By KHALIL SPENCER
Los Alamos
 
Regardless of what any of us thinks about keeping the sheriff's office, the public decided the question of whether to have a sheriff.
 
Now is the time to carefully define the scope of duties so that this office does more than throw out the first calf at the annual rodeo but on the other hand, doesn't waste effort duplicating police duties.
 
Plus, any duty that involves the potential for violence or public interactions that could put the County at risk for a lawsuit requires personnel training that the county will have to pay to obtain.
 
If as

Gessing: Governor Was Right To Wield Veto Pen

on April 19, 2017 - 3:22pm
By PAUL J. GESSING
Rio Grande Foundation
 
There has been a lot of criticism of Gov. Martinez in the wake of her use of the veto pen in the wake of the 2017 legislative session. Tough economic times are not fun and New Mexico (unlike most other states in the union) remains in the midst of tough times.
 
Democrats in the Legislature recently spoke out saying “enough is enough” referring to budget cuts and there have been increasing calls for the Legislature to override certain vetoes.
 
On can argue the merits or demerits of many of the dozens of vetoes, but the big ones on the budget

Letter To The Editor: Let's Bring Our Small Town Into The 21st Century ... Vote Yes On Rec Bond

on April 19, 2017 - 12:11pm
By LYNNE CLARKSON
Los Alamos
 
As a facilities coordinator for the AAU basketball teams (GO, LA SLAM!) and a member of the Hilltopper Basketball Association (HBA), I can confirm that facilities for sports and recreational activities in Los Alamos are scarce.
 
Organizations such as youth basketball, soccer, volleyball, adult basketball, roller derby (youth and adult), pickleball, fencing, and martial arts are all competing (i.e. "fighting")over limited space.
 
Los Alamos is an active town, with diverse and varied interest. We have been limited by lack of facilities for far too long.

Letter To The Editor: This Could Happen To You...

on April 19, 2017 - 8:44am
By DIANA NORWOOD
Los Alamos
 
As everyone's voicing their opinions on "current immigration policies"... here's what's actually happening. My mother is "at this very moment", being fingerprinted, and back ground checked at a facility in Santa Fe. My mother, Lilly, is a "legal immigrant" with a permanent green card for almost 60 years. She's the wife of a retired U.S. Army Major. My father is a veteran of Korea and Viet Nam. My mother has a social security card, a U.S. military ID card, and a New Mexico drivers license ... and has been a New Mexico resident for well over 30 years.

Letter To The Editor: The Affluent Society

on April 19, 2017 - 7:00am
By LYNN HANRAHAN
Los Alamos
 
John Kenneth Galbraith argued in his famous book, The Affluent Society, that the United States suffered from a dearth of public spending given its great wealth in the years following the Second World War. The book is a classic in liberal thought.
 
I first read it in graduate school during the Reagan era when social programs were being slashed and our President was arguing ketchup was a vegetable. I loved the book then, I love it now.
 
Why then, I ask myself, do I plan to vote no on the passage of the bond?
Tags: 

Letter To The Editor: Daylight Savings Time

on April 18, 2017 - 5:41pm
By PAM PRICHARD
Los Alamos
 
Every year the legislature tries to pass a bill allowing New Mexico to stay on Daylight Savings Time year-round. 
 
However, it makes much more sense to stay on Mountain Standard Time (MST) year-round. This year when we "sprang forward" to Daylight Time, I witnessed many problems: children falling asleep in class, people missing appointments or coming late, sleep disruptions, and general confusion, especially for those who forgot to set their clocks ahead. 
 
Please consider Standard Time year-round like Arizona has done for years.
Tags: 

Home Field Advantage: Big Crowd, Bigger Wins

on April 18, 2017 - 5:35pm

By NICCOLO SNYDER
Community Internship Collaboration
Student Intern
Los Alamos Daily Post

High school sports give teens a chance to play on the big stage while offering a wide range of sports for locals to enjoy. During a single season a team has about half their games at home; unfortunately, not a wide range of fans show up to these home games besides a handful of parents and high school students.

This is a shame since, according to most research, fans, giving that extra cheer or holler from the stands, play a role in a team’s success and are one of the components of what is called home field

Letter To The Editor: Do We Need More Bread And Circus In Los Alamos?

on April 18, 2017 - 5:31pm
By KHAL SPENCER
Los Alamos
 
I am somewhat perplexed that the County is pushing for a "recreational bond".
 
With the county freezing hirings on critical positions in the fire and police departments and with uncertainty on whether the next national laboratory contract will be a for-profit or nonprofit, this does not seem to be the time to burden the county taxpayer with more debt.
 
Adding more facilities will require not only bond payments but added staffing and budget line items to maintain them. The result will be more of a burden on the taxpayer.

Letter To The Editor: Office Of The Sheriff – Let’s Work On This Now

on April 18, 2017 - 6:39am
By LISA BRENNER
Los Alamos

The following are my comments to County Council April 17, 2017.
 
Councilors:
 
I am here to comment on the Office of Sheriff and the Sheriff’s budget. I have to admit that I am dismayed that the budget for the Sheriff has not been reinstated since YOUR Question 1 ballot measure failed. The people of Los Alamos have spoken. We want the Office of Sheriff.  
 
The duties which were in place at election time in 2014 are the duties that the people elected the Sheriff to perform.

Fleming: Urban Bike Path Update

on April 17, 2017 - 10:58am
Courtesy image
 
By BRENDA FLEMING
Los Alamos
 
Last May, after attending a few county meetings on the plan of this town, I was a little depressed thinking about all the people making decisions about this town that don't actually live here. 
 
With a spark of activism, I wrote to the Los Alamos Daily Post what I wanted as a local mom and business owner – which was an urban bike path to connect the town's historical landmarks, small businesses and residential areas – the "oh-so-needed vein of the town" is how I phrased it – for tourists and locals alike. (read article here)
 
I emailed my

Letter To The Editor: Will Los Alamos Remain ‘Home Of The Brave’?

on April 17, 2017 - 8:25am
By TERRY GOLDMAN
Los Alamos

As I was an authorized immigrant to and am now a citizen of the United States, you might think that, having followed the legal requirements, I would not be supportive of all refugees and immigrants, whatever their status. Nothing could be further from the truth. Although I did not leave Canada out of fear or persecution, I did learn some relevant history there that most Americans are not likely to have encountered.

The two main early European waves of immigrants to North America were from England and France, but they were of completely different characters.

Letter To The Editor: In support Of Rec Bond

on April 16, 2017 - 7:54am
By TOMMY OLDHAM
7th Grader
White Rock

My name is Tommy and I am a seventh grader at Los Alamos Middle School. I support the Los Alamos Recreation Bond fully. I am involved in the Los Alamos Hockey Association and Los Alamos Youth Lacrosse League. These are only two organizations out of a whole bunch of others that could benefit from the bond passing.

There are a lot of projects on the bond, one of them is a Recreation Center, which would include gym space, a track and an indoor ice rink. Yes, we do have an ice rink, but some of the time we are unable to use it when we need to.

Letter To The Editor: Spend Now, Repay Forever...

on April 15, 2017 - 9:07am
By KEI DAVIS
Los Alamos
 
Here we go again! Those aren't leaves on our trees, they're banknotes – and we have a lot of trees!
 
We're told that we cannot afford to replace the HVAC in the Mesa Public Library; staffing, hours, and frequency of warm water weekends at Larry Walkup only goes down; infrastructure generally crumbles around us; but obligating ourselves to $20 million to build and operate some high-maintenance new toys is a great idea! http://www.ladailypost.com/content/voters-consider-multi-generational-pool
 
It's such a good idea that it must be in the same exalted class of

Letter To The Editor: Sheriff And LAPD

on April 15, 2017 - 7:57am
By RICHARD NEBEL
Los Alamos

Los Alamos sure must be a high crime area. The Sheriff needs a ¾ ton pickup complete with a radio, toolbox and a gooseneck trailer hitch, along with a police cruiser equipped with a cage for transportation, communication, and lights. The LAPD conducts a drug raid with half a dozen state troopers.

They even throw in a “bear in the air” for good measure. All I could think of was “You can get anything you want at Alice’s restaurant”. Officer Obie must be proud. For those of you under the age of 60, go ask your parents.
 
P.S.

Letter To The Editor: Recreation Bond Thoughts

on April 14, 2017 - 6:48pm

By Resident of Los Alamos

My property taxes have doubled for my half duplex in the past seven years. At the current rate of increase they double again in 10 years. My retired years will be funded by personal investments, social security, and not a pension fund.

I am speaking in behalf of all who live in town who will not have a pension fund and live off of social security. With the increase of our water rates, sewer rates and current bonds that the County will never retire, I am against a new recreational bond.

There are several large buildings in town that are empty.

Letter To The Editor: Thank You Los Alamos!

on April 14, 2017 - 1:28pm
By JAMES ROBINSON
Los Alamos
 
Like many others, I am confused at Governor Martinez’s recent veto on Higher Education funding.
 
While working for the UNM-LA Mil Levy effort, we always knew there would be further cuts in the UNM-LA budget, but we never expected a flat out refusal to fund any portion until a special session.
 
Through all this madness, I want to join the UNM-LA Advisory Board in saying, “THANK YOU LOS ALAMOS.”
 
THANK YOU for coming out in a large majority and approving the UNM-LA Mil Levy.
Tags: 

Letter To The Editor: Resolution On Immigration An Example Of ‘Virtue Signaling’ ...

on April 14, 2017 - 1:03pm
By CHALRES KOOSHIAN
Los Alamos

The letter submitted by Councilors David Izraelevitz and Chris Chandler, “Continuing The Conversation On Treatment of Immigrants and Refugees” (link) is an anodyne statement that we can all subscribe to, as is the resolution by Councilor Pete Sheehey. However, I would like to offer a point of view that hasn’t been expressed.

The resolution is simply an example of the phenomenon referred to as “virtue signaling.” This occurs when an individual, group, or organization attempts to project an image of how wonderful, moral, law-abiding, caring, compassionate,

Letter To The Editor: Some Clarification For Dowden And The Central-NM502 Roundabout

on April 14, 2017 - 12:44pm
By JOEL M. WILLIAMS
Los Alamos
 
Yes, NMDOT is now responsible for the NM502 project design, construction, etc (via contracts).
 
Just when LA County ceased to be party to this project is not clear; at least to me. The county did spend monies to do the things from Knecht-DP to get Smith's up and running. Did that remove them from further monetary participation in the project and leave the remainder of the project with the state?
 
If the project is solely state now, then the state can exercise right of eminent domain as the one in VA did with part of a cemetery my forebears were

Letter To The Editor: Re-discovering Meaning Of Family And Community During Challenging Times

on April 14, 2017 - 11:05am
By Patrick Mockler Wood,
Emily Blumenthal,
Catherine Mockler and Family

Recently, we re-discovered the meaning of family and community during another challenge we faced operating a family-owned small business. Our restaurant, the Pajarito Brewpub and Grill, experienced a gas leak that forced us to call on the community of Los Alamos and our family and friends for support.

We wanted to publicly recognize and thank those that helped us get through a rough day.

Thank you to the Los Alamos Fire Department whose staff worked quickly and professionally to respond to the incident and locate the

Letter To The Editor: Continuing The Conversation On Treatment Of Immigrants And Refugees

on April 13, 2017 - 9:04am
By David Izraelevitz and Chris Chandler
Los Alamos County Councilors
 
Our fellow Councilor Pete Sheehey prompted a spirited community discussion about law enforcement, community values, and the roles and responsibilities of our local government when he brought forward a resolution at a Council session last week focusing on the treatment of immigrants and refugees in our community and nationally.
 
Many community members spoke up during that Council session, and even from the dais, we could feel the intensity of feeling and personal attachment to the subject.

Op-ed: Vetoes Raise Concerns

on April 13, 2017 - 8:46am
By Rep. Stephanie Garcia Richard
Los Alamos, Santa Fe, Sandoval & Rio Arriba

This week I had planned to provide my next installment of post legislative wrap up, however recent events have prompted a change in topic.

This past legislative session, amidst ever shrinking revenue forecasts and mounting needs in the state budget, legislators—House and Senate, Democrat and Republican—decided to take action by crafting a budget with no additional cuts and an accompanying revenue package that raised $350 million in new dollars for the state with such targeted, moderate revenue increases as: 

Letter To The Editor: Roundabout Misconception

on April 13, 2017 - 8:09am
By TONY AMSDEN
Los Alamos

I would like to clarify a misconception in the letter from Mr. Dowden (link), and add a bit of history:

As the Los Alamos Daily Post editor pointed out in the earlier letter from Mr. Antos (link), it is indeed the New Mexico Department of Transportation (NMDOT) that is building the roundabout (RDB) at the main entrance to Los Alamos, not Los Alamos County, because it involves an official New Mexico State highway.

The important point is that NMDOT was NEVER in favor of an RDB at that location (or anywhere on that highway), and proposed a simple signalized

Letter To The Editor: Response To Roundabout

on April 12, 2017 - 3:21pm
By PAUL DOWDEN
Los Alamos
 
About a year ago I wrote a letter to all of the Los Alamos County Council and Atomic City Transit. I received no reply from anyone.
 
I was appalled at the fact that these councilors are elected "at large", which means they are responsible to everyone but in reality "no one".
 
My father was a city councilman in Indianapolis for 32 years, which has discreet districts and they are directly liable to their 100,000 plus constituents. The editor added a note to a recent letter that said it was NMDOT that was building the roundabout, not LA county.

Letter To The Editor: Sheehey - Elected Sheriff Should Be Supported

on April 12, 2017 - 12:27pm
By PETE SHEEHEY
Los Alamos County Councilor

Sheriff Marco Lucero was elected in 2010 and re-elected in 2014 by stressing the importance of the Sheriff’s role in Los Alamos. Majorities on County Councils, not including myself, have worked against this, drastically cutting his budget and ultimately calling an election last November to eliminate the Office of Sheriff. Our citizens disagreed, and voted to keep an elected Sheriff.

Sheriff Lucero will present a proposal at next week’s budget hearings to restore his office’s budget.

Letter To The Editor: Los Alamos County’s Budget Season Is About To Begin ... So Pay Attention

on April 12, 2017 - 11:33am
By JOSE CARRENO, MBA
Los Alamos
 
As Los Alamos County’s (LAC’s) budget season begins, I would like to provide our citizens some information. 
 
Recently I wrote to all Council members and made a presentation at their meeting of my intent to bring this proposal to the Council during the coming budget process. All the Councilors had stated at one time or another how they support greater efficiency in the county - now it's time to begin to make it happen. When Council was given this data last year, it “considered” and no changes were made.
 
First of all, a discussion of the new enterprise

Pages


Advertisements