Skip directly to content

Opinion

Man With Gun At Smith's: Legal Details Matter

on June 22, 2017 - 4:27pm
By KHALIL J. SPENCER
Los Alamos 

The other day, the Daily Post carried a short story about a man being reported to the police for having a gun in Smith's (link). Although I'm pretty sure that even hate tatoos are protected by the First Amendment, and it turns out it was a pellet gun, its understandable that this gentleman raised suspicion but the bigger issue here is the law and there is state law that addresses this specific situation.

Thinking only of the supermarket part of the store, I was wondering what actually happened as the Daily Post story was short on details.

Neeper: What Drives A Culture Insane?

on June 22, 2017 - 8:11am
By DON NEEPER
Portola Valley, Calif.
Former Los Alamos resident
 
In the Los Alamos Daily Post of June 20, V. B. Price asks whether a national culture can go insane. Price sees recent mass shootings as evidence of a developing mad culture within a fear-laden population that could tip into a disguised civil war or dictatorship. I suggest that Nazi Germany of 1939 and ISIS of 2017 provide examples of insane cultures that answer Price's question. However, I also suggest that the crucial question is not whether a culture can go insane, but rather what drives it crazy.

Price cites studies on

Letter To The Editor: Huge KUDOS To Firefighters

on June 18, 2017 - 11:10pm
By DIMAS M. CHAVEZ
Former resident of Los Alamos

Once AGAIN, huge KUDOS to the firefighters involved with the Cajete Fire in the Jemez for its containment, and all their hard work in preserving as much as possible of the lovely area of the Jemez.

 

Letter To The Editor: Wayfinder Meeting Takeaway

on June 18, 2017 - 8:14am
By BRADY BURKE
Los Alamos

Here are my take aways from the June 15 Los Alamos County Wayfinder presentation.

Attendance at the 95 percent design phase - two Project people (County rep and Merje consultant), one County Councilor (David Izraelevitz) as a citizen, one stakeholder and two citizens, me and another woman.

Wayfinder: Wayfinding encompasses all of the ways in which people (and animals) orient themselves in physical space and navigate from place to place, according to  Wikipedia. According to the project folks, the idea was floated around earlier in the year.

Letter To The Editor: Saudi Arabia, Iran And US Politics

on June 17, 2017 - 8:47am
By Dr. T. DOUGLAS REILLY
Los Alamos
 
Saudi Arabia:
 
Consider Saudi Arabia and the status of women:
  • It is the only country in the world where women can not drive.
  • The reason is the belief that driving injures a woman's ovaries.
  • A male must drive a woman to work.
  • From age 8 to death a woman must wear a black burkah whenever she is outside the house in major cities like Riyahd, Mecca and Medina. In some smaller villages women may be able to uncover their faces, and may wear collorful head scarves.
  • Women are second, if not lower, citizens because of the Law of Guardianship.
  • A woman's Guardian

Letter To The Editor: Dog Jog Thank You

on June 9, 2017 - 1:14pm
By WENDEE BRUNISH
Los Alamos
 
On a beautiful spring day in April 1998, the first Los Alamos Dog Jog attracted about 75 participants and their canine companions. The first Dog Jog raised about $2000 for Friends of the Shelter.
 
In April 2017, for the first time in our 20-year history, the Los Alamos Dog Jog was cancelled because of 10 inches of rapidly accumulating snow in White Rock. The Dog Jog organizing committee arrived at Rover Park at 7:30 a.m.

Letter To The Editor: Response To Ms. Redondo

on June 8, 2017 - 4:08pm
By LYNN HANRAHAN
Los Alamos
 
We have four local outdoor pools all offering swimming lessons now. Some of the pools are happy to offer lessons to nonmembers. If you or a child in your life can't swim call now!
 
There are morning lessons, evening lessons, and reasonably priced private lessons. Many teens in the community have taken the time to become Water Safety Instructor certified because they love teaching kids to swim. 
 
My daughter is one of these teens. Only 42 percent of American children have the aquatic skills they should. Please support our local teens and pools.

AFT New Mexico Reacts To Resignation Of Public Education Secretary Hanna Skandera

on June 8, 2017 - 8:36am

Hanna Skandera 

 

AFTNM News:

ALBUQUERQUE – American Federation of Teachers New Mexico President Stephanie Ly released the following statement:

“The resignation of New Mexico Public Education Secretary Hanna Skandera is welcome news for New Mexico’s educators.

“While we recognize this is an opportunity to reset the course New Mexico’s public education has taken under Governor Martinez and Secretary Skandera, and we sincerely hope her replacement is willing to meaningfully include stakeholder input and work towards strengthening education as a profession, recognizing that a strong system

Letter To The Editor: Thoughts On Various Subjects...

on June 7, 2017 - 2:35pm
By GREG WHITE
Los Alamos
 
Greg White is my real name Mr. Chapman. You can often see me at council meetings speaking my mind even though I see them all put earplugs in as I approach the mic.
 
Here, here Mr. Horne. Not only did we vote to keep the Sheriff but the 1959, 1963 and 1966 tries to pass a Charter with no Sheriff all failed because the people want a functional Sheriff not a figurehead. The only way the first charter 1968 passed was putting back in the elected Sheriff and the several attempts in between to remove the position of Sheriff have all failed also.
Tags: 

Letter To The Editor: A Responsibility And Opportunity For Los Alamos

on June 7, 2017 - 7:11am
By ROBERT A. PELAK
Los Alamos
 
With the recent withdrawal from the Paris agreement on climate change, cities and towns around the country are developing independent plans to reduce their greenhouse gas emissions. As our community's very existence is predicated on science, we should be among them. A very simple and effective way that we can reduce our carbon footprint would be to use a portion of the now available CIP funds to install solar panels on our larger county facilities.
 
The Municipal Building, White Rock library, Pajarito Cliffs site, even the Nature Center are situated so that they

Letter To The Editor: To Los Alamos County Council

on June 6, 2017 - 7:26pm
By SHELBY REDONDO
Los Alamos

Open Letter to the Los Alamos County Council:

I am asking the County Council to please consider using Capital Improvement Projects (CIP) funds to construct a multigenerational pool.

Although the bond did not pass, nearly half the voters supported the Council’s proposal to provide healthy recreational alternatives. Even those who opposed the bond were not necessarily opposing the rec facilities. Their main concern was not to have their property taxes increased.

One of the most vocal opponents of the bond actually signed the petition two years ago supporting the

Letter To The Editor: Anonymous Posting & Basic Rules

on June 6, 2017 - 5:28pm
By KHAL SPENCER
Los Alamos

Ralph Chapman makes many compelling statements in his letter “A Start To Some Basic Rules For Our Discussions Here At The Los Alamos Daily Post”.

Eschewing anonymity is a good idea in general but there are some caveats. Economic retaliation is one of them and thus trust needs to exist within the community when we disagree.

This is a small town and two of the major paycheck-writers are the National Lab and the County Government. I could understand if someone working for the county might worry about workplace retaliation for a letter critical of the county government.

Tags: 

Letter To The Editor: A Start To Some Basic Rules For Our Discussions Here At The Los Alamos Daily Post

on June 6, 2017 - 10:35am
By RALPH E. CHAPMAN
Bon Vivant Paleontologist

As a paleontologist, I have had a lot of experience in reviewing scientific papers that have been submitted for publication. Back in the day, I probably averaged a dozen or more a year. When I did review, I never did it anonymously: I always signed my reviews.

I did this many reasons. First of all, I thought (and think) it was more respectful to the effort the author(s) made to produce the paper.

Tags: 

Letter To The Editor: Wrecking My Tesla S

on June 6, 2017 - 9:32am
By WALTER G. WATTS
Los Alamos

I had a serious accident Feb. 27 on Diamond Drive at the intersection of Sandia, in front of the old Metzger Service Station. I did serious damage to my 2015 Tesla S and another vehicle.

I would like to talk to anyone who witnessed the accident or observed me or my actions immediately following the accident. If you were there, I would appreciate hearing from you, I can be reached at 505.709.0025 and can receive voice or text.

There were some young men who were very helpful to myself and the driver and passenger of the vehicle I struck, that I would like to

Letter To The Editor: Nuisance Ordinance

on June 6, 2017 - 6:17am
By STEVEN SCHRAMM
Los Alamos

“Sometimes, ordinances and regulations are passed with the support of the majority of folks in a community...” (LA Daily Post, Vol. III, No. 21) (link).

And sometimes they're not. They are passed because the only ones who showed up are the ones who supported the proposal. What happened to those who might have opposed the ordinance? It could have been apathy, it could have been personal situations, which prevented an appearance, or a host of other reasons.

Letter To The Editor: County Council Vs. Sheriff

on June 6, 2017 - 5:47am
By JOHN L. HORNE
Los Alamos
 
The insatiable efforts made by many past and present members of the Los Alamos County Council to eliminate the duly elected office of the sheriff should be a concern to all citizens in this county. 
 
The sheriff is accountable to the people by vote. The office of police chief is accountable to the county council by appointment. Sheriff Lucero has served honorably in Santa Fe and Los Alamos counties for over 29 years. 
 
We the people have voted to retain the office of sheriff as stated in the New Mexico constitution yet certain members of the county

Letter To The Editor: Do We Want Or Need A Bicycle Flow Trail (Part 2)

on June 5, 2017 - 2:04pm
By BRUCE WARREN
Los Alamos
 
In early May, I wrote a letter to the Los Alamos Daily Post notifying the public of a plan to build a bicycle flow trail in one of our canyons (probably Bayo Canyon) and the reasons I thought it is a bad idea. If you didn't see this letter, it can be read here.
 
There was no response from the public to this letter, possibly because it was published during the furor over the Rec Bond issue. It is also possible that some readers thought the flow trail was part of the Rec Bond. It was not, and is a separate initiative funded by the County Council.

Letter To The Editor: A Few Questions For Chandler

on June 4, 2017 - 7:13am
By GREG WHITE
Los Alamos
 
I'd like to ask Mr. Chandler a few questions. From the tone of your letters why do you engage in hyperbole instead of facts? You are after all a lawyer and have filed several lawsuits seeking to hold the council and citizens alike to the strict letter of the law. I'd like to know what area of law you specialize in because you seem to ignore constitutional law and charter law. Don't lawyers usually research or at least have their paralegals research thoroughly before writing arguments? You seem oblivious to any of Los Alamos' history.
 
If you file a lawsuit

Letter To The Editor: Give Duties, Funding Back To Sheriff

on June 3, 2017 - 6:17am
By Concerned Citizen
Los Alamos

I would like to thank the County Council for the reconciliation of the Sheriff's duties and funding. There seems to be a debate of how much funding the County should return to the Sheriff's Office. It seems that individuals responsible for trying to drive out this elected position are now in charge of determining what the Sheriff's duties should be. This seems to be a bit of a conflict of interest, a pick and choose as you will, of those obligations the Sheriff has to the citizens of Los Alamos County. 

George Chandler raised some interesting points.

Letter To The Editor: What Do We Gain From This Chaos? Let's Think About It For A Minute...

on June 2, 2017 - 6:49pm
By GEORGE CHANDLER
Los Alamos

Well, I do have to apologize to Pete Sheehey, he caught me. I made a mistake when I said he wanted to give the jail to the Sheriff. I guess I was confused - what he actually wants to do is give prisoner transport to the Sheriff, or more accurately, to allow the Sheriff to “assist” in prisoner transport.

Pete also points out that he did not say the Sheriff could “arbitrarily” choose to interfere in police investigations, rather the resolution says if the Sheriff “reasonably believes” the “integrity” of an investigation would be compromised if carried out by the

Letter To The Editor: Humble Thanks

on June 2, 2017 - 5:38pm
By LINDA GRIMES
Los Alamos

Hi, first I would like to say, that Los Alamos has families and individuals that foster the dogs/cats from our local shelter. It is a service that is needed in every community. We are fortunate to have people that take that task to heart.

Bringing life into the eyes and soul of an animal can be so rewarding as well as heartbreaking. When they are finally adopted by their forever family it is a rewarding loss. I think that it would be great opportunity to spread the word and thank those individuals behind the scenes who foster the pets in our community.

I have a

Letter To The Editor: In Lieu Of Wearing Orange Friday

on June 1, 2017 - 11:11am
By KHALIL SPENCER
Los Alamos

Friday is Wear Orange Day (it is Saturday in Santa Fe). This started in response to yet another senseless shooting in Chicago, as explained by Mike "The Gun Guy" Weisser. It has since spread far and wide and while most gun owners will cringe at supporting such a day, I think, as I have said before, that we need to find common ground between the firearms owning fraternity and those who see firearms in a negative manner.

The vast majority of gun owners in the U.S.

Letter To The Editor: Checks And Balances Prevent Corruption

on June 1, 2017 - 7:12am
By GREG WHITE
Los Alamos

I can’t help but wonder what the motivation is for people to give up their rights that Americans died for, like happened in the last charter changes. Worse I can understand the motivation for doing away with checks and balances in the system. It’s called corruption. Let’s be clear I’m not making any accusations against any current Councilors or County employees.

No elected treasurer allows for the good ole boys (and girls) to misappropriate funds also called embezzlement.

Chapman: More Thoughts On The REC Thingy

on May 31, 2017 - 1:26pm
By Ralph E. Chapman
Bon Vivant Paleontologist

I have some post facto thoughts about the REC bond stuff, building on comments from before and after the vote. I hope the tone of this note, like that of the recent note by Shin, et al. (hey, I’m a scientist, so I cite like one), this link helps set a mood for the presumed on-going discussion of this topic.

I’ll start with my background with recreational facilities within municipalities. My experience is from the late 50’s through the mid 1970’s in Milford (CT) on the coast between Bridgeport and New Haven.

Letter To The Editor: Response To George Chandler

on May 31, 2017 - 6:38am
By PETE SHEEHEY
Los Alamos County Councilor

My friend George Chandler and I have respectfully disagreed about the Sheriff’s role in Los Alamos for a long time. However, his recent letter (link) misstates what my Resolution (link) proposes. First of all, I do not propose to “expand” the duties of the Sheriff, but simply to restore a limited set of traditional duties to the Sheriff’s Office, and insure that those duties are done by properly trained and certified persons.

I consulted the County Attorney about how to phrase the Resolution in a way that maintains the law enforcement mandate of the

Pages


Advertisements