Skip directly to content

Opinion

Letter To The Editor: Thank You Jackie Goodfellow

on January 23, 2017 - 11:06am
Mountain Elementary School students Sophia Pakin and Sean Lo. Courtesy photo
 
By JENNIFER GUY
Los Alamos
 
The students and teachers at Mountain Elementary School would like to express their sincere gratitude to the family and friends of Jackie Goodfellow.
 
Jackie was the librarian at Mountain Elementary School for many years. When Jackie recently passed away, her family and friends made a very generous donation to the Mountain Elementary School library as a way to honor Jackie and pass on her love for reading.  
 
The library was able to purchase 93 new books for the students to

Letter To The Editor: Wildlife Issue

on January 22, 2017 - 12:14pm
By KAREN J. SIMES
Las Cruces
 
I grew up in Los Alamos. The Wildlife was there before we were. We are encroaching on their space. Just saying.

Letter To The Editor: Inaugurations And Power ... Let Us All Take This Day To Be Thankful For Our Nation And Government

on January 20, 2017 - 8:29pm

By JAMES ROBINSON
Chairman, Republican Party of Los Alamos

Today, Jan. 20, we all got to witness the transition of power without an apparent heir, a war, murder or violence.

Emotions have run very high since the start of this presidential contest, and they will continue to be high, but that is the nature of our republic.

What we witnessed today was one leader with IMMENSE power graciously hand over that power to a citizen who spent over a year challenging his authority and platform.

Letter To The Editor: Unanswered Questions

on January 19, 2017 - 8:16pm

BY GERRY WIGGINS
Los Alamos

I appreciate the recent posts by school board member and candidate Mr. Jim Hall. It was a pleasure to read about his march for civil rights and management skills. However, I feel that Mr. Hall has left some very important questions unanswered.

I feel that schools are the heart of our community. An organization made up of teachers, children, parents, staff members, volunteers, all of us; all of us, with our diverse backgrounds, skill sets, abilities, working together to bestow the best upon the next generation. 

Unfortunately, I have found myself questioning the

Letter To The Editor: New Internet Service

on January 17, 2017 - 12:34pm
By ANDREW FRASER
Los Alamos
 
I write to recommend the AirFiber service introduced by LANET at the end of November last year.
 
In mid December we signed up for a premium plan that provides 100 megabits per second up and down and two static IP addresses. LANET owner Allan Saenz personally supervised the installation. My request for static IP addresses was not standard, but Allan responded promptly to my sequence of requests for help in getting it to work.

Here are some of capabilities we have now:
  • With the higher data rate, we can stream different movies to several rooms in our house

Letter To The Editor: Education Mil Levies Merit Support

on January 17, 2017 - 8:50am
By ROBERT GIBSON
Los Alamos

Tax proposals deserve very critical scrutiny. A tax should be for a legitimate valuable public purpose and should truly be for that purpose. There should be reasonable expectation the funds will be used well. And there should be no other reasonable alternative to further burdening citizens. Few tax proposals meet all those criteria.

The present proposals for a continued mil levy (property tax) to support LA Public Schools reconstruction bonds and an increase for operations at UNM-LA are rare instances that do satisfy those standards.

This community is based on

Letter To The Editor: UNM-LA Mil Levy - An Investment Now And For The Future

on January 17, 2017 - 7:45am
By Dr. Sheila Schiferl
Los Alamos

We moved here in 1977, and I took FORTRAN at the UNM branch. Later, our college poetry class included the town library director, a dean of instruction, several lab scientists and tech writers, and some retired community members. It also included a few "traditional" teenage college students, each with a spark that the rest of us tried to help grow.

What an amazing idea. Here is a school that has been integrating itself into the community, and vice versa, for decades. In the late 1990’s, X-Division encouraged its scientists to teach classes at UNM-LA.

Letter To The Editor: One Los Alamos Launches Diversity Week Drawing Contest

on January 16, 2017 - 8:09pm

By ONE LOS ALAMOS

Dear LAPS Teachers and Students,

Jan. 10, 2017, the Los Alamos Council declared the week of Jan. 15-21 Diversity Week. This event was sponsored by One Los Alamos, a group of people interested in promoting thoughtful, civil dialogue around our diversity of backgrounds, beliefs and identities in order to champion shared values and interests that can strengthen our community.

To kick-off the first year of celebrating Diversity Week, One Los Alamos is launching a drawing contest for all Los Alamos students grades K-12. We are having three age categories (grades K-4, 5-8, and

Peanuts Gang Grows Up Hard In First Rate Production Of 'Dog Sees God' At LALT's Performing Arts Center

on January 14, 2017 - 3:38pm

The friends party hard in 'Dog Sees God'. Photo by Larry Gibbons

CB (Stuart Rupprecht) ponders the death of his beloved Beagle. Photo by Larry Gibbons

 

Review by BONNIE J. GORDON
Los Alamos Daily Post

Los Alamos Little Theatre's "Dog Sees God: Confessions of a Teenage Blockhead" opened Friday at the Performing Arts Center. The play, written by Bert V. Royal presents the Peanuts gang from the comic strip during their teenage years. Sex, drugs and rock and roll have hit them hard and they aren’t ready. CB (guess who?) is at the center of the story.

Royal’s reimagining of these familiar

Letter To The Editor: Los Alamos Public Schools – Four Generations And Counting...

on January 13, 2017 - 7:11am

Ben-Naim: Why I’m Running For School Board

on January 13, 2017 - 7:04am
Ellen Ben-Naim, school board candidate for the Pinon District. Courtesy photo
 

By ELLEN BEN-NAIM
School Board Candidate, Pinon District

For the past 16 years, my family has benefited from our public schools and as a lifelong educator – I understand just how hard we must work in these tough financial times to keep our schools thriving.

We are fortunate to be represented by a teacher in the New Mexico State House, but it is time for our board to reflect our community’s commitment to education.

This December, I officially filed to run for the Los Alamos Public Schools Board in the Pinon

Letter To The Editor: I Have Never Been So Disappointed In Los Alamos

on January 12, 2017 - 5:02pm
By PAIGE RAMSEY
Los Alamos

I have never been so disappointed in Los Alamos as I am now. Dog Sees God is not a play about promoting bullying. This play brings insight into what high schoolers and even adults have to deal with when it comes to bullying.

It is a sad story of a boy who is coming to terms with who he is and how brutal high school can be.

As a cast member I am frustrated with mental health professionals in this town who are acting like we are “giving teenagers ideas”. The hard truth is that this type of bullying, drug use, rebellion, eating disorders, etc.

Hall: UNM-LA Is A True Treasure In Our Community

on January 12, 2017 - 7:30am
By MICHELLE HALL
UNM-LA Advisory Board

When the last time you paid 50 cents for a loaf of bread? For most of us, it was around 1980, the same year that our community voted for a 1 mil levy to launch our local college, UNM-LA. Today that same loaf of bread costs somewhere between $2-$5 depending on how fancy you get, but most people keep buying bread, because warm, fresh bread is nourishing of the body and fulfilling of our mind’s pleasure sensors.

Letter To The Editor: Thank You From Nancy & Annette

on January 12, 2017 - 7:25am
By NANCY & ANNETTE
Los Alamos
 
Thank you to our dear neighbors, friends and family for all your help during Nancys bout with cancer. Thank you for taking care of our house, for the food, cards, calls and your very generous and kind gestures.
 
Thank you to the wonderful medical poersonnel in Los Alamos, Santa Fe and the University of New Mexico Hospital for your knowledge, experience, patience and caring.
 
Thank you to the anonymous Angels who contributed to the cost of the excellent care and medical needs our cats Luigi and Fellini received during their stay at the Animal Clinic of

UNM-LA ... An Essential Component Of Local Education

on January 12, 2017 - 7:20am
By DAVID SUTTON
UNM-LA Advisory Board Member
Chief Operating Officer KRSN AM 1490 & FM 107.1

I am writing to express my full support of the University of New Mexico-Los Alamos Special Election.

There has been spirited debate in the community about the benefits of supporting UNM-LA, but I feel strongly that UNM-LA is an essential component of local education.

With its Dual Credit program, students from Los Alamos High School can take college-level courses in a variety of subjects to help them prepare either for employment in science, technology or computing fields, or for a great

Letter To The Editor: Sign Me Up To Contribute To Success Of Next Generation!

on January 11, 2017 - 7:19am
By ANDREW DELOREY
Los Alamos

Response to Robert Visel’s letter published Jan. 10, 2017 (link). 

Should we really backtrack from universal adult suffrage? We live in 2017, not 1817. Every resident has a stake in this community and contributes to the property tax base in the county either directly or through rent payments. Landlords are free to charge for rent what the market will bear, but if I had a landlord that gave me that kind of attitude, I’d be looking for a new place to live regardless of the result of the election. Rents in Los Alamos are high because people want to live here.

Letter To The Editor: Funds Well Spent At UNM-LA

on January 11, 2017 - 7:10am
By FERNANDO TRUJILLO
Los Alamos
 
I worked for Los Alamos Public schools for 25 years and retired five years ago. 
 
I continued my business and have had the privilege of being contracted through UNM-LA. I feel fortunate to have seen LAPS offering dual credit classes for high school students. When I first came to UNM-LA the enrollment was low and this past semester the enrollment has grown significantly. 
 
Last summer UNM-LA remodeled the EMS (Emergency Medical Services) classroom for more in-depth real life training.

Video: Rep. Stephanie Garcia Richard Encourages Voters To Support UNM-LA Mil Levy

on January 10, 2017 - 11:56am

Rep. Stephanie Garcia Richard, right, with UNM-LA CEO Dr. Cynthia Rooney. Courtesy photo

UNM-LA News:

House Dist. 43 Rep. Stephanie Garcia Richard of White Rock speaks in support of the UNM-LA Mil Levy.

View the video here.

Letter To The Editor: Upcoming Voting

on January 10, 2017 - 11:49am
By ROBERT VISEL
Los Alamos
 
I’m glad the Presidential Election is finally over, unfortunately we here in Los Alamos still have more B.S. to deal with. I’m referring to the upcoming “All Mail” ballots to vote for the Bonds and Mil Levi’s.
 
First off it should be illegal for anyone other than property owners to be able to vote on these since they’re the ones who are going to have to pay for them.
 
But, as a Landlord, I have informed my tenants that if these items should pass I will be significantly raising their rent to cover the property tax increase and I’m sure other Landlords
Tags: 

Letter To The Editor: Duck Test

on January 10, 2017 - 11:45am
By KHAL SPENCER
Los Alamos

There seems to be some disagreement as to whether an affirmative vote by the community to increase the levy for UNM-LA or LAPS would be a tax increase.

I suggest the simple Duck Test: If it looks like a duck, swims like a duck, and quacks like a duck, then it probably is a duck. So if the amount of my check to the county, based on my property assessment, were go to up, it sure does sound like a duck. Er, I mean a tax. But that is beside the point.

The question of whether a levy increase to support local public educational institutions is a good idea is separate

Letter To The Editor: How Does Los Alamos Compare In Supporting Higher Education? We’re The Cheapest!

on January 10, 2017 - 8:54am
By MORRIE PONGRATZ
Former County Councilor and former School Board member

How does Los Alamos compare to other New Mexico communities in their support for local higher education? We’re the cheapest.

You can go to the website: http://nmdfa.state.nm.us/Certificate_of_Property_Tax.aspx and double check my research. I examined the percentage of a resident’s property tax bill that went to support the college in their city.

Here’s the list of the cities and the percentage of their property taxes that goes to support their local college:

  • Gallup (16.9 percent for UNM-G);
  • Farmington (16.9 percent

Letter To The Editor: Thank You Los Alamos County Animal Shelter / Special Kudos To Chief Sgambellone!

on January 10, 2017 - 7:17am
By KELLI GUIDER
Los Alamos Friends of the Shelter

Los Alamos Friends of the Shelter wants to thank the Los Alamos County Animal Shelter for its quick and decisive response to containing the spread of parvovirus that recently sickened two shelter puppies. These puppies came to our shelter from another facility with an extremely high euthanasia rate due to space constraints. 

Transfers of this type give the animals that remain in that shelter a better chance of adoption in that community. In return, our community shelter gains a more diverse pool of adoptable animals.

Los Alamos Daily Post Endorses Mil Levy, LAPS Bond

on January 9, 2017 - 1:07pm
By CAROL A. CLARK, Publisher
Los Alamos Daily Post

After much review and careful consideration, the Los Alamos Daily Post is endorsing the UNM-LA Mil Levy and LAPS School Bond and we strongly encourage the community to vote for both.

Education is vitally important to this community, now and in the future, in terms of opportunities for our young people as well as economic development benefits for the entire community.

UNM-LA has provided important educational opportunities to local students, first responders, healthcare workers and lifelong learners.

Letter To The Editor: A Community Full Of Wonderful!

on January 9, 2017 - 7:42am
By VICKIE GRIFFIS
Los Alamos

In today’s world when there is so much focus on disturbing news, we want to focus on the positive and send a huge thank you to this wonderful community, for supporting our fundraising efforts for our young friend and co-worker Valerie Martinez who is battling Acute Myeloid Leukemia.

To the Los Alamos Daily Post and Los Alamos Monitor for providing such supportive vehicles for the community to get our stories out, Thank You!

To the Posse Lodge and its volunteers who work many hours to offer a perfect venue for groups and organizations to do their thing, Thank

LAPS: A New Paradigm In Facilities Management

on January 8, 2017 - 2:06pm
By MATT WILLIAMS
LAPS School Board

I am writing to explain how the priorities for facilities maintenance investments has changed from the early 2000s.

I’ll give an overview of expenditures from early 2000s, and give an example of how our new vision is successful.

Facilities Maintenance in early 2000s

I have attached a slide from a School Board meeting in 2008 (before I was on the Board). I need to state a few caveats and insights with this slide:

1) since the slide is dated 2008, some numbers are projections;
2) we evidently had some type of GO bonds passed by taxpayers prior to

Pages


Advertisements