Skip directly to content

Opinion

Letter To The Editor: Will Los Alamos Remain ‘Home Of The Brave’?

on April 17, 2017 - 8:25am
By TERRY GOLDMAN
Los Alamos

As I was an authorized immigrant to and am now a citizen of the United States, you might think that, having followed the legal requirements, I would not be supportive of all refugees and immigrants, whatever their status. Nothing could be further from the truth. Although I did not leave Canada out of fear or persecution, I did learn some relevant history there that most Americans are not likely to have encountered.

The two main early European waves of immigrants to North America were from England and France, but they were of completely different characters.

Letter To The Editor: In support Of Rec Bond

on April 16, 2017 - 7:54am
By TOMMY OLDHAM
7th Grader
White Rock

My name is Tommy and I am a seventh grader at Los Alamos Middle School. I support the Los Alamos Recreation Bond fully. I am involved in the Los Alamos Hockey Association and Los Alamos Youth Lacrosse League. These are only two organizations out of a whole bunch of others that could benefit from the bond passing.

There are a lot of projects on the bond, one of them is a Recreation Center, which would include gym space, a track and an indoor ice rink. Yes, we do have an ice rink, but some of the time we are unable to use it when we need to.

Letter To The Editor: Spend Now, Repay Forever...

on April 15, 2017 - 9:07am
By KEI DAVIS
Los Alamos
 
Here we go again! Those aren't leaves on our trees, they're banknotes – and we have a lot of trees!
 
We're told that we cannot afford to replace the HVAC in the Mesa Public Library; staffing, hours, and frequency of warm water weekends at Larry Walkup only goes down; infrastructure generally crumbles around us; but obligating ourselves to $20 million to build and operate some high-maintenance new toys is a great idea! http://www.ladailypost.com/content/voters-consider-multi-generational-pool
 
It's such a good idea that it must be in the same exalted class of

Letter To The Editor: Sheriff And LAPD

on April 15, 2017 - 7:57am
By RICHARD NEBEL
Los Alamos

Los Alamos sure must be a high crime area. The Sheriff needs a ¾ ton pickup complete with a radio, toolbox and a gooseneck trailer hitch, along with a police cruiser equipped with a cage for transportation, communication, and lights. The LAPD conducts a drug raid with half a dozen state troopers.

They even throw in a “bear in the air” for good measure. All I could think of was “You can get anything you want at Alice’s restaurant”. Officer Obie must be proud. For those of you under the age of 60, go ask your parents.
 
P.S.

Letter To The Editor: Recreation Bond Thoughts

on April 14, 2017 - 6:48pm

By Resident of Los Alamos

My property taxes have doubled for my half duplex in the past seven years. At the current rate of increase they double again in 10 years. My retired years will be funded by personal investments, social security, and not a pension fund.

I am speaking in behalf of all who live in town who will not have a pension fund and live off of social security. With the increase of our water rates, sewer rates and current bonds that the County will never retire, I am against a new recreational bond.

There are several large buildings in town that are empty.

Letter To The Editor: Thank You Los Alamos!

on April 14, 2017 - 1:28pm
By JAMES ROBINSON
Los Alamos
 
Like many others, I am confused at Governor Martinez’s recent veto on Higher Education funding.
 
While working for the UNM-LA Mil Levy effort, we always knew there would be further cuts in the UNM-LA budget, but we never expected a flat out refusal to fund any portion until a special session.
 
Through all this madness, I want to join the UNM-LA Advisory Board in saying, “THANK YOU LOS ALAMOS.”
 
THANK YOU for coming out in a large majority and approving the UNM-LA Mil Levy.
Tags: 

Letter To The Editor: Resolution On Immigration An Example Of ‘Virtue Signaling’ ...

on April 14, 2017 - 1:03pm
By CHALRES KOOSHIAN
Los Alamos

The letter submitted by Councilors David Izraelevitz and Chris Chandler, “Continuing The Conversation On Treatment of Immigrants and Refugees” (link) is an anodyne statement that we can all subscribe to, as is the resolution by Councilor Pete Sheehey. However, I would like to offer a point of view that hasn’t been expressed.

The resolution is simply an example of the phenomenon referred to as “virtue signaling.” This occurs when an individual, group, or organization attempts to project an image of how wonderful, moral, law-abiding, caring, compassionate,

Letter To The Editor: Some Clarification For Dowden And The Central-NM502 Roundabout

on April 14, 2017 - 12:44pm
By JOEL M. WILLIAMS
Los Alamos
 
Yes, NMDOT is now responsible for the NM502 project design, construction, etc (via contracts).
 
Just when LA County ceased to be party to this project is not clear; at least to me. The county did spend monies to do the things from Knecht-DP to get Smith's up and running. Did that remove them from further monetary participation in the project and leave the remainder of the project with the state?
 
If the project is solely state now, then the state can exercise right of eminent domain as the one in VA did with part of a cemetery my forebears were

Letter To The Editor: Re-discovering Meaning Of Family And Community During Challenging Times

on April 14, 2017 - 11:05am
By Patrick Mockler Wood,
Emily Blumenthal,
Catherine Mockler and Family

Recently, we re-discovered the meaning of family and community during another challenge we faced operating a family-owned small business. Our restaurant, the Pajarito Brewpub and Grill, experienced a gas leak that forced us to call on the community of Los Alamos and our family and friends for support.

We wanted to publicly recognize and thank those that helped us get through a rough day.

Thank you to the Los Alamos Fire Department whose staff worked quickly and professionally to respond to the incident and locate the

Letter To The Editor: Continuing The Conversation On Treatment Of Immigrants And Refugees

on April 13, 2017 - 9:04am
By David Izraelevitz and Chris Chandler
Los Alamos County Councilors
 
Our fellow Councilor Pete Sheehey prompted a spirited community discussion about law enforcement, community values, and the roles and responsibilities of our local government when he brought forward a resolution at a Council session last week focusing on the treatment of immigrants and refugees in our community and nationally.
 
Many community members spoke up during that Council session, and even from the dais, we could feel the intensity of feeling and personal attachment to the subject.

Op-ed: Vetoes Raise Concerns

on April 13, 2017 - 8:46am
By Rep. Stephanie Garcia Richard
Los Alamos, Santa Fe, Sandoval & Rio Arriba

This week I had planned to provide my next installment of post legislative wrap up, however recent events have prompted a change in topic.

This past legislative session, amidst ever shrinking revenue forecasts and mounting needs in the state budget, legislators—House and Senate, Democrat and Republican—decided to take action by crafting a budget with no additional cuts and an accompanying revenue package that raised $350 million in new dollars for the state with such targeted, moderate revenue increases as: 

Letter To The Editor: Roundabout Misconception

on April 13, 2017 - 8:09am
By TONY AMSDEN
Los Alamos

I would like to clarify a misconception in the letter from Mr. Dowden (link), and add a bit of history:

As the Los Alamos Daily Post editor pointed out in the earlier letter from Mr. Antos (link), it is indeed the New Mexico Department of Transportation (NMDOT) that is building the roundabout (RDB) at the main entrance to Los Alamos, not Los Alamos County, because it involves an official New Mexico State highway.

The important point is that NMDOT was NEVER in favor of an RDB at that location (or anywhere on that highway), and proposed a simple signalized

Letter To The Editor: Response To Roundabout

on April 12, 2017 - 3:21pm
By PAUL DOWDEN
Los Alamos
 
About a year ago I wrote a letter to all of the Los Alamos County Council and Atomic City Transit. I received no reply from anyone.
 
I was appalled at the fact that these councilors are elected "at large", which means they are responsible to everyone but in reality "no one".
 
My father was a city councilman in Indianapolis for 32 years, which has discreet districts and they are directly liable to their 100,000 plus constituents. The editor added a note to a recent letter that said it was NMDOT that was building the roundabout, not LA county.

Letter To The Editor: Sheehey - Elected Sheriff Should Be Supported

on April 12, 2017 - 12:27pm
By PETE SHEEHEY
Los Alamos County Councilor

Sheriff Marco Lucero was elected in 2010 and re-elected in 2014 by stressing the importance of the Sheriff’s role in Los Alamos. Majorities on County Councils, not including myself, have worked against this, drastically cutting his budget and ultimately calling an election last November to eliminate the Office of Sheriff. Our citizens disagreed, and voted to keep an elected Sheriff.

Sheriff Lucero will present a proposal at next week’s budget hearings to restore his office’s budget.

Letter To The Editor: Los Alamos County’s Budget Season Is About To Begin ... So Pay Attention

on April 12, 2017 - 11:33am
By JOSE CARRENO, MBA
Los Alamos
 
As Los Alamos County’s (LAC’s) budget season begins, I would like to provide our citizens some information. 
 
Recently I wrote to all Council members and made a presentation at their meeting of my intent to bring this proposal to the Council during the coming budget process. All the Councilors had stated at one time or another how they support greater efficiency in the county - now it's time to begin to make it happen. When Council was given this data last year, it “considered” and no changes were made.
 
First of all, a discussion of the new enterprise

Letter To The Editor: Syria

on April 12, 2017 - 7:35am
By DOUG REILLY
Los Alamos
 
The recent chemical attack (ID'ed as Sarin gas) is horrific, to be sure, whoever has done it. WAR IS HORRIFIC! When we respond to killing by killing more people, we only guarantee there will be further killing.
 
President Assad, in my opinion, has done exactly what the USA would do if faced with another civil war, i.e. fight the rebels.
 
In addition, the USA’s actions have been responsible for prolonging the dying and suffering of the Syrian people, and the millions of refugees from Syria and other states in the middle east.

Letter To The Editor: Respect, Justice And Compassion Is The American Way

on April 12, 2017 - 6:50am
By KATE GARDUNO-KING
Los Alamos

Treating all people with respect, justice and compassion seems like something we can all agree on, doesn’t it? I was surprised to find this statement being treated as controversial as I watched the April 4 County Council meeting.

Councilor Pete Sheehey proposed a resolution stating that “we support and observe the fundamental American value that all people, including immigrants and refugees, should be treated with respect, justice and compassion.” This sounds simple enough.

Letter To The Editor: Exercising Eminent Domain

on April 11, 2017 - 10:23am
By GERALD ANTOS
Los Alamos
 
Are you kidding me? Using eminent domain for a roundabout that the people of Los Alamos do not want or need is by far and away one of stupidest things our County Government will ever do!
 
I guess it's ok for a bunch of our spendthrift county councilors to do what they damn well please in spite of the total inconvenience it will cause the people of Los Alamos.
 
I personally believe that our council should put this kind of inconvenience up to a public vote that requires a 75 percent approval of citizenry of Los Alamos before they throw money at a problem

Letter To The Editor: Show Me A Legal Immigrant Who Has Not Been Vetted

on April 11, 2017 - 8:17am
By That Concerned Citizen
Los Alamos

Reply to Martha Jones (link) and Dave Jones (link), thank you to both of you for some historical background on US immigration laws. That was definitely interesting for me as an immigrant that learned US history later in life. Some rules are puzzling for me in the context of modern history and that they have been applied in the past, does not make them right. It should rather be a lesson for a better future.

I do not feel knowledgeable enough to talk about the discussions in the Los Alamos County Council meeting but want to point out that bigger cities

Letter To The Editor: Don't Call Police For Pizza

on April 10, 2017 - 4:54pm
By GLENN MICHEL
Los Alamos

I too attended the Los Alamos County Council meeting Tuesday. I too heard Councilor Tony Maggiore state that the council has previously strayed beyond their purview. I am of two minds about this. 

On the one hand it might be better for the county if drafting ineffective and irrelevant resolutions, and then pontificating about them for hours was ALL the county council did. On the other hand perhaps the county would actually benefit if the county council stuck to county business. One can argue either side of this.

People, the county council is not a platform for

Letter To The Editor: Council Meeting Thoughts

on April 10, 2017 - 2:26pm
By DAVE JONES
Los Alamos
 
I attended the Los Alamos County Council meeting Tuesday night to support President Trump’s temporary immigration ban and to oppose the proposed resolution relating to immigration.
 
Here are a few of my takeaway thoughts from that meeting:
 
Councilor Antonio Maggiore stated that, because the Council went beyond their purview many times and have gotten away with it, they could continue doing so. That’s not my opinion. What that tells me is that we need to watch the Council more closely and prevent them from going beyond their purview in the first place.
 

Letter To The Editor: There Will Be A Time For Compassion But For Now Immigrants Must Be Vetted

on April 10, 2017 - 8:31am

By MARTHA JONES
Los Alamos

After reading the proposed resolution constructed by Los Alamos County Councilor Pete Sheehey, and agreed upon by Council Chair David Izraelevitz, I too am voicing my opinion.

The history of immigration in our country has had different issues to take into consideration over the past two centuries. Our government has had to implement various policies and procedures about immigration to fit our needs. From the very early days in 1875 restrictions and policies barred convicts and prostitutes from entering.

Letter To The Editor: Budget Time, Los Alamos ... Let's Not Go Down A Rabbit Hole

on April 10, 2017 - 7:56am
By GEORGE CHANDLER
Los Alamos

Budget time, Los Alamos! Once more down the rabbit hole. 

Our Sheriff is the wabbit, leading us on. Even though the voters last fall simply chose to keep the office as it was then (register sex offenders, wear the Hat), he now approaches the council announcing that the result was a mandate to expand the office so he can provide unspecified “services” to the tune of $348,118 (link).

Now we see the end game: TOYS! A $65,000 ¾ ton truck with a gooseneck hitch for transporting HORSES – to scenes!

Letter To The Editor: Governor's Glowing Picture Of Education At Odds With Data

on April 9, 2017 - 4:27pm
By J. TAUB
Los Alamos

What a glowing picture of education in New Mexico as presented by Governor Martinez in her April 2 announcement of changes to the teacher evaluation system - what many teachers feel is a tiny step in the right direction to simply superficial. 

Reading on through her missive, what should I believe - the Governor’s rosy picture of public education in New Mexico, or various education review evaluations that appear annually? For instance, the one reported on by Kim Burgess, Jan. 4, 2017, Albuquerque Journal Staff Writer, Study: NM ranks 49th in quality of education

Letter To The Editor: Consider This Solution...

on April 9, 2017 - 6:46am
By PATRICK BRENNER
Los Alamos

The proposed amendment to eliminate the Office of Sheriff failed. Rather than continue breeding contempt between the Council, the Sheriff and the Police Department, I invite you to consider an alternative solution.

Rather than amending the County Charter to remove the Sheriff or remove the Chief of Police, why not amend the wording involving duplication of duties? Redefine the duties as shared responsibilities. Everything that the Police do, the Sheriff is equally responsible for. Everything the Sheriff does, the Police are equally responsible for.

Pages


Advertisements