Skip directly to content

Opinion

Letter To The Editor: I Am Not Dead ... Who To Call?

on May 15, 2017 - 7:58am
By JIM GRIFFIN
Los Alamos
 
Around the first of the year those of us retired from LANL for some time received a communication asking us to prove we were alive. I filled out the paperwork, had it notorized at LANB and mailed it to the required address. I checked one of my bank statements and I received my pension and thought no more of it.
 
Today I checked my latest bank statement and no pension deposit. I presume I am dead.
 
If anyone can supply me with a phone number, address or information about whomever wanted us to prove we were part of the undead I would be very grateful.

McDonald: What A Great Town!

on May 14, 2017 - 6:41pm
Jaret and Jen McDonald give Los Alamos an enthusiastic thumbs up. Courtesy photo
 
By JARET MCDONALD
Los Alamos

Maybe we could all take a step back ... Los Alamos is amazing ... just look what happened today ... regardless of your opinion of the Rec Bond.

This is just the best place! My wife Jen and I love Los Alamos! We love our firefighters and police department!

That is all. Carry on!

Letter To The Editor: Still On Fence About Rec Bond

on May 14, 2017 - 9:14am
By ANNE MARIE PEETERS WEEM
Los Alamos
 
First of all, I love the idea of improving and adding to the recreation facilities in Los Alamos and have no problem paying more taxes to facilitate this.
 
The problem is with the allocation of funds: Only a little more that five percent ($1.8 million vs $31.6 million) is allocated to for White Rock, even though we have approximately one-third of Los Alamos County's population. I know this issue was brought up in the community forums. When expressing my concerns, several reasons were given to justify the funding discrepancy.
  • A significant portion

Letter To The Editor: To Bond Or Not To Bond, That Is The Question

on May 13, 2017 - 3:24pm
By KHAL SPENCER
Los Alamos
 
Ralph Chapman’s letter in the Los Alamos Daily Post (link) has been the latest in a long list of well written and thoughtful letters, both pro and con, regarding the Recreation Bond vote. If nothing else, we have once again proven that Los Alamos residents are thoughtful and engaged in our civic governance. I would expect a high “voter turnout”.
 
I would also offer to compare the discussion up here on The Hill regarding this bond question, which has been driven by engaged residents using their own thoughts, vs.

Letter To The Editor: Why Future Generations Don’t Need Bond

on May 12, 2017 - 5:43am
By A Student
Los Alamos
 
I have heard a lot of people saying this bond would be an investment in future generations, to have more options, or that they just don’t want to travel to Santa Fe.
 
As a member of the future generation in Los Alamos, I am Voting no on the Rec Bond.
 
If investing in the community is someone’s goal then please invest in the housing problem; invest in making sure the future generation has the opportunity to have a roof over their heads and then and only then can anything else be considered.

Letter To The Editor: Together And United ... We Make Our Community Stronger

on May 11, 2017 - 8:50pm
By JIM RICKMAN
Los Alamos
 
We attended the Cowboy Breakfast at the Los Alamos Posse Shack on May 7, 2017, and were delighted to see Los Alamos Police Commander Oliver Morris out there helping with the breakfast, talking to people, and being an enthusiastic supporter of Special Olympics.
 
This type of highly visible and constructive public interaction and community service by one of our Men and Women in Blue is precisely why I enjoy living in a small town like Los Alamos.
 
We are all, in one way or another, colleagues, friends, and neighbors working together in our own ways for the

Letter To The Editor: About Truth And The Rec Bond

on May 11, 2017 - 8:16am
By TONY FOX and DARREN MEADOWS
Los Alamos Future PAC Members

We are writing to respond to the recent negative letters about the Recreation Bond by Tom Tierney, Lisa Shin, John Horne, and Lisa Brenner, who has also written online posts as Lola Anderson.

We understand that some people oppose the Rec Bond because they don't support a tax increase or they don't want Los Alamos County to spend tax dollars to make these community improvements. While we don't agree with that position, we recognize that this is a decision that everyone has to make for themselves.

Our problem with the recent

Letter To The Editor: It’s Now Or Never Los Alamos!

on May 11, 2017 - 7:56am
By IRENE POWELL
Los Alamos
 
It’s now or never, how long can we afford to wait!
 
I have enjoyed all the amenities of living in Los Alamos for 27 years. I have volunteered for almost every committee or board that works to make our little town even better. I was on the first CIP public committee, the Municipal site committee, the Civic Center citizens committee, the Parks and Recreation Board, the Historical Society Board and now am serving on the Aquatic Center Advisory Subcommittee.
 
Not that I don’t appreciate what we have but I want it to continue, I want Los Alamos to continue.

Letter To The Editor: Shopping At Smith's

on May 11, 2017 - 7:41am
By JAMES H. GRIFFIN
Los Alamos
 
When shopping in the frozen foods section at Smith's I'm sure everyone has noticed much of the LED lighting within the cases is turned off.
 
The overhead lighting reflects off the case and makes it difficult to read the labels. My own solution is simple. I just open the door. Works for me but I'd rather have the lights on.
 
Since LED lighting is advertised as lasting for tens of thousands of hours and since it's also very economical to operate, I asked one of Eric's (former store director) floor managers last year why some of the frozen food case

Letter To The Editor: Voting On Bond Issue

on May 11, 2017 - 7:19am
Terry Goldman
Los Alamos
 
I read a letter complaining that the bond issue vote is effectively 'log-rolling'. The author wanted to have separate votes on each recreational item. 
 
On the one hand, as we learned from the earlier bond vote on the addition to the aquatic center, this amounts only to finding out how many people want that particular additional recreational opportunity. On the other, why should we expect a majority to vote to pay taxes for something we want and they may not? 
 
Although not strictly proportional, the rational solution is to combine items so that if you vote

Los Alamos Daily Post Endorses Recreation Bond

on May 11, 2017 - 7:10am
By CAROL A. CLARK, Publisher
Los Alamos Daily Post
 
After much review and careful consideration, the Los Alamos Daily Post is endorsing the recreation bond and we strongly encourage the community to vote in support of this bond.

As a local business person and newspaper publisher, I have a broad perspective on what’s happening today in our town and where our community is headed in the future. On matters of high importance, my paper will offer an editorial opinion for your consideration. The upcoming recreation bond election is one of those times where we believe our opinion is warranted.

Letter To The Editor: A Quick Comment On The REC Bond Discussion

on May 10, 2017 - 1:47pm
By RALPH CHAPMAN
Los Alamos

Just a few quick notes on this REC Bond thingy. There have been some solid arguments made by members on both sides of the issue. Khalil Spencer’s comments against voting Yes were, not surprisingly or unusually, strong and well thought out. The large number of comments made in favor of voting Yes also make strong points about the effect of the Bond on the long-term health and vitality of the County. So, there is good reason to have a useful and civil discussion of this issue.

How I voted actually anticipated a comment suggesting we look at this from an

Letter To The Editor: Recreation Bond IS Justified

on May 10, 2017 - 8:20am
By Robbie and Michelle Harris
Los Alamos

We were disappointed with Robert Gibson’s recent column (link) that the Recreation Bond Is Not Justified. Our family is very involved with Little League and high school fast pitch softball programs. A half century ago, women's fast pitch softball was not recognized as a high school or collegiate sport. In 1972 Congress passed the Educational Amendments. One section of this law, Title IX, prohibits discrimination against girls and women in federally-funded education, including in athletics programs.

Ben-Naim: Vote Yes On Rec Bond – Don’t Let Perfect Be The Enemy Of Very Good

on May 10, 2017 - 7:32am
By Ellen Ben-Naim
Los Alamos

I am writing in support of the Rec Bond. After a year and a half of public meetings and countless hours of staff and volunteer research and planning, the county has put together a well thought out package of recreation projects.

These facilities will help meet the needs of young families, student athletes and adults of all ages. They also will help increase our property values, benefit our schools and make Los Alamos a more attractive place to live for new hires to the Lab.

I believe passing the recreation bond will help move Los Alamos County forward.

Letter To The Editor: Horne On Rec Bond

on May 10, 2017 - 6:33am
By JOHN N. HORNE
Los Alamos

I would like to add my name to the list of people who are opposed to the recreation bond. On May 5, Carolyn Roberts wrote an excellent assessment of the problems with this bond issue and I am in complete agreement with the points she has made.

The most important of these points is the following: “If something adverse happens at LANL or another fire devastates our community, WE, the property owners, are still responsible for paying this debt back.

Letter To The Editor: Los Alamos County’s Fiscal Predicament - Vote Against Rec Bond

on May 10, 2017 - 6:09am
By LISA BRENNER, Vice President
A Better Way For LA PAC

No one likes to rain on anyone’s parade but I think we need a bit of a reality check on the Rec Bond issue. There are so many reasons to vote AGAINST this bond.  Here are a few:

Los Alamos County is not in a good predicament money-wise. Presently we have a $1,400,000 shortfall for this budget year due to the LANL contract’s limbo status.

Letter To The Editor: Rec Center Bond - Bad For Small Businesses And Nonprofits

on May 10, 2017 - 5:48am
By TOM TIERNEY
Los Alamos
 
The County of Los Alamos introduced a controversial choice that our community must make through the Recreation Center Bond election: Should the County be allowed to compete with small businesses and nonprofits in our local fitness industry?
 
Supporters of this Bond claim that the absence of a Recreation Center is a central stumbling block in attracting visitors and new businesses to the County.

Skandera: Teachers Should Be Celebrated

on May 9, 2017 - 8:07pm
Education Secretary Hanna Skandera during a visit in 2016 to the Los Alamos Daily Post. Photo by Carol A. Clark/ladailypost.com
 
By HANNA SKANDERA
New Mexico Education Secretary
 
This week is Teacher Appreciation Week in New Mexico – a perfect opportunity to reflect on the tremendous impact our teachers have in helping every New Mexico child have a chance to succeed in life.
 
Every child in New Mexico – no matter their background – can learn, and the more we stand behind our teachers and support them, the more they have that chance.
 
Isis Feraudy-Marsilli is a bilingual math

Letter To The Editor: Recreation Only One Of Many Resident Needs In Comp Plan

on May 9, 2017 - 2:42pm
By MARGARET ANNE ROGERS
Los Alamos
 
I was once LANL’s expert on radioactive waste disposal sites and other contaminated areas. I also was the Planning & Zoning Commission chairman for development of a County Comprehensive Plan. Recreation was only one of many resident needs addressed in the Plan.
 
FACTS:
  • Los Alamos cannot grow! Neither in land-size nor population.
  • Landlocked by government and Pueblo land ownership.
  • We are built on mesas with deep canyons on sides.
  • Community no longer has “location knowledge” of legacy LANL activities producing hazardous and radioactive wastes.
  • Los Alamos is

Letter To The Editor: Response To Dr. Neeper

on May 9, 2017 - 7:53am
By RICHARD NEBEL
Los Alamos
 
This is a brief reply to Dr. Neeper’s recent letter (link). First of all, I did not suggest that people should go to work for private industry. I suggested that they form their own companies and go to work for themselves. That way you set your own corporate values, and those values can help restore credibility to science. That’s a little different than working for R J Reynolds.
 
I also think that volunteering is great, but volunteering isn’t going to create research jobs. We need to grow research, and taking the entrepreneurial route is one way to do that.

Shin: Vote AGAINST Rec Bond: There's A Better Way

on May 9, 2017 - 6:54am
By LISA SHIN, President 
A Better Way for LA PAC

A Better Way for LA PAC was formed by concerned citizens who propose that we expand and improve recreation in ways that are fiscally responsible and sustainable. I do not question the quality of life benefits our community would receive from the Recreation Bond. Personally, I would love to see an indoor ice-skating rink and expanded recreational facilities.

However, I question whether this Bond represents the highest and best use of our tax dollars, when there are so many competing needs. There is a better way.

Letter To The Editor: Thundersnow In Los Alamos

on May 8, 2017 - 9:05am
By LYNN HANRAHAN
Los Alamos

Years ago, on a late winter evening, I noticed my daughter was a bit pale as she was pulling on her hockey gear. The season was approaching its end so it just made sense to go and enjoy whatever ice time remained even though the weather was a bit iffy, too.

It ended up being a night she would always remember. It was the night of the thundersnow! From what I remember her hockey practice began ordinarily enough but then the heavens broke loose and it began to rain, hail, sleet, thunder, and snow. The kids had a ball.

Letter To The Editor: Response To Nebel

on May 8, 2017 - 6:57am
By DONALD A. NEEPER
Portola Valley, Calif. 
(Los Alamos resident 1968-2014)

I was a signatory to the letter published in the May 4 edition of the Los Alamos Daily Post (link), in which 18 retired LANL scientists expressed concern regarding federal plans to suppress scientific research and monitoring related to environmental protection and public health.

In the May 6 edition of the Daily Post, Richard Nebel responded thoughtfully, pointing to the productivity of private industry, the bureaucratic ineptness of government, and the feelings of laborers (link). However, he missed the essence of

Letter To The Editor: Good Point ... Split The Pot

on May 8, 2017 - 6:35am
By CORINE CHRISTMAN
Los Alamos

Gerald Antos has a good point. Split the pot (link).

Some of the recreational items are necessary to keep up and others may be needed. The new splash pad costs $750,000. Is this needed? Considering that we have very few really hot days in a year with hopefully rainy days in July and August, there may be most of June and a smattering of other days to use it. Most kids will be happy running through the sprinkler or using a garden hose and that alone saves $750,000.

We also need to consider the yearly upkeep of all these facilities and the need for more

Letter To The Editor: Consider Voting For Rec Bond ... Small Tax Well Worth Enhancement To Quality Of Life

on May 7, 2017 - 9:49am
By Monica Van de Water
Los Alamos

Please read, and please have an open mind. Our family always says, “options are always better than no options”!

Even if you don’t care, or don’t like it, consider "VOTING YES” to the upcoming rec bond. There are many families in Los Alamos that do want these recreational facilities. We should support that desire and the excitement that it is generating.

When the seniors needed money for improving the senior center, many of us voted “YES”. How does that benefit me? I’m not a senior.

Pages


Advertisements