Skip directly to content

Opinion

Letter To The Editor: Do You Realize What Our Country Is Doing To The Yemeni?

on December 5, 2017 - 8:58am
By Dr. T. Douglas Reilly
Los Alamos

Yemen is one of the Arab world’s poorest countries. If you’ve followed the humanitarian disaster in Yemen, you’re aware of the worsening famine and cholera epidemic; especially as they affect children. The World Health Organization (WHO) has warned that it’s possible over 2/3 of the children may die of malnutrition in the next few months.

The United Nations now considers Yemen the worst humanitarian crisis, even surpassing South Sudan.

Letter To The Editor: An Open Letter To County Council

on December 5, 2017 - 8:39am

By SHELBY REDONDO
Los Alamos

Dear County Councilors,

I can only imagine how difficult your job must be. I am sure that each decision brought before you is weighed carefully. I am asking you to consider carefully the proposed leisure/kiddie pool that is being considered and why it is important to do it right. 

We need a pool that serves the community, one with a large enough capacity to accommodate large groups of children of all ages. I believe there is no argument against the fact that Los Alamos needs a facility that is neither too deep nor too cold for children to learn to swim. 

A case in

Letter To The Editor: Blaming Downfall Of American Middle Class On Immigration Is Quite An Exaggeration

on November 30, 2017 - 4:00am
By ANDREW DELOREY
Los Alamos
 
In a recent letter, Kathleene Parker (link) touches on a lot of history and social issues that are much bigger than what the school board addressed in a recent resolution. The issue they addressed is whether or not the school system is an appropriate venue for enforcing immigration law. In the resolution, they cited legal precedents and professional norms that guided their decision. I agree with the school board that the school system is an inappropriate venue for enforcing immigration law.
Tags: 

Letter To The Editor: School Board Should File Proposed Sanctuary Resolution In The Trash As Bad Idea

on November 29, 2017 - 7:12am
By KATHLEENE PARKER
Los Alamos
 
Since no one has shown any need for it, I can only believe that the proposed sanctuary resolution, to be considered again at the next meeting of Los Alamos School Board, is really just an attempt at a political statement.  Nowhere more than our schools is that unacceptable. Nowhere more than our schools should respect for the law be taught, based on, "If you disagree with a law, you must work to change it, not just vote to ignore it."
 
What the schools should be doing is OBJECTIVELY teaching immigration history so that students can make informed

Letter To The Editor: Gratitude For Our School Board And Superintendent

on November 28, 2017 - 10:28am
By JESS CULLINAN
Los Alamos

I write in deep gratitude for the service of the members of our Los Alamos School Board and our Superintendent Dr. Kurt Steinhaus.

I also write in dismay that these exemplary public servants find themselves under attack by a campaign of deliberate misinformation and weaponized ignorance by those who would rather stir up ideological fervor than allow them to do their jobs effectively.

There is little we can do to shield our children from exposure to poisonous attitudes that claim that one’s immigration status is a measure of one’s character, and the increasingly

Letter To The Editor: Let’s Do It Right ... Right Now!

on November 28, 2017 - 10:17am
By IRENE POWELL
Los Alamos

Aug. 8, 2017 the Los Alamos County Council voted to just do a small kiddie pool for $5 million instead of using the entire $7,816,000 that was in the projected budget for a multi-generational pool.  

Since then the county staff did the research as requested by the council and has now presented a design for the $5 million, they had to leave out the lazy river and the water slide and it is now just a zero-entry, warm water pool with some water sprays.

The extra $2 million will bring back the lazy river and water slide.

Letter To The Editor: Support Our School Board ... Support Our Students

on November 25, 2017 - 6:23am
By STEPHANIE NAKHLEH
Los Alamos

In the recent flurry of letters to the editor on the Los Alamos School Board’s immigration proposal, it’s evident there’s some confusion over where the board is in the process, as well as what the resolution actually calls for. To clarify: In October, the School Board unanimously voted to approve a resolution to protect students from the threat of increased federal immigration enforcement.

The next step, what was discussed at the last meeting and will be discussed at the next one, is ironing out the specifics of the policy.

Letter To The Editor: Festival Of Trees Committee Says Thank You To Los Alamos Community

on November 24, 2017 - 12:01pm
By PAULINE POWELL SCHNEIDER
BERNADETTE LAURITZEN
FOT Co-Chairs

The Festival of Trees committee would like to thank everyone who attended the 2017 event. Our food donations are being given to those in need in our community.

We couldn’t have done it without all of the volunteers (LAVA, C’YA and National Honors Society) that assisted long before the event took place and still assist with getting our items into the hands of bidders.

Thanks to the many community members and organizations that donated trees, wreaths and holiday decorations.

Shin: If Sanctuary School, Then Kiss $8M Goodbye!

on November 19, 2017 - 2:44pm
By LISA SHIN
Los Alamos

On Aug. 29, 2017, our County Council unanimously passed a proclamation honoring the contributions of immigrants. Compared to the earlier version in April, specific language was removed, its tone was softened, and a more strident “resolution” was changed to a “proclamation,” which did not require a vote.

Although Counci Vice Chair Susan O'Leary called it a “milquetoast,” “weak half measure of timid support,” Councilor Antonio Maggiore recognized “that the original was a little inflammatory, a little reactionary to what just transpired on the national scene.” ...

Letter To The Editor: No To Splash Pad

on November 17, 2017 - 10:32am
By ROBERT VISEL
Los Alamos
 
Our current County Council seems to think they’re omnipotent! They read into the results of the voter’s wishes by assuming we voted for the “Splash Pad” and other Recreation projects. This is a HUGE assumption on their part!
 
I can see making improvements to the Golf Course irrigation system, but that’s IT! Any other improvements to the Golf Course can be funded by those that use it. Same thing applies to the Ice Rink.
 
The real problem I have is the money the Council intends to waste on this so called “Splash Pad”. The County Council has already voted to
Tags: 

Letter To The Editor: Outdoor Enthusiasts Beware

on November 6, 2017 - 11:41am
By Terry DuBois
Los Alamos

The furbearing trapping season began Nov. 1 and runs through March 15.

Please be aware that you may encounter traps in Los Alamos County near some of our trails. My own dog was caught in one and I had no idea how to release her from its grips.

Please review this video and familiarize yourselves with the workings of one of these traps. Releasing a dog is not intuitive, nor is it easy for one person to do it alone. The traps do not have to be visible or flagged, so be extra cautious.

If you are concerned about this issue, please visit Trap Free New Mexico and

Letter To The Editor: Newspapers Early Contributors To Fake News Trend

on November 6, 2017 - 8:10am
By TERRY GOLDMAN
Los Alamos
 
As usual, John Bartlit has hit the nail square on the head regarding identifying fake news. Unfortunately, newspapers themselves have been early contributors to the fake news trend. 
 
Some years ago, I wrote a complaint to the Albuquerque Journal regarding the opinion columns that had started appearing on their front page. I had not been too concerned when they began appearing on page 3, but when they began to intrude on the most important (Page One!) news, it was clear that something in the newspaper ethos had changed, and not for the better. 
 
After awhile,
Tags: 

Letter To The Editor: What Is A Weed?

on November 6, 2017 - 7:58am
By LYNN HANRAHAN
Los Alamos

We went to the County Code Enforcement presentation last Thursday at UNM-LA sponsored by the local Republican Party because we had recently received a notice from the county. Our garden is big, so we thought it might be a good idea to see what didn’t comply to county standards. It is easier to move “offensive” plants now when they are getting ready for their winter slumber. At least I think it is – my son has the green thumb.let

Gardens can be both cost and labor intensive so it’s good to get things right the first time.

Letter To The Editor: Terrorism

on November 6, 2017 - 6:21am
By LEESON S. WEAVER
Troop 71
Los Alamos
 
Terrorism is a horrible act. I feel that eventually our President will realize that further action should be taken, but if not, we need to pressure our government to do so.
 
Terrorism has taken and, sadly, probably will take many more lives, and it needs to be stopped. The action that the government should take is sending more troops to the Middle East to shut down the terrorist organizations such as ISIS.
 
I understand that some terrorists are simply following what they believe in due to their religion, but no religion should require
Tags: 

Big Fun With Four Chairs And A Keyboard: [title of show] Opens At LALT

on November 4, 2017 - 8:18am
From left, Susan (Holly Robinson), Heidi (Joy Reynolds), Jeff (Patrick MacDonald) and Hunter (Stuart Rupprecht) perform a musical number. Photo by Larry Gibbons
 
By BONNIE J. GORDON
Los Alamos Daily Post

The musical comedy [title of show], not a typo, (music and lyrics by Jeff Bowen, book by Hunter Bell) tells the story of its own creation as an entry in the New York Musical Theatre Festival in 2004 up to its Broadway opening in 2008.

Collaborators, writer Hunter (Stuart Rupprecht) and composer and lyricist Jeff (Patrick MacDonald), recruit two actress friends,

LAPS Foundation: Thank You Los Alamos!

on October 31, 2017 - 1:33pm
A sold out crowd enjoys food, wine and entertainment at Taste of Knowledge Oct. 14 at De Colores. Photo by Leslie Bucklin
 
The Ryan Finn Quartet entertains the crowd. Photo by Leslie Bucklin
 
By LAURA LOY 
​Executive Director 
​LAPS Foundation

It was an incredible scene at the Los Alamos Public Schools Foundation’s fundraiser Taste of Knowledge event Saturday, Oct. 14 at the former De Colores restaurant.

One hundred fifty people packed the sold-out event, which featured Spanish tapas and wine, folkloric and ballet dance performances and live jazz music.

Letter To The Editor: Sanctuary Schools Vs Rule Of Law In Los Alamos

on October 31, 2017 - 10:01am

By LUCILLE BONNER
Los Alamos

I am a law-abiding, tax-paying, God-fearing, loyal citizen of the U. S. A.

I support the rule of law, which is the American way to preserve freedom. Therefore, the resolution passed by the Los Alamos School Board on Oct. 13 regarding privacy of immigration and refugee children bothers me. It goes so far as to indicate specifically that school personnel will not cooperate with the ICE, which is the U. S. agency that guards our country against immigrant law-breakers.

I love America, and I also love children brought to our country by illegal-alien parents.

Heinrich Calls On Secretary Perry To Withdraw Proposal To Force Consumers To Subsidize Uncompetitive Coal And Nuclear Companies

on October 26, 2017 - 9:41am

U.S. Sen. Martin Heinrich

From the Office of U.S. Sen. Martin Heinrich

WASHINGTON, D.C. -- In an op-ed today, U.S. Sen. Martin Heinrich (D-N.M.) called on Department of Energy Secretary Rick Perry to withdraw a recent Notice of Proposed Rulemaking (NOPR) directing federal regulators at the Federal Energy Regulatory Commission (FERC) to create rules that would favor coal and nuclear plants that are no longer the most cost-effective producers of energy.

“If FERC were to adopt Secretary Perry’s proposed rule, or anything even remotely similar, it would unravel wholesale energy markets and

Letter To The Editor: A Rose Bush, A Sunflower, A Chamisa, And A Few Little Elms

on October 26, 2017 - 7:23am
By LYNN HANRAHAN
Los Alamos

We received a really creepy, threatening letter the other day. It seems that a rose bush, a sunflower, a chamisa, and a few little elms on our property pose a danger to pedestrians. Horror.

Walking up to get the mail Saturday when this letter arrived I was annoyed. A cat was eating a bird in the driveway. I first complained about this nasty cat over a decade ago to Animal Control. Twelve years later he is still invading my property daily. Could the guy who photographed our garden maybe come and take his picture?  Maybe he could send it to the dog catcher.

Tags: 

Letter To The Editor: What Would We Do Without United Way Of Northern New Mexico?

on October 25, 2017 - 2:15pm
By JOY BEERY
CHERYL PONGRATZ
LAFC Board

What would we do without United Way of Northern New Mexico? The short answer is that many resources in the area would cease to exist and many people who need support would receive no help.

Los Alamos Family Council has received annual United Way funding since we opened in 1963—one of the original agencies to get community funding. We and many other small, local non-profits would be closed without United Way.

That annual funding is invaluable but this year United Way did even more.

Letter To The Editor: Thank You Cheryl Sowder!

on October 20, 2017 - 10:47am
By Cheryl and Morrie Pongratz
Los Alamos

Congratulations to Cheryl Sowder for her 38 years of successful ownership of The Finishing Touch—but it’s no surprise!

Every project Finishing Touch has completed for us has been professionally executed and thoroughly delightful—even the last one that required Cheryl to pursue for a full year to finally get satisfaction on a product complaint on our behalf. She incurred considerable business expense but didn’t give up until the customer was satisfied.

This is the kind of service Los Alamos has received at The Finishing Touch.

Letter To The Editor: Thank You For The Best Customer Service Ever

on October 11, 2017 - 12:22pm
By JOE CORDELL
Los Alamos
 
Often you hear stories about something good resulting from a terrible situation. This is one of those stories. My family and I had a terrible experience when a car we purchased needed repaired.
 
However, during the course of this experience we were given a gift. The gift was being referred to Chevy, Cadillac of Santa Fe, NM.
 
This dealership is incredible.
 
Their teamwork and attention to detail enables them to provide the highest level of customer care. We are very grateful for all of their assistance over the last four months.
Tags: 

Letter To The Editor: It Starts With Me!

on October 7, 2017 - 4:29am
By MIKE LIPPIATT
2017 Campaign Chair
UWNNM Board of Directors

Fellow Los Alamos Community Members,

IT STARTS WITH ME! Such a true statement in all that we set out to do, and because of that I am extremely honored to serve our community through the United Way of Northern New Mexico (UWNNM), as one of our 2017 campaign chairs. I have stepped up to the plate in this capacity because I whole heartedly believe in the critical services our United Way of Northern New Mexico helps to make possible in our community.

In addition to my individual support, and the cornerstone partnership my company

Letter To The Editor: Young Life Thanks You

on October 5, 2017 - 8:04am
By RYAN GILBERT 
Young Life Area Director
 
We had our annual Young Life Golf Tournament Sept. 22, a rowdy Par 3 event.
 
I wanted to thank the businesses and individuals who helped us to raise nearly $4,500! All the money raised goes to helping us take teens camping, either for a weekend or a week next summer, where it has been heard “that was the best week (end) of my life!"
 
A Special Thank You to:
  • Jemez Agency
  • Knecht's NAPA Automotive
  • Los Alamos Home Improvement
  • NUSENDA Credit Union
  • Pasta Paradiso
  • Preventech
  • SOS (Southwest Office Solutions)
  • White Rock Presbyterian Church for sponsoring a

Letter To The Editor: Thank You For Attending Memorial Service For Nancy Bearss

on October 2, 2017 - 6:00pm
By SARAH and ANNETTE FOX
Los Alamos
 
We want to extend a heartfelt thank you to all who attended the memorial service for Nancy Bearss Saturday, Sept. 30.
 
Your attendance, thoughts, and well wishes are truly appreciated. While we still hold her deep in our hearts, the memories from the service will help us carry on.
 
We would especially like to thank Linda Daly and the staff of the YMCA. You went above and beyond and provided the perfect venue for Nancy! Thank you!

Pages


Advertisements