Skip directly to content

Opinion

Letter To The Editor: Stop Wild Horse, Burro Slaughter

on September 7, 2017 - 8:43am
By NANCY TEAGUE
White Rock

I believe our New Mexico lawmakers are opposed to the round up and slaughter of wild horses and burros, but some in congress are not. I’m not sure with everything that is happening in our nation at this time that people are aware of the urgency of this situation and of the necessity of contacting their representatives on this issue.

In 1971 there was a law enacted to protect wild horses and burros. These animals are symbols of our Western Heritage.

Letter To The Editor: Resolution Of Sheriff's Office Legality

on September 5, 2017 - 5:49pm
By RICHARD NEBEL
Los Alamos
 
We've heard a lot lately about what's legal and what isn't with respect to the Sheriff's office. We've heard from a paralegal, some attorney's, and the Sheriff himself what they think the law is.
 
There is a simple (and free) way to resolve this without filing lawsuits. Any public official (like the Sheriff) or governmental entity (like the county) can request an opinion from the Attorney General. While these opinions are not legally binding, they are admissible in a court of law and the Attorney General will go to court to defend these opinions.
 

Attorney General Balderas On President Trump’s Decision To End DACA

on September 4, 2017 - 7:09am

Attorney General Hector Balderas

From the Office of the Attroney General:

ALBUQUERQUE – New Mexico Attorney General Hector Balderas released the following statement in response to President Trump’s decision to end DACA:

“With the decision to end DACA, President Trump is compromising the safety of our communities and our nation, and he is putting the security of thousands of New Mexicans who contribute to our classrooms, public safety and economy at risk.

“Losing hundreds of thousands of future police officers, members of the military, doctors and teachers will create an unacceptable

Letter To The Editor: Failure Of Corporate Trade Policy

on September 3, 2017 - 6:38am
By ED SCOTT
Taos

Corporate America only succeeds if Capitalism works. Capitalism cannot work if the middle class is in debt, shrinking and can no longer be consumers.

America is still the wealthiest nation in the world and in world history … and America also has the greatest wealth disparity in the world and in world history. These are unsustainable conditions … and yet Donald Trump and much of the Republican Party want increase wealth disparity by decreasing federal income taxes for the wealthy class and corporations, resulting in even greater CEO salaries.

This will make American

Letter To The Editor: ‘I’m In, Let’s Close The Door’ Is No Way To Maintain America’s Fundamental Character Of Openness And Generosity

on August 31, 2017 - 8:38am
By TERRY GOLDMAN
Los Alamos

In her recent column, Lisa Shin objects to ‘an undercurrent of obstructionism’ that she detects in the County’s immigration proclamation. This concern is puzzling since America is the paramount representation of a country that adores obstructionism — it comes with freedom of speech and association. Of course, you may not like racist obstructionism or women’s suffrage obstructionism (to consider extremes that have been objected to on both sides) but you are free to so obstruct. 

I have a multitude of objections to the opinions expressed, but let’s focus on

Click ‘Opinions & Columns’ For Latest Submissions

on August 30, 2017 - 7:34am

LADP News:

Click on the “Opinions & Columns” button on our menu bar at the top of this page to access the latest Letters to the Editor and columns.

All past letters and columns are archived in that location as well.

Letters and columns also are posted on the Los Alamos Daily Post Facebook page.

Tags: 

Letter To The Editor: Proud Of County Council

on August 30, 2017 - 7:28am
By JoAnn Johnson
Los Alamos

I am proud of our County Council that they voted unanimously on the immigration proclamation.

A “melting pot” is what makes our Country great.

Letter To The Editor: Response To Lisa Shin

on August 29, 2017 - 8:16am
By JIM NESMITH
Los Alamos

Ms. Shin, you seem to operate under the same premise that President Trump does, that immigrants are not screened (link). You are sadly uninformed and totally wrong.

They are screened extensively and they are screened in a manner that is much more effective and sophisticated than that advocated by you. The simpleton’s approach to Immigration contained in the RAISE Act will result in huge backlogs for legitimate immigrants, be a huge deterrent to highly desirable immigrants and open numerous doors for huge levels of fraud and abuse.

Letter To The Editor: FOS Thanks Sheriff’s Posse

on August 25, 2017 - 12:18pm
By WENDEE BRUNISH
Friends of the Shelter

Friends of the Shelter (FOS) would like to extend a huge thank you to the Los Alamos Sheriff’s Posse (LASP) for inviting us to co-host the August Pancake breakfast at the Posse Lodge.

Several enthusiastic FOS volunteers joined the very experienced (and patient) LASP folks who showed us the ropes and kept everything running smoothly. The breakfast was a big success, and we thank all of the nearly 400 folks that turned out to enjoy the wonderful food that was provided.

Tags: 

Wadt: A Guide To School Grades ... Real Or Noise?

on August 23, 2017 - 3:38pm
By BILL WADT
Los Alamos

The New Mexico Public Education Department (PED) just released the grades for all of the schools in the State. Gov. Susana Martinez advocated for a simple grading system, similar to the one used in Florida, to improve communication with parents and other community members as to how well your local school is doing with a focus on student proficiency in reading and math. That was a very good idea. 

The next question is how do you measure student proficiency in a way that allows you to compare performance from school to school, district to district, and state to state?

Fr. Glenn: One People Under God

on August 20, 2017 - 5:38am
By Rev. Glenn Jones
Immaculate Heart of Mary Catholic Church
Los Alamos

This last week we were treated to yet another example of the truth of scripture—that “there is nothing new under the sun.” (Ecclesiastes 1:9) The wall-to-wall coverage about the Charlottesville and subsequent protests and counter-protests reminded of the riots of the 60’s and 70’s. Sigh. Perhaps the birthing pains of eventually moving toward a more civilized society, we can only hope.

Predictably, there were myriad reactions over the Charlottesville protests and events.

Letter To The Editor: Response To Mr. Nebel & Citizens

on August 19, 2017 - 9:52am
By GREG WHITE
Los Alamos
 
Yes Mr. Nebel, the free way to know the law is to READ the law for yourself as opposed to having a patronage politician like the AG read it for you (link). Which by the way the AG, a patronage politician (by your definition) does not testify in court and legally only issues guidance for state and local government bodies. I would welcome the county to request such an opinion from the patronage AG since the council, patronage politicians, refuse to believe their own attorney, a patronage position, and the AG's already investigating my criminal complaints anyway.
 

Letter To The Editor: Worry Over USA-DPRK Conflict

on August 19, 2017 - 7:17am
 
Dr. T. Douglas Reilly
Los Alamos
 
Much is reported regarding the war of words between the leaders of North Korea and the USA. Unfotunately, little is said about the history of North Korea; whose official name is the Democratic People's Republic of Korea (DPRK). North Korea is often called the Hermit Kingdom, because it is so closed to the outside world.
 
President Trump's words feed directly into the policy and mind of Kim Jong Un. I don't think continental USA is threatened by the North. However, South Korea (Republic of Korea (ROK)), Japan, and other islands are threatened by

Letter To The Editor: Thank You Cheryl Bell

on August 18, 2017 - 3:19pm
By JAMES ROBINSON
Chair, Land of Enchantment Wildlife Foundation
Member, Environmental Sustainability Board
 
I wanted to thank Cheryl Bell for the wonderful letter about bears (link). One point I really want to drive home is thanking Los Alamos for making great strides in becoming a bear friendly community.
 
Earlier this year, the Pajarito Environmental Education Center and Land of Enchantment Wildlife Foundation teamed up to host New Mexico’s first Bear Festival.

Letter To The Editor: Response To Bruce Blevins

on August 18, 2017 - 7:03am
By ANDY ANDREWS
Los Alamos
 
On Aug. 12, 2017, Bruce Blevins, Ph.D., commented on my column titled World Futures: Efficiency (Part Three).
 
His comments and action to write to the editor raised my spirits because he read the column. His comment on paragraph three, however, dampened my enthusiasm.
 
In line one I wrote of kilowatts of energy (abbreviated) and in line three used the correct term kilowatt-hours (also abbreviated). Clearly a typo in line one.
 
Dr. Blevins also commented on my incorrect use (format) of abbreviations to which I say thank you for pointing it out.
Tags: 

Letter To The Editor: A Simple Request...

on August 17, 2017 - 10:13am
By BILL JOHNSON
Los Alamos
 
As it says, a simple request.
 
I come here to read news of our community, not to spectate on personal vendettas conducted via letters to the editor, even if the participants are friends of mine.
 
Would those who participate in, and escalate, those vendettas mind taking them elsewhere?
 
Thank you.
Tags: 

Letter To The Editor: A New Low In Los Alamos Politics, Again

on August 17, 2017 - 8:08am
By Anonymous and incredulous
Los Alamos
 
This letter responds to Lisa Brenner’s self-congratulatory narrative about how the bogus ethics charges she filed against County Councilors James Chrobocisnki and Susan O’Leary were really a brilliant political masterstroke. (See link http://ladailypost.com/ content/letter-editor-ethics- complaint-dismissal)
 
When reasonable people see a newspaper like the Los Alamos Monitor run big photos and bold headlines that scream ETHICS COMPLAINT FILED, they naturally think that somebody must have done something wrong.

Letter To The Editor: You Can Be Racist. You Can Be A Christian. You Cannot Be Both.

on August 17, 2017 - 7:34am
Statement From La Vista Church
White Rock

The ideologies of any organization or individual that claim the superiority of race over another is absolutely incompatible with the message of the Christian Bible.

Racism is an abhorrent sin against humanity and God. Entities such as the KKK, white nationalists, neo-Nazi’s, or other such racist organizations are evil and in complete opposition to the Christian Bible.

You can be racist. You can be a Christian. You cannot be both.

Letter To The Editor: Ethics Complaint Dismissal

on August 16, 2017 - 7:47am
By LISA BRENNER
Los Alamos

Thank you, Carol, for printing the letter from the SOS on the ethics complaint that I had filed against the LA Future PAC.

As explanation, I filed the ethics complaint against the LA Future PAC for their yard signs as I was familiar with the campaign laws and it is a typical political tactic to go after technicalities such as these. Based on the evidence I supplied to the SOS, there was a clear violation in the LA Future PAC signage. However, and most interesting, is that the NM law is unconstitutional! 

The most interesting part (and you should read the whole thing 

Letter To The Editor: 'Operation Pamper' Thank You

on August 15, 2017 - 8:42am
By TONYA SPROUSE
Los Alamos
 
I would like to take this time to THANK the following businesses/ independent consultants in Los Alamos who donated to "Operation Pamper".
  • David Patterson of Dave's Sports Barbershop
  • Hilltop Spa
  • Top Nail
  • Mark Hamilton of HairZart
  • Lisa Hudston- Roden + Fields
  • Stephanie Krantz- Essential Oils/Yoga classes
  • Nickole Aguilar-Garcia- Posh
  • Attelia Hollander- Jamberry/Younique
  • Mindy Blandford- Scentsy
  • Float Los Alamos
  • KJM Automotive
  • Samantha D'Anna Photography
  • Sirphy
 
I am so excited to put the baskets together for the deserving individuals that were nominated. 
 
Below is a
Tags: 

Letter To The Editor: Response To Experience Rational Citizen

on August 14, 2017 - 2:49pm
By RICHARD NEBEL
Los Alamos
 
First of all, I don’t have a personal beef with the Sheriff. I don’t even doubt that he’s a swell guy. Most patronage politicians are. What I don’t like is his behavior of trying to expand his office at our expense and threatening people with lawsuits if he doesn’t get his way.
 
If you really want to resolve this issue, here’s how to do it. The first step is to find out what the law says. There is an easy (and FREE) way to do that.

Letter To The Editor: It's The Law ... Period

on August 14, 2017 - 2:39pm
By GREG WHITE
Los Alamos

 

The lawsuit can be easily legally avoided by abolishing the LAPD and transferring all the officers, duties and responsibilities to the LA Sheriff Dept. Maintaing the basic command structure. This is the ONLY LEGAL way to solve the issue AND make everyone happy as well as save $206,000 in salaries (except the police chief and deputy chief who will be out of a job and the county council who enjoy breaking the law). This would solve Mr. Chapmen's concerns as well as Mr. and Mrs. Chandler and Mrs. O'leary's.

 
To Mr./Ms.

Letter To The Editor: Where To Find Duties Of Sheriff

on August 14, 2017 - 10:45am
By DELIA CRUZ-MURPHY
Los Alamos

I am sure concerned citizens in Los Alamos are well aware of the growing concern regarding the position of the Sheriff. It is probably in the best interest of the people in the community to know where to find where the duties of the Sheriff are outlined. They are listed in Los Alamos County Code of Ordinances, Part I – Charter, Article III, Section 304.4: 

It also is in the best interest of the community to understand that it is not up to the Sheriff to

Letter To The Editor: Let's Focus On The Purpose Of Sheriff's Department

on August 14, 2017 - 7:53am

By Experienced Rational Citizen
Los Alamos
 
I cannot debate Mr. Nebel’s concern about excessive force with certain metropolitan Police Departments in the state, given the DOJ’s findings; nor do I dispute the purpose of the military.  
 
But his skittishness about metropolitan Police Departments is not fully applicable here in Los Alamos County. And, lofty daydreaming about Mayberry clouds judgement—the days of Barney Fife are long past.
 
Reading some of his letters, I believe he has a personal issue with the current Sheriff, and is unfortunately unable to split that personality
Tags: 

Letter To The Editor: Proper Use Of Units In Electrical Matters ... Does Matter

on August 12, 2017 - 6:38am
By BRUCE BLEVINS
Chief Technical Officer, Ph.D.
Antenna Development Corporation
Las Cruces
 
Perhaps I am too concerned with the proper use of units in electrical matters. Here is a short tutorial (perhaps of interest to Andy Andrews link):
  • We pay for electricity in units of kWh - that is, the integrated product of the power consumption times the length of time. For example, a 1 kW load uses an energy of 1 kWh.
Tags: 

Pages


Advertisements