Skip directly to content

Opinion

Letter To The Editor: Some Clarification For Dowden And The Central-NM502 Roundabout

on April 14, 2017 - 12:44pm
By JOEL M. WILLIAMS
Los Alamos
 
Yes, NMDOT is now responsible for the NM502 project design, construction, etc (via contracts).
 
Just when LA County ceased to be party to this project is not clear; at least to me. The county did spend monies to do the things from Knecht-DP to get Smith's up and running. Did that remove them from further monetary participation in the project and leave the remainder of the project with the state?
 
If the project is solely state now, then the state can exercise right of eminent domain as the one in VA did with part of a cemetery my forebears were

Letter To The Editor: Re-discovering Meaning Of Family And Community During Challenging Times

on April 14, 2017 - 11:05am
By Patrick Mockler Wood,
Emily Blumenthal,
Catherine Mockler and Family

Recently, we re-discovered the meaning of family and community during another challenge we faced operating a family-owned small business. Our restaurant, the Pajarito Brewpub and Grill, experienced a gas leak that forced us to call on the community of Los Alamos and our family and friends for support.

We wanted to publicly recognize and thank those that helped us get through a rough day.

Thank you to the Los Alamos Fire Department whose staff worked quickly and professionally to respond to the incident and locate the

Letter To The Editor: Continuing The Conversation On Treatment Of Immigrants And Refugees

on April 13, 2017 - 9:04am
By David Izraelevitz and Chris Chandler
Los Alamos County Councilors
 
Our fellow Councilor Pete Sheehey prompted a spirited community discussion about law enforcement, community values, and the roles and responsibilities of our local government when he brought forward a resolution at a Council session last week focusing on the treatment of immigrants and refugees in our community and nationally.
 
Many community members spoke up during that Council session, and even from the dais, we could feel the intensity of feeling and personal attachment to the subject.

Op-ed: Vetoes Raise Concerns

on April 13, 2017 - 8:46am
By Rep. Stephanie Garcia Richard
Los Alamos, Santa Fe, Sandoval & Rio Arriba

This week I had planned to provide my next installment of post legislative wrap up, however recent events have prompted a change in topic.

This past legislative session, amidst ever shrinking revenue forecasts and mounting needs in the state budget, legislators—House and Senate, Democrat and Republican—decided to take action by crafting a budget with no additional cuts and an accompanying revenue package that raised $350 million in new dollars for the state with such targeted, moderate revenue increases as: 

Letter To The Editor: Roundabout Misconception

on April 13, 2017 - 8:09am
By TONY AMSDEN
Los Alamos

I would like to clarify a misconception in the letter from Mr. Dowden (link), and add a bit of history:

As the Los Alamos Daily Post editor pointed out in the earlier letter from Mr. Antos (link), it is indeed the New Mexico Department of Transportation (NMDOT) that is building the roundabout (RDB) at the main entrance to Los Alamos, not Los Alamos County, because it involves an official New Mexico State highway.

The important point is that NMDOT was NEVER in favor of an RDB at that location (or anywhere on that highway), and proposed a simple signalized

Letter To The Editor: Response To Roundabout

on April 12, 2017 - 3:21pm
By PAUL DOWDEN
Los Alamos
 
About a year ago I wrote a letter to all of the Los Alamos County Council and Atomic City Transit. I received no reply from anyone.
 
I was appalled at the fact that these councilors are elected "at large", which means they are responsible to everyone but in reality "no one".
 
My father was a city councilman in Indianapolis for 32 years, which has discreet districts and they are directly liable to their 100,000 plus constituents. The editor added a note to a recent letter that said it was NMDOT that was building the roundabout, not LA county.

Letter To The Editor: Sheehey - Elected Sheriff Should Be Supported

on April 12, 2017 - 12:27pm
By PETE SHEEHEY
Los Alamos County Councilor

Sheriff Marco Lucero was elected in 2010 and re-elected in 2014 by stressing the importance of the Sheriff’s role in Los Alamos. Majorities on County Councils, not including myself, have worked against this, drastically cutting his budget and ultimately calling an election last November to eliminate the Office of Sheriff. Our citizens disagreed, and voted to keep an elected Sheriff.

Sheriff Lucero will present a proposal at next week’s budget hearings to restore his office’s budget.

Letter To The Editor: Los Alamos County’s Budget Season Is About To Begin ... So Pay Attention

on April 12, 2017 - 11:33am
By JOSE CARRENO, MBA
Los Alamos
 
As Los Alamos County’s (LAC’s) budget season begins, I would like to provide our citizens some information. 
 
Recently I wrote to all Council members and made a presentation at their meeting of my intent to bring this proposal to the Council during the coming budget process. All the Councilors had stated at one time or another how they support greater efficiency in the county - now it's time to begin to make it happen. When Council was given this data last year, it “considered” and no changes were made.
 
First of all, a discussion of the new enterprise

Letter To The Editor: Syria

on April 12, 2017 - 7:35am
By DOUG REILLY
Los Alamos
 
The recent chemical attack (ID'ed as Sarin gas) is horrific, to be sure, whoever has done it. WAR IS HORRIFIC! When we respond to killing by killing more people, we only guarantee there will be further killing.
 
President Assad, in my opinion, has done exactly what the USA would do if faced with another civil war, i.e. fight the rebels.
 
In addition, the USA’s actions have been responsible for prolonging the dying and suffering of the Syrian people, and the millions of refugees from Syria and other states in the middle east.

Letter To The Editor: Respect, Justice And Compassion Is The American Way

on April 12, 2017 - 6:50am
By KATE GARDUNO-KING
Los Alamos

Treating all people with respect, justice and compassion seems like something we can all agree on, doesn’t it? I was surprised to find this statement being treated as controversial as I watched the April 4 County Council meeting.

Councilor Pete Sheehey proposed a resolution stating that “we support and observe the fundamental American value that all people, including immigrants and refugees, should be treated with respect, justice and compassion.” This sounds simple enough.

Letter To The Editor: Exercising Eminent Domain

on April 11, 2017 - 10:23am
By GERALD ANTOS
Los Alamos
 
Are you kidding me? Using eminent domain for a roundabout that the people of Los Alamos do not want or need is by far and away one of stupidest things our County Government will ever do!
 
I guess it's ok for a bunch of our spendthrift county councilors to do what they damn well please in spite of the total inconvenience it will cause the people of Los Alamos.
 
I personally believe that our council should put this kind of inconvenience up to a public vote that requires a 75 percent approval of citizenry of Los Alamos before they throw money at a problem

Letter To The Editor: Show Me A Legal Immigrant Who Has Not Been Vetted

on April 11, 2017 - 8:17am
By That Concerned Citizen
Los Alamos

Reply to Martha Jones (link) and Dave Jones (link), thank you to both of you for some historical background on US immigration laws. That was definitely interesting for me as an immigrant that learned US history later in life. Some rules are puzzling for me in the context of modern history and that they have been applied in the past, does not make them right. It should rather be a lesson for a better future.

I do not feel knowledgeable enough to talk about the discussions in the Los Alamos County Council meeting but want to point out that bigger cities

Letter To The Editor: Don't Call Police For Pizza

on April 10, 2017 - 4:54pm
By GLENN MICHEL
Los Alamos

I too attended the Los Alamos County Council meeting Tuesday. I too heard Councilor Tony Maggiore state that the council has previously strayed beyond their purview. I am of two minds about this. 

On the one hand it might be better for the county if drafting ineffective and irrelevant resolutions, and then pontificating about them for hours was ALL the county council did. On the other hand perhaps the county would actually benefit if the county council stuck to county business. One can argue either side of this.

People, the county council is not a platform for

Letter To The Editor: Council Meeting Thoughts

on April 10, 2017 - 2:26pm
By DAVE JONES
Los Alamos
 
I attended the Los Alamos County Council meeting Tuesday night to support President Trump’s temporary immigration ban and to oppose the proposed resolution relating to immigration.
 
Here are a few of my takeaway thoughts from that meeting:
 
Councilor Antonio Maggiore stated that, because the Council went beyond their purview many times and have gotten away with it, they could continue doing so. That’s not my opinion. What that tells me is that we need to watch the Council more closely and prevent them from going beyond their purview in the first place.
 

Letter To The Editor: There Will Be A Time For Compassion But For Now Immigrants Must Be Vetted

on April 10, 2017 - 8:31am

By MARTHA JONES
Los Alamos

After reading the proposed resolution constructed by Los Alamos County Councilor Pete Sheehey, and agreed upon by Council Chair David Izraelevitz, I too am voicing my opinion.

The history of immigration in our country has had different issues to take into consideration over the past two centuries. Our government has had to implement various policies and procedures about immigration to fit our needs. From the very early days in 1875 restrictions and policies barred convicts and prostitutes from entering.

Letter To The Editor: Budget Time, Los Alamos ... Let's Not Go Down A Rabbit Hole

on April 10, 2017 - 7:56am
By GEORGE CHANDLER
Los Alamos

Budget time, Los Alamos! Once more down the rabbit hole. 

Our Sheriff is the wabbit, leading us on. Even though the voters last fall simply chose to keep the office as it was then (register sex offenders, wear the Hat), he now approaches the council announcing that the result was a mandate to expand the office so he can provide unspecified “services” to the tune of $348,118 (link).

Now we see the end game: TOYS! A $65,000 ¾ ton truck with a gooseneck hitch for transporting HORSES – to scenes!

Letter To The Editor: Governor's Glowing Picture Of Education At Odds With Data

on April 9, 2017 - 4:27pm
By J. TAUB
Los Alamos

What a glowing picture of education in New Mexico as presented by Governor Martinez in her April 2 announcement of changes to the teacher evaluation system - what many teachers feel is a tiny step in the right direction to simply superficial. 

Reading on through her missive, what should I believe - the Governor’s rosy picture of public education in New Mexico, or various education review evaluations that appear annually? For instance, the one reported on by Kim Burgess, Jan. 4, 2017, Albuquerque Journal Staff Writer, Study: NM ranks 49th in quality of education

Letter To The Editor: Consider This Solution...

on April 9, 2017 - 6:46am
By PATRICK BRENNER
Los Alamos

The proposed amendment to eliminate the Office of Sheriff failed. Rather than continue breeding contempt between the Council, the Sheriff and the Police Department, I invite you to consider an alternative solution.

Rather than amending the County Charter to remove the Sheriff or remove the Chief of Police, why not amend the wording involving duplication of duties? Redefine the duties as shared responsibilities. Everything that the Police do, the Sheriff is equally responsible for. Everything the Sheriff does, the Police are equally responsible for.

Sen. Sanchez On Veto Of Bill To Raise Minimum Wage

on April 7, 2017 - 9:51am
Sen. Clemente Sanchez
 
By Sen. CLEMENTE SANCHEZ
Cibola, Socorro, McKinley and Valencia
 

In the late hours of the night, Gov. Susana Martinez vetoed Sen. Clemente Sanchez’s Senate Bill 386, which would have raised the state’s minimum wage to $9 per hour. Throughout the legislative process, the bill received broad support from labor unions and business groups alike with representatives from AFSCME Council 18 and the Albuquerque Chamber of Commerce standing in support.

“This session the business and labor communities came together to support a modest raise for families who too often

Letter To The Editor: Sheriff Seeks To Build Empire

on April 7, 2017 - 9:15am
By CORNELL WRIGHT
Los Alamos
 
Sheriff Marco Lucero proposes to increase his office's budget to $348,118, up from a 2017 budget of $85,411. That's an increase of four times.
 
This is empire building, plain and simple. I wonder if Los Alamos County residents would have voted to retain the Sheriff's office if they knew this increase would be the outcome.

Letter To The Editor: Zero = A Lot? PAC Math

on April 6, 2017 - 9:39am
By DAVID NORTH
Los Aamos
 
If "a lot of these projects are going to be self-sufficient" as claimed by a board member of the PAC pushing the rec bond, why do consultants to the County say all five will lose money?

That "self-sufficient" quote appeared in a March 23 front-page Los Alamos Daily Post article. Anticipated annual costs include $546,210 for the rec center, $298,376 for the leisure pool, $37,432 for the splashpad, and $60,695 for the baseball fields. That's a tidy $942,713 total.

The losses will have to be covered by the County every year for as long as the facilities exist.

Letter To The Editor: Grateful To Smith’s Employees

on April 6, 2017 - 9:03am
By Grateful Los Alamos Resident
 
I'd like to thank the person or persons at Smith’s who have kept the mobility carts for handicapped use fully charged and ready for use in the last six months or so.
 
In the past, most, if not all, of these carts were not available for use because of fully discharged batteries. No one would plug them in. Sometimes all 12 carts were not usable and I had to go back home without shopping and try again the next day.
 
So thanks again to every Smith’s employee who has been helping all of us who need the carts for shopping.

Letter To The Editor: Immigrant Is Not A Bad Word

on April 6, 2017 - 7:51am
By That Concerned Citizen
Los Alamos
 
Dear Mr. Savage,
 
I am glad to see that you acknowledge the constitution and call human beings born in the US “citizens” (link).
 
In the present political climate in this country (including the present administration and immigration enforcement), there are areas where it is viewed differently. Way too often the news reports White Straight Americans (predominantly among those who voted for Mr. Trump) equate people who do not look “acceptable” to them to terrorists or illegal immigrants and are aggressive against them.

Letter To The Editor: Glad You're Sorry, But...

on April 4, 2017 - 11:45am
By TERRY GOLDMAN
Los Alamos
 
While I'm glad to see that Daren Savage is sorry, (link) (Sorry, that is the correct legal term for people who enter the United States without legal immigration documents), he still is making a common error: Nothing is definitely illegal until a judge (or jury) says so in a court of law.
 
Even 'undocumented' is an incorrect term, as those involved may well have some documents. Or they may qualify for refugee status. The only factually (independent of politically) correct term is 'unauthorized'.

Op-Ed: When Native Students Succeed, NM Thrives

on April 4, 2017 - 10:56am
By Rep. Stephanie Garcia Richard, D-Los Alamos
Chairwoman of the House Education Committee
and
Rep. Derrick J. Lente, D-Sandia Pueblo

 

When Native American students succeed, the state of New Mexico thrives. This principle was the driving force behind House Bill 484. House Bill 484 would have provided a mechanism for New Mexico’s Native American students to obtain the culturally relevant support they need to achieve academic success, helping to close the achievement gap and instilling the importance of education after high school.

 

But last week, Gov.

Pages


Advertisements