Skip directly to content

Opinion

Fr. Glenn: One People Under God

on August 20, 2017 - 5:38am
By Rev. Glenn Jones
Immaculate Heart of Mary Catholic Church
Los Alamos

This last week we were treated to yet another example of the truth of scripture—that “there is nothing new under the sun.” (Ecclesiastes 1:9) The wall-to-wall coverage about the Charlottesville and subsequent protests and counter-protests reminded of the riots of the 60’s and 70’s. Sigh. Perhaps the birthing pains of eventually moving toward a more civilized society, we can only hope.

Predictably, there were myriad reactions over the Charlottesville protests and events.

Letter To The Editor: Response To Mr. Nebel & Citizens

on August 19, 2017 - 9:52am
By GREG WHITE
Los Alamos
 
Yes Mr. Nebel, the free way to know the law is to READ the law for yourself as opposed to having a patronage politician like the AG read it for you (link). Which by the way the AG, a patronage politician (by your definition) does not testify in court and legally only issues guidance for state and local government bodies. I would welcome the county to request such an opinion from the patronage AG since the council, patronage politicians, refuse to believe their own attorney, a patronage position, and the AG's already investigating my criminal complaints anyway.
 

Letter To The Editor: Worry Over USA-DPRK Conflict

on August 19, 2017 - 7:17am
 
Dr. T. Douglas Reilly
Los Alamos
 
Much is reported regarding the war of words between the leaders of North Korea and the USA. Unfotunately, little is said about the history of North Korea; whose official name is the Democratic People's Republic of Korea (DPRK). North Korea is often called the Hermit Kingdom, because it is so closed to the outside world.
 
President Trump's words feed directly into the policy and mind of Kim Jong Un. I don't think continental USA is threatened by the North. However, South Korea (Republic of Korea (ROK)), Japan, and other islands are threatened by

Letter To The Editor: Thank You Cheryl Bell

on August 18, 2017 - 3:19pm
By JAMES ROBINSON
Chair, Land of Enchantment Wildlife Foundation
Member, Environmental Sustainability Board
 
I wanted to thank Cheryl Bell for the wonderful letter about bears (link). One point I really want to drive home is thanking Los Alamos for making great strides in becoming a bear friendly community.
 
Earlier this year, the Pajarito Environmental Education Center and Land of Enchantment Wildlife Foundation teamed up to host New Mexico’s first Bear Festival.

Letter To The Editor: Response To Bruce Blevins

on August 18, 2017 - 7:03am
By ANDY ANDREWS
Los Alamos
 
On Aug. 12, 2017, Bruce Blevins, Ph.D., commented on my column titled World Futures: Efficiency (Part Three).
 
His comments and action to write to the editor raised my spirits because he read the column. His comment on paragraph three, however, dampened my enthusiasm.
 
In line one I wrote of kilowatts of energy (abbreviated) and in line three used the correct term kilowatt-hours (also abbreviated). Clearly a typo in line one.
 
Dr. Blevins also commented on my incorrect use (format) of abbreviations to which I say thank you for pointing it out.
Tags: 

Letter To The Editor: A Simple Request...

on August 17, 2017 - 10:13am
By BILL JOHNSON
Los Alamos
 
As it says, a simple request.
 
I come here to read news of our community, not to spectate on personal vendettas conducted via letters to the editor, even if the participants are friends of mine.
 
Would those who participate in, and escalate, those vendettas mind taking them elsewhere?
 
Thank you.
Tags: 

Letter To The Editor: A New Low In Los Alamos Politics, Again

on August 17, 2017 - 8:08am
By Anonymous and incredulous
Los Alamos
 
This letter responds to Lisa Brenner’s self-congratulatory narrative about how the bogus ethics charges she filed against County Councilors James Chrobocisnki and Susan O’Leary were really a brilliant political masterstroke. (See link http://ladailypost.com/ content/letter-editor-ethics- complaint-dismissal)
 
When reasonable people see a newspaper like the Los Alamos Monitor run big photos and bold headlines that scream ETHICS COMPLAINT FILED, they naturally think that somebody must have done something wrong.

Letter To The Editor: You Can Be Racist. You Can Be A Christian. You Cannot Be Both.

on August 17, 2017 - 7:34am
Statement From La Vista Church
White Rock

The ideologies of any organization or individual that claim the superiority of race over another is absolutely incompatible with the message of the Christian Bible.

Racism is an abhorrent sin against humanity and God. Entities such as the KKK, white nationalists, neo-Nazi’s, or other such racist organizations are evil and in complete opposition to the Christian Bible.

You can be racist. You can be a Christian. You cannot be both.

Letter To The Editor: Ethics Complaint Dismissal

on August 16, 2017 - 7:47am
By LISA BRENNER
Los Alamos

Thank you, Carol, for printing the letter from the SOS on the ethics complaint that I had filed against the LA Future PAC.

As explanation, I filed the ethics complaint against the LA Future PAC for their yard signs as I was familiar with the campaign laws and it is a typical political tactic to go after technicalities such as these. Based on the evidence I supplied to the SOS, there was a clear violation in the LA Future PAC signage. However, and most interesting, is that the NM law is unconstitutional! 

The most interesting part (and you should read the whole thing 

Letter To The Editor: 'Operation Pamper' Thank You

on August 15, 2017 - 8:42am
By TONYA SPROUSE
Los Alamos
 
I would like to take this time to THANK the following businesses/ independent consultants in Los Alamos who donated to "Operation Pamper".
  • David Patterson of Dave's Sports Barbershop
  • Hilltop Spa
  • Top Nail
  • Mark Hamilton of HairZart
  • Lisa Hudston- Roden + Fields
  • Stephanie Krantz- Essential Oils/Yoga classes
  • Nickole Aguilar-Garcia- Posh
  • Attelia Hollander- Jamberry/Younique
  • Mindy Blandford- Scentsy
  • Float Los Alamos
  • KJM Automotive
  • Samantha D'Anna Photography
  • Sirphy
 
I am so excited to put the baskets together for the deserving individuals that were nominated. 
 
Below is a
Tags: 

Letter To The Editor: Response To Experience Rational Citizen

on August 14, 2017 - 2:49pm
By RICHARD NEBEL
Los Alamos
 
First of all, I don’t have a personal beef with the Sheriff. I don’t even doubt that he’s a swell guy. Most patronage politicians are. What I don’t like is his behavior of trying to expand his office at our expense and threatening people with lawsuits if he doesn’t get his way.
 
If you really want to resolve this issue, here’s how to do it. The first step is to find out what the law says. There is an easy (and FREE) way to do that.

Letter To The Editor: It's The Law ... Period

on August 14, 2017 - 2:39pm
By GREG WHITE
Los Alamos

 

The lawsuit can be easily legally avoided by abolishing the LAPD and transferring all the officers, duties and responsibilities to the LA Sheriff Dept. Maintaing the basic command structure. This is the ONLY LEGAL way to solve the issue AND make everyone happy as well as save $206,000 in salaries (except the police chief and deputy chief who will be out of a job and the county council who enjoy breaking the law). This would solve Mr. Chapmen's concerns as well as Mr. and Mrs. Chandler and Mrs. O'leary's.

 
To Mr./Ms.

Letter To The Editor: Where To Find Duties Of Sheriff

on August 14, 2017 - 10:45am
By DELIA CRUZ-MURPHY
Los Alamos

I am sure concerned citizens in Los Alamos are well aware of the growing concern regarding the position of the Sheriff. It is probably in the best interest of the people in the community to know where to find where the duties of the Sheriff are outlined. They are listed in Los Alamos County Code of Ordinances, Part I – Charter, Article III, Section 304.4: 

It also is in the best interest of the community to understand that it is not up to the Sheriff to

Letter To The Editor: Let's Focus On The Purpose Of Sheriff's Department

on August 14, 2017 - 7:53am

By Experienced Rational Citizen
Los Alamos
 
I cannot debate Mr. Nebel’s concern about excessive force with certain metropolitan Police Departments in the state, given the DOJ’s findings; nor do I dispute the purpose of the military.  
 
But his skittishness about metropolitan Police Departments is not fully applicable here in Los Alamos County. And, lofty daydreaming about Mayberry clouds judgement—the days of Barney Fife are long past.
 
Reading some of his letters, I believe he has a personal issue with the current Sheriff, and is unfortunately unable to split that personality
Tags: 

Letter To The Editor: Proper Use Of Units In Electrical Matters ... Does Matter

on August 12, 2017 - 6:38am
By BRUCE BLEVINS
Chief Technical Officer, Ph.D.
Antenna Development Corporation
Las Cruces
 
Perhaps I am too concerned with the proper use of units in electrical matters. Here is a short tutorial (perhaps of interest to Andy Andrews link):
  • We pay for electricity in units of kWh - that is, the integrated product of the power consumption times the length of time. For example, a 1 kW load uses an energy of 1 kWh.
Tags: 

Letter To The Editor: School Choice Needed For Education Progress In New Mexico

on August 12, 2017 - 6:29am
By PAUL J. GESSING, president
New Mexico’s Rio Grande Foundation
 
It’s back to school time in New Mexico. But throughout the summer three big education-related headlines have framed education policy issues that will impact our school children this year and for years to come:
  • The recently-completed court hearing as to whether New Mexico’s education system is “adequate” and whether the courts should attempt to force legislators to spend as much as an extra $600 million on K-12;
  • Sen.

Letter To The Editor: UNM-LA’s Community Internship Collaboration Is A Great Program!

on August 11, 2017 - 8:10am
By KURT BENNER
White Rock

Dear Community,

With school starting on the 17th, I want to let you know about something I did last semester that was awesome! I gained valuable experience, learned a lot, and EARNED 1 credit at UNMLA and $600.

How did I do this? I was an intern with the Community Internship Collaboration – a joint venture between LAHS, UNM-LA and businesses in our community.

This program will start again this semester. There are limited opportunities and if you are interested, you MUST ATTEND one of the upcoming orientation sessions:

  • Wednesday, Aug.

Letter To The Editor: Cats Moving Into The Neighborhood

on August 11, 2017 - 6:45am
By HUGH JAMES LATIMER
Los Alamos
 
In response to the comment about cats moving into the neighborhood: be grateful.
 
The Lyme spirochete has been around for millions of years. Lyme disease started to explode in the 1970’s and 1980’s, which is when the national spay-neuter programs got started, and the population of outdoor cats dropped like a rock.
 
I remember as a child in the 1950’s seeing kittens running around outdoors in the summer. In the last thirty years, except for my own protected outdoor cat colony, I’ve seen only one outdoor kitten.
 
The ticks that carry Lyme have a
Tags: 

Letter To The Editor: No To Pajarito Mountain Transfer

on August 10, 2017 - 9:20am
By REID PRIEDHORSKY
Los Alamos
 
Some of your readers may be aware that the Los Alamos Ski Club is seeking a new arrangement for Pajarito Mountain. The original proposal was to transfer ownership of the ski area to the county, and a private company would operate it. However, that never actually happened, and now the club’s board wants to transfer ownership directly to this private company. I believe this poses an unacceptable risk that the public will lose access to the mountain.
 
This opinion is based on my reading of the ski club’s background memo to members (link). Quotes are from the
Tags: 

Letter To The Editor: Yes Leadership Takes Courage...

on August 10, 2017 - 7:58am
By TERRY GOLDMAN
Los Alamos

It was a great pleasure to see Tony Fox insist that the Council recognize that voting against the rec bond is not identical with voting against the rec projects. One may be fiscally conservative and still be in favor of some quality of life improvements and infrastructure development.

And while Dr. Shin is indeed correct that quantification is not precise, it is certainly clear that everyone who voted for the bond is also in favor of the projects.

Letter To The Editor: Here We Go Again

on August 10, 2017 - 7:13am
By Concerned Citizen
Los Alamos
 
Another letter regarding the highly debated Sheriff in LA County. Many letters have quoted state statute. Many have quoted the Charter. Many have referred to the Supreme Court decision that validates the Charter. Let’s get down to the meat of the subject.
 
By election, the citizens of this County voted to retain the Office of the Sheriff, but it was a narrow margin (+/- 500). This town is as divided on the subject as the rest of the country is on other political fronts.
 
However nowhere in that election did it indicate that the duties of the Sheriff
Tags: 

Letter To The Editor: Three Ideas, Two Concerns On Rec Projects

on August 8, 2017 - 4:23pm
By LISA BRENNER
Los Alamos

Dear County Councilors,

 

With the upcoming discussion tonight of the continued want for recreational projects in Los Alamos I have three suggestions:
 
1)  Any LANL contract could incorporate an item from the bidder toward community development. LANL is just as interested in attracting the best and the brightest and, if it's true that adding recreational facilities will accomplish this, then it's appropriate for them to have some skin in the game.  It is not a "punishment" as I've heard a Councilor say, but an honor and smart business.
 
2)  Some thought

Letter To The Editor: No Means No

on August 8, 2017 - 8:01am
By GRAHAM MARK
Los Alamos
 
Dear Council,
 
Please do not continue planning or funding county projects that were voted down in the last election. Incredibly, the “No” vote is being re-interpreted by believers in alternative facts to mean “OK.” Funding was one issue in that election, and financing seems the only issue being considered today, as if that's all that matters. But there are other things in life than money—for example, representative democracy.
 
You, the council, should not get to override the voting population. The county as a whole spoke last fall.

Letter To The Editor: Follow Up On Rec Projects Issue

on August 8, 2017 - 7:41am
By ROBERT PELAK
Los Alamos
 
In recent letters to the Los Alamos Daily Post, Joyce Anderson, Stephanie Nakhleh and Megan Fox have each suggested that a subset of the recreation bond projects should be undertaken despite the rejection by the public of the bond needed to finance them. They each offer slightly different interpretations on the meaning of the "no" vote. Did it mean that people only wanted one or some but not all of the projects? Did they want none of the projects because of the increase in future maintenance costs? Did they just not want to finance the projects with a bond?

Letter To The Editor: Timing Of Proposal Divisive

on August 8, 2017 - 7:30am
By ELLEN WALTON
Los Alamos

 

The recent defeated recreation bond issue and subsequent proposal by Councilors O’Leary and Chrobocinski to go ahead with some of the projects in that bond has become unnecessarily divisive. It is impossible for anyone to interpret exactly what that bond election said about the voters’ view on each project. The outcome of the vote on the ballot issue presented to us said that we reject a tax increase to fund a large group of recreation projects.

 

We also know that the bond issue for the proposed leisure pool or now alternatively named multi-generational pool

Pages


Advertisements