Skip directly to content

Opinion

Letter To The Editor: Tragedy In Aztec

on December 15, 2017 - 9:43am
By STEPHANIE NAKHLEH
Los Alamos
 
Perhaps the saddest fact about the awful shooting at Aztec High School last week is that it won’t be the last in New Mexico or anywhere else in America.
 
Los Alamos High School, where my son is a student, has also faced credible shooting threats in recent years. So has Santa Fe High SchoolEverytown for Gun Safety research shows that the shooting in Aztec is at least the 62nd school shooting nationwide this year.
 
In 2016, the FBI had investigated the shooter after he made threatening comments in an online gaming forum about mass shootings.

Olions ‘It’s A Wonderful Life: A Radio Play’ Resonates Now More Than Ever

on December 14, 2017 - 7:32am
The cast of 'It’s A Wonderful Life: A Radio Play' on stage Dec. 8. Photo by Bonnie J. Gordon/ladailypost.com

George Bailey Donald Poston) and Mary Bailey (Rebekah Harkey). Photo by Bonnie J. Gordon/ladailypost.com

Foleys (sound effects people) make some noise. Photo by Bonnie J. Gordon/ladailypost.com

 

Review by BONNIE J. GORDON
Los Alamos Daily Post

As winter closes in, the Los Alamos High School Olions production of “It’s A Wonderful Life: A Radio Play” is sure to warm your heart. Unless you’ve been living under a rock, you already know the story.

Read Latest Letters: Click ‘Opinion’ Button

on December 13, 2017 - 3:27pm

LADP News:

Click on the “Opinion” button on the menu bar at the top of this page to access the latest Letter to the Editor and Column submissions published in the Los Alamos Daily Post.

All past letters and columns are archived in that location as well.

Letters and columns also are posted on the Los Alamos Daily Post Facebook page.

Tags: 

Letter To The Editor: County Council Meeting About Open Space Use Friday

on December 13, 2017 - 3:25pm
By BRUCE WARREN
Los Alamos

In case you missed the announcement, the Los Alamos County Council will hold a special meeting at noon Friday, Dec. 15, in Council Chambers in the Municipal Building at 1000 Central Ave.

Topics of discussion are the proposed bicycle flow trail and the disposition of the Ski Hill.

If you care about what the County does with our open spaces, you should attend.

 

 

Letter To The Editor: Pajarito Mountain Ski Area

on December 13, 2017 - 3:08pm
By ELAINE JACOBS
Los Alamos

I am writing concerning the upcoming potential transfer of Pajarito Mountain Ski Area to Pajarito Recreation LLC, which will be discussed at a special County Council meeting at noon Friday, Dec. 15. (Link to the agenda is here.

It is the current intention of the Los Alamos Ski Club (LASC) to transfer 100 percent of their property to Pajarito Recreation LLC due to the need for the ski club to get out from under a large debt  of $1.25 million (based on ski club memo posted here

Based on the LA County GIS system, the 534 acres of the Pajarito Mountain Ski Area

RCLC: Op-Ed On Upcoming LANL M&O Contract

on December 13, 2017 - 9:22am
RCLC Executive Director Andrea Romero
 
By RCLC Executive Director Andrea Romero, and
RCLC Administrative Manager Scarlet Rendleman

NNM Communities United on Issues Regarding Next LANL Contractor

Los Alamos National Laboratory (LANL) persists as the largest job supplier in Northern New Mexico, generating the greatest economic impact throughout the region.

RCLC Administrative Manager Scarlet Rendleman

The Regional Coalition of LANL Communities (RCLC), has been closely following the process and progress on naming the next LANL manager and operator (M&O), overseeing 10-12,000 jobs and a

Letter To The Editor: Los Alamos Food Insecurity

on December 13, 2017 - 6:53am
By JAMES LITTLE
Los Alamos
 
Los Alamos, one of the most wealthy cities in the country, has a homeless population as well as people who suffer regular food insecurity. Some may also suffer from mental illness. Seems hard to believe that the percentage of Los Alamos population suffering food insecurity is about the same as in Rio Arriba County.
 
The Santa Fe Food Depot has for about two years provided a monthly mobile food pantry.
Tags: 

Letter To The Editor: Thank You For Supporting Children's Christmas Bazaar

on December 12, 2017 - 11:39am
By BETH PATTILLO
Children’s Christmas Bazaar Chair​
 
Thank you to the Los Alamos community for their generosity in supporting another successful Children’s Christmas Bazaar at Trinity on then Hill Episcopal Church during the Winterfest weekend.
 
Multi-generations were represented from older elementary children to senior citizens from Trinity on the Hill, our community and our schools helping children select and wrap their gifts.
Tags: 

Letter To The Editor: Splash Pools And GRT Windfalls

on December 10, 2017 - 3:10pm
By KHAL SPENCER
Los Alamos

We have elections for a reason,and as Terry Goldman recently opined, Council is empowered to make decisions on what to build and how to fund it subject to public input at regular intervals, i.e., election day, or at other critical times through referendum.

The question of whether to build a more elaborate aquatic center is one of those decisions we as a community make, either directly via a bond issue or via a vote bycouncil to spend our money.

Every community wants more stuff and ours is no exception.

Letter To The Editor: Kiwanis Club Says Thank You For Breakfast With Santa Success!

on December 10, 2017 - 3:03pm
By ANN HAYES
Breakfast with Santa Chairperson

The Kiwanis Club of Los Alamos wishes to thank all those who helped to make our recent Breakfast with Santa successful.

Good weather and spirits brought out an enthusiastic, record-breaking crowd. Special thanks go to Del Norte Credit Union for their continued generous support of this event.

To the hundreds of attendees who came to see Santa and to donate food to LA Cares and money for the Foster Children program, thank you for reminding us that the Christmas spirit is alive and well in Los Alamos.

And lastly, without the help of the Key

Letter To The Editor: I Applaud The County Council ...

on December 9, 2017 - 11:22am
By TERRY GOLDMAN
Los Alamos

I applaud the County Council for finally approving improvements at the aquatic center that are not directly related only to exercise or athletics. (My surprise at the voting pattern notwithstanding!)

Some years ago, I served on a CIP citizen's committee that explored how to use an expected GRT windfall to improve the quality of life in Los Alamos. The proposals were very similar to what the Council has recently made decisions about.

Shin: $7 million Kiddie Pool With $34 Million Cash Cow

on December 7, 2017 - 9:41am
By LISA SHIN
Los Alamos

Earlier this year, Councilor Chris Chandler told us that what the voters would decide in the REC Bond election, would become the “Council’s marching orders.”

So I ask, was a $5 million or a $7 million kiddie pool the voters’ “marching orders”? A $5 million pool was questionable. But $7 million? Citizens voiced their opinions and made their voices heard on May 23, 2017. We had hoped that our County Council would vote on what the majority wanted. Democracy in action. Apparently, that was asking too much.

Further, Councilor Susan O’Leary told us that “if the bond fails, $7

Letter To The Editor: Awakened By Hideous Noise

on December 7, 2017 - 9:00am
Editor's Note: The County's response to this issue is published below this letter.
 
By JAMES RICKMAN
Los Alamos

Dear Councilors,

I was awakened from sleep sometime around 4 a.m. by a hideous metallic scraping and rumbling noise. Thinking that Russian tanks might have been invading the County as the result of some kind of deal hatched by our president, I sprang out of bed in alarm just in time to hear my dogs barking furiously at the din.

I quickly realized the sound wasn't from an enemy invasion, but instead was the sound of a metal snowplow blade scraping along dry asphalt.

Letter To The Editor: Thankful For The Council

on December 6, 2017 - 2:45pm
By SHELBY REDONDO
Los Alamos
 
I would like to thank each member of the County Council for their dedication and commitment in deciding how to best use the current CIP funds during last
night’s council meeting.
 
Through your hard work and creative thinking you were able to stretch limited dollars into much needed recreational facilities. Now our community can look forward to improvements to the golf
course and ice rink. Young children can enjoy a splash pad in White Rock geared for them.

Letter To The Editor: Government Should Fund Development Of New Antibiotics

on December 6, 2017 - 8:06am
By RICHARD NEBEL
Los Alamos

This is a response to the Post’s recent article (link) from NMDOH concerning antibiotic use, as well as an earlier article that was run concerning sepsis.

About two and a half years ago, I went into the ER with a sore throat and a low-grade fever. I was concerned that I might have strep and they gave me the standard test. It came back negative. The doctor said that it must be viral, so he sent me home with no medication. He suggested that I take some Tylenol for the fever.

Three days later, I went back to the ER.

Letter To The Editor: Do You Realize What Our Country Is Doing To The Yemeni?

on December 5, 2017 - 8:58am
By Dr. T. Douglas Reilly
Los Alamos

Yemen is one of the Arab world’s poorest countries. If you’ve followed the humanitarian disaster in Yemen, you’re aware of the worsening famine and cholera epidemic; especially as they affect children. The World Health Organization (WHO) has warned that it’s possible over 2/3 of the children may die of malnutrition in the next few months.

The United Nations now considers Yemen the worst humanitarian crisis, even surpassing South Sudan.

Letter To The Editor: An Open Letter To County Council

on December 5, 2017 - 8:39am

By SHELBY REDONDO
Los Alamos

Dear County Councilors,

I can only imagine how difficult your job must be. I am sure that each decision brought before you is weighed carefully. I am asking you to consider carefully the proposed leisure/kiddie pool that is being considered and why it is important to do it right. 

We need a pool that serves the community, one with a large enough capacity to accommodate large groups of children of all ages. I believe there is no argument against the fact that Los Alamos needs a facility that is neither too deep nor too cold for children to learn to swim. 

A case in

Letter To The Editor: Blaming Downfall Of American Middle Class On Immigration Is Quite An Exaggeration

on November 30, 2017 - 4:00am
By ANDREW DELOREY
Los Alamos
 
In a recent letter, Kathleene Parker (link) touches on a lot of history and social issues that are much bigger than what the school board addressed in a recent resolution. The issue they addressed is whether or not the school system is an appropriate venue for enforcing immigration law. In the resolution, they cited legal precedents and professional norms that guided their decision. I agree with the school board that the school system is an inappropriate venue for enforcing immigration law.
Tags: 

Letter To The Editor: School Board Should File Proposed Sanctuary Resolution In The Trash As Bad Idea

on November 29, 2017 - 7:12am
By KATHLEENE PARKER
Los Alamos
 
Since no one has shown any need for it, I can only believe that the proposed sanctuary resolution, to be considered again at the next meeting of Los Alamos School Board, is really just an attempt at a political statement.  Nowhere more than our schools is that unacceptable. Nowhere more than our schools should respect for the law be taught, based on, "If you disagree with a law, you must work to change it, not just vote to ignore it."
 
What the schools should be doing is OBJECTIVELY teaching immigration history so that students can make informed

Letter To The Editor: Gratitude For Our School Board And Superintendent

on November 28, 2017 - 10:28am
By JESS CULLINAN
Los Alamos

I write in deep gratitude for the service of the members of our Los Alamos School Board and our Superintendent Dr. Kurt Steinhaus.

I also write in dismay that these exemplary public servants find themselves under attack by a campaign of deliberate misinformation and weaponized ignorance by those who would rather stir up ideological fervor than allow them to do their jobs effectively.

There is little we can do to shield our children from exposure to poisonous attitudes that claim that one’s immigration status is a measure of one’s character, and the increasingly

Letter To The Editor: Let’s Do It Right ... Right Now!

on November 28, 2017 - 10:17am
By IRENE POWELL
Los Alamos

Aug. 8, 2017 the Los Alamos County Council voted to just do a small kiddie pool for $5 million instead of using the entire $7,816,000 that was in the projected budget for a multi-generational pool.  

Since then the county staff did the research as requested by the council and has now presented a design for the $5 million, they had to leave out the lazy river and the water slide and it is now just a zero-entry, warm water pool with some water sprays.

The extra $2 million will bring back the lazy river and water slide.

Letter To The Editor: Support Our School Board ... Support Our Students

on November 25, 2017 - 6:23am
By STEPHANIE NAKHLEH
Los Alamos

In the recent flurry of letters to the editor on the Los Alamos School Board’s immigration proposal, it’s evident there’s some confusion over where the board is in the process, as well as what the resolution actually calls for. To clarify: In October, the School Board unanimously voted to approve a resolution to protect students from the threat of increased federal immigration enforcement.

The next step, what was discussed at the last meeting and will be discussed at the next one, is ironing out the specifics of the policy.

Letter To The Editor: Festival Of Trees Committee Says Thank You To Los Alamos Community

on November 24, 2017 - 12:01pm
By PAULINE POWELL SCHNEIDER
BERNADETTE LAURITZEN
FOT Co-Chairs

The Festival of Trees committee would like to thank everyone who attended the 2017 event. Our food donations are being given to those in need in our community.

We couldn’t have done it without all of the volunteers (LAVA, C’YA and National Honors Society) that assisted long before the event took place and still assist with getting our items into the hands of bidders.

Thanks to the many community members and organizations that donated trees, wreaths and holiday decorations.

Shin: If Sanctuary School, Then Kiss $8M Goodbye!

on November 19, 2017 - 2:44pm
By LISA SHIN
Los Alamos

On Aug. 29, 2017, our County Council unanimously passed a proclamation honoring the contributions of immigrants. Compared to the earlier version in April, specific language was removed, its tone was softened, and a more strident “resolution” was changed to a “proclamation,” which did not require a vote.

Although Counci Vice Chair Susan O'Leary called it a “milquetoast,” “weak half measure of timid support,” Councilor Antonio Maggiore recognized “that the original was a little inflammatory, a little reactionary to what just transpired on the national scene.” ...

Letter To The Editor: No To Splash Pad

on November 17, 2017 - 10:32am
By ROBERT VISEL
Los Alamos
 
Our current County Council seems to think they’re omnipotent! They read into the results of the voter’s wishes by assuming we voted for the “Splash Pad” and other Recreation projects. This is a HUGE assumption on their part!
 
I can see making improvements to the Golf Course irrigation system, but that’s IT! Any other improvements to the Golf Course can be funded by those that use it. Same thing applies to the Ice Rink.
 
The real problem I have is the money the Council intends to waste on this so called “Splash Pad”. The County Council has already voted to
Tags: 

Pages


Advertisements