Skip directly to content

Opinion & Columns

Letter To The Editor: Perspective On Respect – A Yard And A Home

on October 2, 2017 - 2:08pm
By HELEN MILENSKI
Los Alamos
 
I got involved with the whole ‘yard ordinance’ issue because I narrowly missed getting a Notice of Violation (NOV) right after my husband had a heart attack and was in the hospital for a week this summer.
 
While we were still dealing with the craziness of my husband’s previous week in the hospital, he called me to tell me our dog jumped the fence in the morning before he had to leave for his first day back to work. I came home for lunch to try to find my dog.
Tags: 

Cinema Cindy Reviews American Made

on October 1, 2017 - 8:06am
By CYNTHIA BIDDLECOMB
Los Alamos

“American Made” is the latest movie in which Tom Cruise plays a cheeky character caught up in shady deals. While a fun action film, American Made has a serious side to it; the film gives us a look into the morally questionable lengths to which the U.S. went in order to attempt the overthrow of leftist regimes in Central America. “Is all this legal,” asks Tom Cruise’s character? “It is when the good guys do it,” is the reply.

Cruise plays Barry Seal, a real life pilot who flew surveillance planes in Central America, then ran guns to the Contras—the insurgent group

Fr. Glenn: Seeking The Good

on October 1, 2017 - 6:58am
By Rev. Glenn Jones
Immaculate Heart of Mary Catholic Church
Los Alamos

You may remember the movie “Letters from Iwo Jima” that came out about 10 years ago. “Letters” is fairly unique (in American cinema, at least) in telling the story of that World War II battle from a Japanese point of view.

Amateur Naturalist: Growth Of Ponderosa Trees

on September 29, 2017 - 3:44pm
A mature ponderosa stops growing upward but its horizontal branches continue to grow, becoming twisted and thicker. Photo by Robert Dryja 
 
Amateur Naturalist: The Growth of Ponderosa Trees
By Robert Dryja
 
The Aquatic Center was constructed 30 years ago. The construction involved landscaping that extended about one hundred feet out from the building. 
 
There may have been only one large ponderosa tree that was not cut down as part of the clearing of land behind the Aquatic Center. It now is a mature tree. It has a flat top since it has stopped growing upwards.

Tales Of Our Times: Essential Truth Requires Assembly

on September 29, 2017 - 3:35pm

Tales of Our Times
By JOHN BARTLIT
New Mexico Citizens
for Clean Air & Water


Essential Truth Requires Assembly

The sharpest picture we have of how humans relate to others is the familiar parable of the six blind men and the elephant.

Generations of us learned from the imagery of the blind men. The meanings of it remain vivid today. One blind man touched a side and said an elephant is like a wall. One felt the tail and said an elephant is a rope. One felt a tusk and said an elephant is a spear. A leg made one say an elephant is a pillar.

This Week At The Reel Deal

on September 29, 2017 - 10:17am

Cinema Cindy Reviews Kingsman: The Golden Circle

on September 29, 2017 - 9:21am
By CYNTHIA BIDDLECOMB
Los Alamos

“Kingsman: The Golden Circle” is the second in what promises to be a fun franchise, loosely based on a UK-made series of spy action-comedy comic books that were first published by Marvel’s “Icon” Comics in 2012.

A sequel to “Kingsman: The Secret Service” (2014), The Golden Circle features some of the same central characters; but the threat of world domination is posed by a very different villain. Support for the good British guys comes from a new quarter, an American underground spy service.

Taron Egerton’s central character, Gary “Eggsy” Unwin, who went through

Pages


Advertisements